Cars.

Let me save you time. I might or might not buy a new car this year. My nearest corner shop is M&S. The bus and railway station are within 3/4 mile away and I get free bus passes and discounted rail travel. That said, a car is very convenient to have for local travel but taxis are cheap and plentiful. Back to the cars. My second car was a Triumph Herald. Two tone. Fell apart. Next was a Hilman Avenger. Etc etc The Herald Coupe... https://images.app.goo.gl/DqrLhqhWkw2YfEwd7

Edited 1 hour ago by St.Ricky

Now we are talking Ricky, I just loved Heralds, had every model made even an estate, the 2.00ltr vittese was a nice machine, having said that I spent nearly 30 years in the motor trade at the dirty end fixing them not sat om bum selling them. :)

The Vitesse was way out of my price range. A lovely car. I loved the Herald. The car I learned to drive in was a two tone Vauxhall Cresta if you can remember it. I'm not mechanically gifted but that car had a great engine. Just like this one. Two tone, chocolate and cream. 

https://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=https%3A%2F%2Fs.car.info%2Fimage_files%2F1920%2Fvauxhall-cresta-front-side-kungalvs-kulturhistoriska-fordonsvanner-2018-v33-1-632850.jpg&imgrefurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.car.info%2Fen-se%2Fspot%2F267415&docid=20cJxdkmiuuATM&tbnid=E_RpniCjtETvjM%3A&vet=1&w=1920&h=1280&itg=1&source=sh%2Fx%2Fim

34 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

This thread........😜😜😜

This thread should be long enough now; to gather together find a nice tree with a long overhanging branch, make sure you have some firecrackers to hand, borrow a skittish horse, loop the long thread over the overhanging branch after you have fashioned a noose on the end, sit on the skittish horse ....................damn nearly forgot you need a lighter to light the firecrackers, anyway back to sit on the skittish horse under the tree, take the loop from the long thread ............................................................ the rest has been edited so that  all those who don'tn' t like you can't become to excited and possibly have a heart attack or even cry with relief.  love you weeeeeeeeeeeeeeee man. 😎

1 minute ago, jaybee said:

This thread should be long enough now; to gather together find a nice tree with a long overhanging branch, make sure you have some firecrackers to hand, borrow a skittish horse, loop the long thread over the overhanging branch after you have fashioned a noose on the end, sit on the skittish horse ....................damn nearly forgot you need a lighter to light the firecrackers, anyway back to sit on the skittish horse under the tree, take the loop from the long thread ............................................................ the rest has been edited so that  all those who don'tn' t like you can't become to excited and possibly have a heart attack or even cry with relief.  love you weeeeeeeeeeeeeeee man. 😎

He is a bit of a card is the Wee man. 

Did he have a Robin Reliant? 

Is his surname Trotter? 

5 minutes ago, St.Ricky said:

The Vitesse was way out of my price range. A lovely car. I loved the Herald. The car I learned to drive in was a two tone Vauxhall Cresta if you can remember it. I'm not mechanically gifted but that car had a great engine. Just like this one. Two tone, chocolate and cream. 

Yes, had a black one just like that with a three speed column change and that bloody windscreen! .........................................I used to bang my knees on it as I got out of car, good driver though.

1 hour ago, truesaint said:

Not really into cars but thought I would post this as was just looking at the tesla cybertruck which will be on the market next year. Looks a bit different to the norm and quite fancy one of these to pop round to Aldi's.

https://www.tesla.com/en_gb/cybertruck

Quite a beast. 

My son tells me he is interested in buying the E Ford Mustang but can only get to see it by appointment. 

https://www.ford.co.uk/cars/mustang-mach-e

Not really into cars but thought I would post this as was just looking at the tesla cybertruck which will be on the market next year. Looks a bit different to the norm and quite fancy one of these to pop round to Aldi's.
https://www.tesla.com/en_gb/cybertruck

The Doc & Marty would love that [emoji2]

24 minutes ago, Slartibartfast said:
33 minutes ago, Cornwall_Saint said:
I dunno, not sure I can drive into the Waitrose car park with it and be accepted into the upper classes.
It must be the yellow.

Probably right. No tread on the tyres, no brakes, headlights all googly ...

Aye but it looks so happy, surely that’s worth something

1 hour ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

I dunno, not sure I can drive into the Waitrose car park with it and be accepted into the upper classes.

It must be the yellow.

Must be pedal power. 

Note to Cornwall. 

Only the ability to pay is needed for Waitrose.  A little more expensive than M&S. We shop at both for food treats. Sainsbury deliver our basics weekly

Back to cars. The Audi Garage in Stirling asked me to drive a new Audi A8 Automatic around town for 10 days. What a car. It was terrific. 

4 hours ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

This should be everyone’s first car.

4559801A-D18D-49C4-8F56-0B339D7B4B26.jpeg

I'm no mechanic but quite honestly that looks like a death trap. It doesn't even have brakes and I'd astonished if it had airbags installed as standard. The less said about the lack of a glove compartment the better.

3 hours ago, antrin said:
9 hours ago, jaybee said:

Now we are talking Ricky....

NOW!?

Ricky’s talking only just “NOW!?”  :o

NO! Kin ye no reed mon?   I said 'Now we are talking Ricky..' We, implies more than one ......... in this case two, could have been three ............. but I am fairly sure Ford Anglias don't say too much..... apart from brrrrmmm brrrrrrm.  😎

29 minutes ago, Slartibartfast said:
38 minutes ago, oaksoft said:
I'm no mechanic but quite honestly that looks like a death trap. It doesn't even have brakes and I'd astonished if it had airbags installed as standard. The less said about the lack of a glove compartment the better.

I believe it has a cup holder, though.

Aye it's handy tae hod yer wisky fae the polis. 😎