Effect of Coronavirus

So, we're right in the middle of this "crisis".

What has it meant for you?

Right now it's meant the cancellation of a couple of planned visits to restaurants for a birthday and mother's day. 

Shopping, due to utter fcukwits, has become more of a military operation, trying to hit the shops at certain times but, overall, no real major issues getting food.

Work wise, nothing concrete in the Oil & Gas industry, we're not overly busy but the first quarter can be like that in normal times.

I did, after a few of the guys were getting jittery, slightly change the start/stop times of the night shift to reduce possible contamination with the day shift.

Not convinced it'll matter but if it psychologically keeps them happy then no harm done. 

Possibly lucky no financial hardship as yet but there's a way to go in this before we can start to return to normal. 

As I've already mentioned, no sport is a killer, nothing to watch at the weekend and nothing to bet on. 

Suppose if that's as bad as it get's I'm doing alright. 

10 minutes ago, cockles1987 said:

My work has brought in some new working practices, all to try and reduce the interaction between different squads where possible, likewise regarding the changeover of shifts with folk leaving earlier and the next shift starting later.

When the wife was out earlier she heard some guy saying to his mate he'd meet him in The Station in 20 minutes. (Local pub)

Interesting what the police would do if they come across this as, at this point, I don't think it's law.

I can imagine the stand off........................

Police walk in..........."Right boys, get oot"

Locals.................."Naw" :lol:

My daily routine has completely changed

Usual weekday 

Train to work early - now running at a very reduced service, weird atmosphere - folk scared to press the button to open the door etc

Gym -  now closed, so I'm unable to train other than jogging, going to try and develop a way to train outdoors but not sure how I'll do this yet

Work - I work in an office for an insurance company so it's mostly empty, a lot of people off. Our department is ridiculously understaffed - was meant to be starting a new role (passed the interview) before all of this kicked off. Had to stay in my previous role longer than I would have liked, and still on the same wage, should really be much higher but not yet got a start date.

Train home - same applies

Usually I'd find a way to socialise with mates here and there, especially at the weekend, been spending a lot more time with the girlfriend, contrary to most of the memes, we've been getting on great :lol:  so it's actually been brilliant in that respect!

Mates and I have started having "video conferences" - basically chatting on webcam between a group of us which is a decent laugh, but it's not the same as going to the pub. Hoping things will start to improve sooner rather than later

So, we're right in the middle of this "crisis".
What has it meant for you?
Right now it's meant the cancellation of a couple of planned visits to restaurants for a birthday and mother's day. 
Shopping, due to utter fcukwits, has become more of a military operation, trying to hit the shops at certain times but, overall, no real major issues getting food.
Work wise, nothing concrete in the Oil & Gas industry, we're not overly busy but the first quarter can be like that in normal times.
I did, after a few of the guys were getting jittery, slightly change the start/stop times of the night shift to reduce possible contamination with the day shift.
Not convinced it'll matter but if it psychologically keeps them happy then no harm done. 
Possibly lucky no financial hardship as yet but there's a way to go in this before we can start to return to normal. 
As I've already mentioned, no sport is a killer, nothing to watch at the weekend and nothing to bet on. 
Suppose if that's as bad as it get's I'm doing alright. 

I’m in the Oil and Gas game too Faraway working with a large Aberdeen based company, as my son has a chronic health condition I got told to work from home from Tuesday only for the whole company to rapidly follow suit. I don’t know how long this can be sustained cause if the client (BP) stop / suspend the work I’ve had it. Also can’t help but think about the efficiency or lack of that working from home brings.

Testing times ahead.

7 minutes ago, RichardBuddie said:

I’m in the Oil and Gas game too Faraway working with a large Aberdeen based company, as my son has a chronic health condition I got told to work from home from Tuesday only for the whole company to rapidly follow suit. I don’t know how long this can be sustained cause if the client (BP) stop / suspend the work I’ve had it. Also can’t help but think about the efficiency or lack of that working from home brings.

Testing times ahead.

Aye, we haven't any real evidence that work is drying up, I've spoken to a few people in other companies and it's mixed but overall nobody is seeing a definitive downturn due to this virus.

Couple of mates work offshore, one has been quarantined, are still working as normal, albeit a few men down.

I agree on the issues working from home can bring, especially when most people are not used to this, that would worry me.

We're in manufacturing, need to be there to make things, although some office staff could "work" from home but I've argued against that as there are times I need engineering back up and that needs hands/eyes on the job to make a certain decision. 

Both of my sons run businesses. In both cases they are now, substantially working from home and in each case face to face contact with staff and clients has been cut back. In each case this will hit income. The government support will help and both are likely (one more than the other) to have pent up demand after the crisis. That together with the reserves they built up in better times and government support will see them through. Their pension funds have taken big (paper) haircuts though. 

Not much change for me, anger at the panic buyers and disappointment as had holiday booked for the beginning of June, but otherwise no real impact. Mrs Mykey has no uni to go to and Mykey junior works in a pub and his sister should be in college so they've been hit harder.

1 minute ago, Mykey said:

Not much change for me, anger at the panic buyers and disappointment as had holiday booked for the beginning of June, but otherwise no real impact. Mrs Mykey has no uni to go to and Mykey junior works in a pub and his sister should be in college so they've been hit harder.

