Coronavirus

So, as of Friday we're now in level 3.

A bit of a dilemma as we'd booked a lodge in Perthshire, who also move into level 3 on Friday.

The Scottish website gives the highlighted area below.

Now, I see this as we can't move from our level 3 to another level 3 for a short holiday.

My wife thinks we can move from a level 3 area to another level 3 area, but can't travel to a level 2 area.

Also, at this stage. legally what could the authorities (police) do?

Is it a guideline or law? 

All holiday accommodation (Hotels, B&Bs, self-catering, caravan and camping sites) can stay open in line with sector guidance for tourism and hospitality. However, tourists should not travel into, or out off, a Level 3 area for holidays or visits. Exceptions for essentials travel includes those who must travel for work, education, health or for those attending weddings or funerals which requires an overnight stay.

Those living in a Level 3 area can still use holiday accommodation in their area but should not stay in the same self-catered accommodation with another household.

I should add I'm pretty fcuked off as this is simply down to selfish cnuts not doing what they should be doing. :thumbsdown

My level of "fcuked off" is nothing compared to so many business's who have spent money and are fully complying, more so with the lead up to Christmas such a critical time for many of them. 

22 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

So, as of Friday we're now in level 3.

A bit of a dilemma as we'd booked a lodge in Perthshire, who also move into level 3 on Friday.

The Scottish website gives the highlighted area below.

Now, I see this as we can't move from our level 3 to another level 3 for a short holiday.

My wife thinks we can move from a level 3 area to another level 3 area, but can't travel to a level 2 area.

Also, at this stage. legally what could the authorities (police) do?

Is it a guideline or law? 

Hilarious. You're wittering on in the next post about "selfish cnuts" whilst at the same time, on this post, you are looking for legal loopholes so you can go on holiday yourself. 😀😂

41 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Hilarious. You're wittering on in the next post about "selfish cnuts" whilst at the same time, on this post, you are looking for legal loopholes so you can go on holiday yourself. 😀😂

No I'm not, I'm looking for clarification as I won't take any chances with myself, or my wife health wise and legally, ya tosser. 

Oh, weekend already cancelled, thanks for your input, you've been quiet recently. 

As I've just posted the absurdity of SOME of the rules/guidelines, I fail to see what risk there is if I leave my house, drive to a private lodge, drive home , all in the same level? 

30 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

2 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

tourists should not travel into, or out off, a Level 3 area for holidays or visits. 

It's pretty clear. 

I'm assuming you can read, as I already stated that was my interpretation. 

Thanks for repeating my view and adding the square root of feck all. 

Why the feck did I take you off ignore? :blink:

16 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

From a chef/business owner, highlighting the absurdity of SOME of the guidelines.

"How does Covid-19 know if someone's drinking a cup of coffee or a glass of wine? What is the difference there? I don't really understand what the difference is."

Nae difference for you.

You talk pish whatever you drink. :lol:

Aye, what's the difference between a person in one area of level 3 going to another level 3 area to stay in private accommodation?

I can understand that you shouldn't visit an lower level area, well, just, but the same level? 

Below another snippet from the Scottish website. 

Those living in a Level 3 area can still use holiday accommodation in their area but should not stay in the same self-catered accommodation with another household.

45 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

From a chef/business owner, highlighting the absurdity of SOME of the guidelines.

"How does Covid-19 know if someone's drinking a cup of coffee or a glass of wine? What is the difference there? I don't really understand what the difference is."

23 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Aye, what's the difference between a person in one area of level 3 going to another level 3 area to stay in private accommodation?

I can understand that you shouldn't visit an lower level area, well, just, but the same level? 

Below another snippet from the Scottish website. 

1. Alcohol lowers a persons inhibitions, we are talking about a population of millions. Capability to drink alcohol is being risk rated just like any other restrictions. You allow a free run, it’ll increase the likeliness of house parties, mixing, socialising & as such possible opportunities for virus transmission. 

2. the key point is staying in private accommodation. How many people go on their holidays to stay in the whole time? It would be too much of a loophole (as you’ve demonstrated) if the rules were you can go to another L3 area but you have to stay in. How many people will realistically do that when they get there? What’s the point in going? (For many people) 

3. a follow on from the above, many people travel away to see the sights, if you were allowed to go from L3 to L3 & the rule wasn’t that you had to stay in, the chances are quite high that you would generally be out more than if you were at home under current restrictions. This again gives opportunity for the virus to spread. 

clear you’re frustrated & I get that but these points aren’t strong at all. 

1 minute ago, bazil85 said:

1. Alcohol lowers a persons inhibitions, we are talking about a population of millions. Capability to drink alcohol is being risk rated just like any other restrictions. You allow a free run, it’ll increase the likeliness of house parties, mixing, socialising & as such possible opportunities for virus transmission. 

2. the key point is staying in private accommodation. How many people go on their holidays to stay in the whole time? It would be too much of a loophole (as you’ve demonstrated) if the rules were you can go to another L3 area but you have to stay in. How many people will realistically do that when they get there? What’s the point in going? (For many people) 

3. a follow on from the above, many people travel away to see the sights, if you were allowed to go from L3 to L3 & the rule wasn’t that you had to stay in, the chances are quite high that you would generally be out more than if you were at home under current restrictions. This again gives opportunity for the virus to spread. 

clear you’re frustrated & I get that but these points aren’t strong at all. 

