Effect of Coronavirus

Interesting article that I reckon is worth a read...

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/careersandeducation/if-you-don-t-care-what-happens-to-gig-workers-during-coronavirus-you-should-you-re-next/ar-BB11NFfp?ocid=msedgntp

I know at the moment we're focusing on how many are ill and to what extent but at some point maybe 12-18 months down the line the financial bill for Covid-19 will have to be met and then we'll face more attacks on our employment rights - I fear the worst. 

52 minutes ago, Bud the Baker said:

Interesting article that I reckon is worth a read...

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/careersandeducation/if-you-don-t-care-what-happens-to-gig-workers-during-coronavirus-you-should-you-re-next/ar-BB11NFfp?ocid=msedgntp

I know at the moment we're focusing on how many are ill and to what extent but at some point maybe 12-18 months down the line the financial bill for Covid-19 will have to be met and then we'll face more attacks on our employment rights - I fear the worst. 

Yes I fear the disease will be beaten but the patient will die due to the severity of the treatment. I can see the government raising  the state pension age to 70 within the next few years. Income tax and national insurance will probably need to rise also. 

I'm not expecting a state pension until 70, if at all. I think you're right though, this will be an excuse to up the age limit quicker.

3 minutes ago, TPAFKATS said:
52 minutes ago, ALBIONSAINT said:

I'm not expecting a state pension until 70, if at all. I think you're right though, this will be an excuse to up the age limit quicker.

If you're younger than forty I wouldn't expect one at all. Forty to fifty year olds will have to wait until seventy, I'd expect. 

Younger than 40 [emoji1787]
I wish

6 minutes ago, W6er said:

I just assumed because of your political views. What was it Churchill said?

He once said to fellow MP Bessie Braddock:-

“Bessie, my dear, you are ugly, and what’s more, you are disgustingly ugly. But tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be disgustingly ugly.”

2 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

He once said to fellow MP Bessie Braddock:-

“Bessie, my dear, you are ugly, and what’s more, you are disgustingly ugly. But tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be disgustingly ugly.”

Aye, then there's the quip about drinking poison. But it's not that one, either.

It wasn't Churchill

ETA

"If you're not a socialist when you're 25, you don't have a heart. If you're still socialist at 40, you don't have a brain"

Always thought it was GBS but seemingly it's much older with lots of attributions.

But I'm brainless, and proud of it.

12 minutes ago, salmonbuddie said:
38 minutes ago, W6er said:

It wasn't Churchill.

Aye, certainly the quote's provenance is uncertain. However Churchill left the Liberal Party for the Tories, so I think he might have said it to justify his political change. It is certainly commonly attributed to him.

Its origins are uncertain, but Churchill never, ever, thought himself a socialist so it was never him.

Not the place (again), where did that other thread go?

[emoji846]

1 minute ago, salmonbuddie said:

Its origins are uncertain, but Churchill never, ever, thought himself a socialist so it was never him.

Not the place (again), where did that other thread go?

emoji846.png

I think Churchill used the terms 'liberal' and 'conservative'. Fair enough, though this is the General Nonsense sub-forum.

2 hours ago, Ayrshire Saints said:

Brighthouse and Carluccios restaurant chain look like the first reasonably high profile business casualties of the virus. Let's hope it's not the first of many.

Places like Brighthouse had been taking advantage of folk for years and having to compensate them had left them struggling a bit , this virus has pushed them over the edge.

1 hour ago, W6er said:

Oooh, the quote's provenance😆  You pretentious wee fud. 

7 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Well, here we are, another Saturday which has become the worst day of the week.

It's just started raining so can't even go spend any time in the garden.

TV is shit, no football, no sport, killing me.

Look on the bright side, you could spend some of your day on this forum   :P