Kim Jong Un

linwood buddie

"The Kim is dead. Long live the Kim!"
North Korea, yet another socialist utopia!
The UK has had its capitalist economy bailed out by state socialism twice in the last 12 years.

More than that if you want to include every time the BofE ran another quantatitive easing on its printers.

You could argue UK is more of a socialist utopia than the North Korean dictatorship.

8 hours ago, TPAFKATS said:

The UK has had its capitalist economy bailed out by state socialism twice in the last 12 years.

More than that if you want to include every time the BofE ran another quantatitive easing on its printers.

You could argue UK is more of a socialist utopia than the North Korean dictatorship.

Our head of state is a monarch and we have umpteen billionaires, but if that's how you envisage socialism, then aye. God save the Queen!

12 minutes ago, W6er said:

Our head of state is a monarch and we have umpteen billionaires, but if that's how you envisage socialism, then aye. God save the Queen!

As you suggested North Korea was a socialist utopia, then you're portraying yourself as a complete arse with shallow political understanding.  And I'm only saying that, in rough simplistic language I would argue...., as you responded to TPAFKATS measured reply in that same very simple way.

1 minute ago, antrin said:

As you suggested North Korea was a socialist utopia, then you're portraying yourself as a complete arse with shallow political understanding.  And I'm only saying that, in rough simplistic language I would argue...., as you responded to TPAFKATS measured reply in that same very simple way.

What? I always try my best to be polite and friendly when I communicate on here. I only ever write what I'd be happy to say to someone's face. :)

If you know your history you'll understand North Korea was established by the USSR, in a similar fashion to East Germany. Both were established as socialist states. Of course most apologists for socialism will claim that it wasn't real socialism. Then again, neither was China, Cambodia, the Soviet Union, Romania, East Germany, etc, etc. :) 

N Korea, East Germany... even USSR were ever actually recognisable socialist states.

Western Media, right wing politicians and fascists would happily label them as such, but they were all versions of highly centralised State socialism - and always under attack by capitalist countries in the west.

Under such Capitalist pressure they were always struggling just to compete and keeps their heads above water - the Space Race, Nuclear Independence - all distractions from the path of socialism due to aggression from Capitalist entities. 

If they could ever have got over their State imposed control and defensive posturing then shifted towards true socialism then it might have been a different story.

Even you don't believe N Korea was a socialist state.

Do you? :unsure:

(And my apologies for being impolite.  From your earliest posts, I recognised I would probably be rude to you if I reacted to stuff you posted - so I have you on ignore.  Tonight, as there was a dearth of other posts,  I peeked.  My mistake.)

No, it's not how I envisage it. I thought that was obvious from what I posted, however you clearly haven't understood that.

N Korea, East Germany... even USSR were ever actually recognisable socialist states.

Western Media, right wing politicians and fascists would happily label them as such, but they were all versions of highly centralised State socialism - and always under attack by capitalist countries in the west.

Under such Capitalist pressure they were always struggling just to compete and keeps their heads above water - the Space Race, Nuclear Independence - all distractions from the path of socialism due to aggression from Capitalist entities. 

If they could ever have got over their State imposed control and defensive posturing then shifted towards true socialism then it might have been a different story.

Even you don't believe N Korea was a socialist state.

Do you? :unsure:

(And my apologies for being impolite.  From your earliest posts, I recognised I would probably be rude to you if I reacted to stuff you posted - so I have you on ignore.  Tonight, as there was a dearth of other posts,  I peeked.  My mistake.)

I don't understand why you find me so antagonistic, given that I never insult anybody or even really use profanity. I'm not sure whether I'm wasting my time replying to you, given that you have put me on ignore, so I'll keep this brief.

Aye, I think all of the states I mentioned were established as socialist states. To use Orwell's Animal Farm metaphor, they all ended up with the pigs being indistinguishable from the very worst of the bourgeoisie. But when you concentrate that much power into the hands of so few people, was it likely to ever be different? If the state owns all the means of production, then of course you will have a very centralised state, that's how command economies work. Also if you have ever worked for or dealt extensively with the civil service you'll know how massively inefficient it is. “They pretend to pay us, we pretend to work."

Of course socialists always blamed the West for the failings of the Soviet Union, and even criticism of the state could be enough to have you charged with being a saboteur (the crime of 'wrecking'. I believe.

1 hour ago, TPAFKATS said:
2 hours ago, W6er said:

No, it's not how I envisage it. I thought that was obvious from what I posted, however you clearly haven't understood that.

Juche.

58 minutes ago, DougJamie said:

In these sad times, I do hope this is true

If Trump could just follow suit, then Putin, then we could indeed have a new normal

Wishing death on people is a sin. I hope you burn in hell for eternity as punishment for your wickedness. 

As for Kim, I reckon he was a big teddy bear really. Okay, he could be a bit mischievous, but he wasnae a bad yin. May he RIP. 

If Trump could just follow suit, then Putin, then we could indeed have a new normal
While I wont shed a tear for either of those 3 when they pop their clogs, the issue is always who or what fills the vacuum they leave behind.

3 hours ago, GMan said:

Wishing death on people is a sin. I hope you burn in hell for eternity as punishment for your wickedness. 

As for Kim, I reckon he was a big teddy bear really. Okay, he could be a bit mischievous, but he wasnae a bad yin. May he RIP. 

Its not a sin you twat

Not coveting his wife either:wink:

45 minutes ago, TPAFKATS said:
4 hours ago, DougJamie said:

While I wont shed a tear for either of those 3 when they pop their clogs, the issue is always who or what fills the vacuum they leave behind.

Well Putin is obviously cloned, Trump may last another 50 years with his disinfectant cure, and Kim no doubt has a son waiting in the wings

So, it's ok for you to wish another person dies yet if it was someone you knew had this virus, you'd be all angry?

Sorry, that doesn't wash with me. 

Utter garbage TBH. :thumbsdown

This is not a conversation

If you support murdering buggars that's your look out, maybe Kim can survive so he can pull the trigger

Send Kim a card:P

Well Putin is obviously cloned, Trump may last another 50 years with his disinfectant cure, and Kim no doubt has a son waiting in the wings
I'm sure I read that that the power behind the throne (as it were) in North Korea is Kim's sister, surprisingly not called Kim.

On 4/26/2020 at 10:29 PM, antrin said:

Has there ever been a successful example of a country built primarily on socialist principles?