Yeah my holiday booked for start of May, nae chance of that happening 

31 minutes ago, Mykey said:

Where were you booked?

We're booked for Portugal, 6th June but not heard anything as yet. 

Not getting too anxious yet. 

Work wise I’ve been working from home for the last two weeks and the wife for the last week. Miracle number one is that we haven’t ripped each other’s heads off yet. My employer (a bank) has now told everyone who has remote access to work from home so looks like I’m stuck here for a while. I can work from home fine with the only obvious thing I can’t do being face to face client meetings.

Socially, we were supposed to be flying out to Buenos Aires for 6 nights on Thursday just past. Had been looking forward to it so much but is what it is I suppose. We got full refunds on our flights and hotel so could’ve been worse.

Supposed to be doing the West Highland Way for the 4th time at the beginning of May. Not really sure how that one will play out. Won’t I suppose if I can’t get off this effin rock.  End of May booked for New York. That looks f**ked as well I suppose. What I shite year this is going to be for everyone.

On the upside, oor pubs aren’t shut yet, so we’re going down tonight for dinner while we still can. Only a matter of time till they shut.

Yours sincerely,

The Reverend I.M. Jolly. 

Work is more or less unchanged as I work as a HGV driver in logistics. 

Commuting has been a lot quieter for obvious reasons. 

Social life now consists of mainly watching tv on all the different formats (thank feck for Netflix, Amazon etc), and going for a walk.

It's not forever so just need to make the best of a shite situation. 

I am pretty much isolated.

Other than a trip to Aldi the only other human contact I have had in the last week was the Amazon delivery man.  By the time I got to the door he was halfway up my garden, the boy was right as I might have coughed on him.

All relatives are either self isolating or dont want to visit in case they have it and are not showing symptoms.  According to the news im pan breid if I get it so who can blame them?

A friend of mine, whom I maintain contact with through the whatsapp, was left sitting in his livingroom when his carer failed to show.

I feel sorry for old folk at this time, lonlieness can be hard.  Im alright, I can work a computer so I can keep upto date, find something to read or even hop on here to read whatever drivel folk are falling out about today.  I will be okay.

Cairters Corner world cup of of fannies, best 5 a side team, favourite player and now favourite manager polls kept me well entertained.  

Missing the fitba is difficult though, often its the only time I get out in a fortnight (excepting Aldi).  Still I always have BAWA to keep my lonely old spirits up.  

Stay safe folks, stay safe indeed.

As retired, nothing had really changed for me apart from boredom cause by the shutdown.

I have a small garden that will keep me busy for about 1 hr every 2 weeks  :lol:

Have a holiday booked for Nov so that should be ok, but i was also looking to get away in May/June but that wont happen now.

A week driving around the North of Scotland that was on my to do list for this year now looked unlikely   :(

Strange as it sound, my bank balance is growing by the day since it is getting harder to spend money now.

Supposed to be going to San Francisco for the good ldy's 50th but obviously that's not happening. Had to take the leave anyway so off for 2 weeks. Apart from the bizarre shopping experience and pubs etc being shut, I am going to read a whole load of things I haven't got to and have rediscovered the Playstation [emoji3]

Temporarily shut down company yesterday but with no employees and plenty of reserves the family is in good shape to get by. We'll re-open that company as soon as things die down.

Other than that, we're continuing to work each day to figure out how to open a new business which won't be affected by this and so we're busy enough.

Moral-wise there's no problems. In fact, there's something oddly energising about all of this but I've always been like this when facing trouble. Whether I'm still feeling that in 6 months time is another matter.

3 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

FFS don’t be giving that baw heidit swine Faraway anything tae boast aboot. 😃

Anyway, Ahve has two wee ribbon posts in the last few days. It’s aw me. 

Aye, it's very telling that it takes a global pandemic to happen before Faraway comes up with a decent thread. 

Still having to travel to work which is becoming more challenging with train reductions. Working furiously to facilitate home access to very secure DWP systems which is proving problematic. Once that is resolved my staff can work fully from home. The level of emergency benefits and rates legislation will mean enormous software testing and implementation however it's one thing for Governments to announce these measures it's another for software suppliers to actually produce the software, that is going to take months which those in need are not going to like (quite understandably). Outwith work all fine, it's full steam ahead in the garden with this improvement in the weather.

Sitting reading this in the garden, enjoying the first decent weather in months.

Heard a noise, looked up and seen the big emirates beast taking off for dubai.

Unbelievably, life continues mainly unchanged for many it seems.

Temporarily shut down company yesterday but with no employees and plenty of reserves the family is in good shape to get by. We'll re-open that company as soon as things die down.
Other than that, we're continuing to work each day to figure out how to open a new business which won't be affected by this and so we're busy enough.
Moral-wise there's no problems. In fact, there's something oddly energising about all of this but I've always been like this when facing trouble. Whether I'm still feeling that in 6 months time is another matter.
What sort of work do you currently do and what are you thinking of branching into?

Had the granddaughters over last night, a 13th birthday for one of them.

All the family were here, exchanged presents, lots of contact.

None of us are in the category in danger so we're comfortable we'll all be safe.

Took the girls to McDonalds a wee while ago, still operating as normal apart from you can't sit in. 

There's a small retail park next to McDonalds, business as usual going by the number of cars coming and going. 

I'm in the "keep the vulnerable isolated" camp, that would keep the pressure off the NHS IMO.