1. The chef/business owner was talking about having a meal in a restaurant, quite different from milling around in a pub. I know you don't get out often, and don't have any friends, but I thought I'd explain the difference for you.

2. The people already living in level 3 do day to day stuff, other people from the same level, although technically I live in an area that's a lot lower, would not be doing anything different.

3. Same as point 2. Why would I be out more, and what difference would it make, when I can do the EXACT same things here? 

The problem, well one of the problems, with you is you can't think outside a few limited parameters. 

This is a redundant point, there will be no trip, I've already pointed out SOME of the ludicrous " restrictions", you'll not get that at all. 

OH, most people start a sentence with a capital letter, just thought I'd help you with that as well. 

But it's not "a glass of wine". It's several glasses of wine. We have a cultural problem with alcohol, including widespread denial, or hadn't you noticed?

No I'm not, I'm looking for clarification as I won't take any chances with myself, or my wife health wise and legally, ya tosser. 

Oh, weekend already cancelled, thanks for your input, you've been quiet recently. 

As I've just posted the absurdity of SOME of the rules/guidelines, I fail to see what risk there is if I leave my house, drive to a private lodge, drive home , all in the same level? 

You were asking about whether it is legally enforceable or not.

That is looking for a technical loophole.

I have been quiet reently because there's been nothing worth discussing.

Your hypocrisy is worth commenting on though.

25 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

But it's not "a glass of wine". It's several glasses of wine. We have a cultural problem with alcohol, including widespread denial, or hadn't you noticed?

Dear oh dear, you have some view on people.

How the feck do you KNOW this? 

When was the last time you went out for a meal?

You're habit of painting everybody, or the majority, with the same brush is staggering. 

Just now, faraway saint said:

Dear oh dear, you have some view on people.

How the feck do you KNOW this? 

When was the last time you went out for a meal?

You're habit of paining everybody, or the majority, with the same brush is staggering. 

How do I know that as a culture, Scots have an appalling attitude to alcohol? 

Are you seriously asking this FFS? 🤣

10 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

You were asking about whether it is legally enforceable or not.

That is looking for a technical loophole.

I have been quiet reently  :blink:because there's been nothing worth discussing.

Your hypocrisy is worth commenting on though.

Again, you jump to a conclusion, while ignoring other parts of the post.

That's your normal tactic.

Focus on a minor point, turn it into something it isn't and smugly sit back. 

Nothing new to see here. 

Speaking of hypocrisy, coming from you who whines about business's then encourages your customers to not wear a fecking mask.

Amusing. 

1 minute ago, oaksoft said:

How do I know that as a culture, Scots have an appalling attitude to alcohol? 

Are you seriously asking this FFS? 🤣

FFS, aye, the pub/drinking at home culture, again, something this point clearly isn't. :1eye

You're having a bit of a meltdown, I heard that happens to some in lockdown. :lol:

1. The chef/business owner was talking about having a meal in a restaurant, quite different from milling around in a pub. I know you don't get out often, and don't have any friends, but I thought I'd explain the difference for you.

2. The people already living in level 3 do day to day stuff, other people from the same level, although technically I live in an area that's a lot lower, would not be doing anything different.

3. Same as point 2. Why would I be out more, and what difference would it make, when I can do the EXACT same things here? 

The problem, well one of the problems, with you is you can't think outside a few limited parameters. 

This is a redundant point, there will be no trip, I've already pointed out SOME of the ludicrous " restrictions", you'll not get that at all. 

OH, most people start a sentence with a capital letter, just thought I'd help you with that as well. 

1. I agree, and there is a level where that’s allowed (believe it’s level 2) the levels are to discourage based on risk. Alcohol not being allowed at all reflects the risk and will surely result in some people thinking ‘I’ll just not bother’ as a means to limit the spread to some extent. 
2. did you miss my point regarding the difference when going on holiday? There are level 3 areas that’ll attract more interest than others regarding travel & putting the blanket ban on, is aimed to mitigate the spread. If you have Covid & travel to a new area on a holiday, there’s the chance you’ll visit & spread it more places than potentially at home where many of us are WFH & only really go out for exercise & shopping (sometimes not even the latter because of online). You may not do anything different but by the very aspect of these restrictions, they need to be blanket to a certain extent to limit grey areas.  

3. Again blanket approach, you planning to do the ‘exact same’ doesn’t mean everyone going for a weekend away would be doing the ‘exact same’ 

I certainly can think outside the limited parameters, I’m only explaining to you what I thought was very simple reasoning. I also do get your concerns but whether you accept it or not, these are reasonable restrictions on a virus that is killing an increasing number of people every week. 

BAWA on my phone doesn’t always capitalise new sentences. Not sure why. A small point IMO, sorry it bugs you so much you had to point it out. Like you’ve never posted something that’s not grammatically correct...  

I should add I'm pretty fcuked off as this is simply down to selfish cnuts not doing what they should be doing. :thumbsdown
My level of "fcuked off" is nothing compared to so many business's who have spent money and are fully complying, more so with the lead up to Christmas such a critical time for many of them. 
You should have done what I did and came to Lanzarote to get away from the people that wont do what they should be doing [emoji41] Vast amount of people here are behaving the way they should be doing and because of that, I feel safer here than at home.