St Mirren as an employer.

10 minutes ago, magnus said:

Good to see former players like Cody Cooke and Tony Andreu compliment the way St Mirren has treated them throughout the Covid lockdown. St Mirren are behaving the way a fan owned, community club should. Well done Saints 

What have the Club done apart from Furlough them then boot them out the Club ? 

Cooke was hardly given a chance and Andreu was pish and should never have been signed. 

28 minutes ago, shull said:

Cooke was hardly given a chance and Andreu was pish and should never have been signed. 

Good point Shull, have done nothing other clubs never did either, another "look at me" thread started for nothing,

54 minutes ago, magnus said:

Good to see former players like Cody Cooke and Tony Andreu compliment the way St Mirren has treated them throughout the Covid lockdown. St Mirren are behaving the way a fan owned, community club should. Well done Saints 

Well said

2 hours ago, magnus said:

Good to hear, good to hear indeed.

PS fixed it for you

If the comments attributed to Cooke & Andreu are true, they've just pished all over your argument.

What happened Shull? You were once one of the most fervent of St Mirren supporters.

17 minutes ago, Kombibuddie said:

If the comments attributed to Cooke & Andreu are true, they've just pished all over your argument.

What happened Shull? You were once one of the most fervent of St Mirren supporters.

Still am. 

2 hours ago, Yflab said:

Jack Ross sent him over the edge by fielding a reserve team in the Challenge cup.

1 hour ago, BuddieinEK said:

It was never a reserve team.

He rightly rested a few key players to make sure they were available for important league matches! emoji12.png

Given he suggests all the players are sh!te and don't deserve to be paid, why would playing a different sh!te eleven upset him?

9 hours ago, magnus said:

Being an employer doesn't start and end with our playing staff, there are others who contribute to a functioning operation but were badly treated when it was revealed in 2017 that the club was paying LESS than the minimum wage on a par with KFC in Aberdeen...

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/st-mirren-named-shamed-one-9826240

3 hours ago, Desperately Seeking Susans said:

Being an employer doesn't start and end with our playing staff, there are others who contribute to a functioning operation but were badly treated when it was revealed in 2017 that the club was paying LESS than the minimum wage on a par with KFC in Aberdeen...

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/st-mirren-named-shamed-one-9826240

Thats correct, I remember that well.

However, that was then and this is now, that was then and this is now indeed

Just now, Desperately Seeking Susans said:

It could have continued up until today had it not been discovered.

To be fair thats speculation.

It is a bit like saying "that Indian in Rankine St, Johnstone is rubbish because I had a bad curry in 2007" when in fact it is now under new management and the best bloody curry known to Renfrewshire.  Gordon Scott, Alan Wardrop, Tony and the rest have done a fine job.

I refer to te Spicy Garden, a fine curry, a fine curry indeed.

15 hours ago, Yflab said:

Jack Ross sent him over the edge by fielding a reserve team in the Challenge cup.

14 hours ago, BuddieinEK said:

It was never a reserve team.

He rightly rested a few key players to make sure they were available for important league matches! emoji12.png

13 hours ago, stlucifer said:

Given he suggests all the players are sh!te and don't deserve to be paid, why would playing a different sh!te eleven upset him?

Aw bless them.

It was Saturday night and the wee dudes above are salivating over their favourite Forumster. :wub::lol:

John McGinn is not as pleased as others about St Mirren being a good employer ......
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/john-mcginn-slams-st-mirren-22150560

What a pile of steaming shite ! Every player freed by a club has now been "brutally axed". It's part and parcel of the game, an occupational hazard for players. His brother was paid well for his services, pretty poor stuff from Meatball.

John McGinn is not as pleased as others about St Mirren being a good employer ......
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/john-mcginn-slams-st-mirren-22150560

Aye, just read that in another paper so it's getting out there, now.

8 hours ago, TediousTom said:

To be fair thats speculation.

It is a bit like saying "that Indian in Rankine St, Johnstone is rubbish because I had a bad curry in 2007" when in fact it is now under new management and the best bloody curry known to Renfrewshire.  Gordon Scott, Alan Wardrop, Tony and the rest have done a fine job.

I refer to te Spicy Garden, a fine curry, a fine curry indeed.

Using your analogy, the improvement in curry would have more likely occurred by the exposure in Trip Advisor and not necessarily by a change in management by itself.  The present St Mirren management were in place over a year  before this illegality was exposed in the press and they failed to respond when asked to do so (The Herald).

Historically, unskilled and low-skilled workers have always tended to be ignored and over-looked throughout industry and this is proven by the introduction of income legislation namely, the National Minimum Wage Act in 1998.

So john mcginn upset. Honestly there is no loyalty where players are concerned he has a cheek to say anything. What about his brother Paul who left st Mirren for hibs and more money in January when if he was loyal would have seen the season out. Players want money but get upset when a team let them go. John mcginn may not be the player he is if it wasn't for st mirren. players should remember it was them who decided they wanted to be professional football players they are also aware their career is short term and as you get into your 30's will become a bit less in demand. I personally would have liked cooke and Mullen to stay so I hope goody brings  in better. I would also like to have kept stephen but getting injuries at his age can spell trouble and was a bigger wage earner so I can see why he had to go 

Edited by fan4ever

Using your analogy, the improvement in curry would have more likely occurred by the exposure in Trip Advisor and not necessarily by a change in management by itself.  The present St Mirren management were in place over a year  before this illegality was exposed in the press and they failed to respond when asked to do so (The Herald).
Historically, unskilled and low-skilled workers have always tended to be ignored and over-looked throughout industry and this is proven by the introduction of income legislation namely, the National Minimum Wage Act in 1998.

Who the hell looks at trip advisor before buying a takeaway ?