Blackface - Yes or No?

Bud the Baker

7 minutes ago, antrin said:

Drawing a parallel with the B+W Minstrel show...

Despite the fact that (as it seemed to me at the time) - instead of being offended - Scots/Jocks embraced the See You Jimmy comedian and his outfit.

It has now passed away as stale and way beyond its sell by date.

However, if another New series commenced based upon that shallow stereotype, I get a feeling in my watter that  SNP followers would be ripping down statues, painting the Houses of Parliament with subtle graffiti and bombarding the offending media company that chose to perpetuate the parody.

Twitter WOULD melt doon.

:whistle

It's a rare gift to be able to laugh at ourselves. The pity was that many saw the stereotype was one to be followed. Same with Rab C. Drink and the bookies plus fish suppers and cheap foreign holidays with more cheap booze as something to be emulated. 

On 6/11/2020 at 5:42 PM, GMan said:
On 6/11/2020 at 4:54 PM, faraway saint said:

I, and a few others, have said in the other thread, it's context.

The B&W Minstrels were of their time, in my innocence it was just as you suggest with Kiss, make up.

THAT was a different era, did it help where we are today, probably not as it would cement the stereotypical view of coloured people.

It's all about evolving, change can be both good and bad.

The whole current furore, while encouraging debate, is also looking like getting out of hand with the removal of TV programmes and movies. 

What would you know about evolution? You're at least two evolutionary steps behind everyone else...

Really! if your avatar reflects you; cro magnum man is wayyyyyyyyy ahead of you

3 hours ago, jaybee said:

Really! if your avatar reflects you; cro magnum man is wayyyyyyyyy ahead of you

It is alleged that Einstein received a letter from Marilyn Monroe, in which she suggested the two should procreate. 'Imagine if the child had my looks and your brains!', she is supposed to have written. 

Einstein wrote back and declined the offer, as he claimed to have fear the child would have Marilyn's brains and his looks. 

The point of the story, other than Einstein was obviously a bufty...is that looks and brains are very often inversely correlated. 

So, in accordance with that logic, I'm speculating you are l a male model.

Sigh...

sassenachs (For Gaelic speakers) are merely lowlanders

eg paisley buddies or edinbuggers.

Also...by the time Wallace was into aggro he wasn’t up against Saxons.

he was fighting people from his own background.... ie Normans.

like Robert De Brus, Wallace was allegedly from one of the Norman families invited in by the King of Scots, at the time - David... he saw what a great, civilising job the Normans were having after 1066 in England and believed it would be good for Scotland.

it was and has been positive.

We are aw Jock Tamson’s Bairns.

being a Scot (or English) is so much more complex than most Scots think.

(The Normans btw...  were the descendants of similar Norsemen to those who had invaded, conquered the north of Scotland, its Western seaboard and much of the east coast, too. From the 8th century onwards.

Those Norseman invaded, took over and ruled the northern coast of what we now call France at a similar time.i hope this helps?  :)

3 hours ago, GMan said:

It is alleged that Einstein received a letter from Marilyn Monroe, in which she suggested the two should procreate. 'Imagine if the child had my looks and your brains!', she is supposed to have written. 

Einstein wrote back and declined the offer, as he claimed to have fear the child would have Marilyn's brains and his looks. 

The point of the story, other than Einstein was obviously a bufty...is that looks and brains are very often inversely correlated. 

Whoever alleged it was wrong.

It was neither Einstein nor Monroe.

18 hours ago, faraway saint said:

John Cleese on the removal of an episode of Fawlty Towers.....................

However, Cleese told the Sydney Morning Herald that not everybody could see that “if you put nonsense words into the mouth of someone you want to make fun of you’re not broadcasting their views, you’re making fun of them”.

“The Major was an old fossil left over from decades before,” he said.

“We were not supporting his views, we were making fun of them. If they can’t see that, if people are too stupid to see that, what can one say?”

Fawlty Towers episode to be reinstated.

A "warning" to be made at the start of the episode. :lol:

On 6/11/2020 at 4:54 PM, faraway saint said:

I, and a few others, have said in the other thread, it's context.

The B&W Minstrels were of their time, in my innocence it was just as you suggest with Kiss, make up.

THAT was a different era, did it help where we are today, probably not as it would cement the stereotypical view of coloured people.

It's all about evolving, change can be both good and bad.

The whole current furore, while encouraging debate, is also looking like getting out of hand with the removal of TV programmes and movies. 

The original context of the minstrels in the USA was to parody a saccharine version of happy slaves living a village life and singing spiritual songs because they were happy and not because they were miserable 

the version we saw here was even more sanitised except for the big “oh lawdy” finale

the fact that we didn’t know better doesn’t mean we shouldn’t have (of?)

ignorance is far from innocence 

14 hours ago, GMan said:

Noel Coward and an unnamed actress

1 hour ago, beyond our ken said:

The original context of the minstrels in the USA was to parody a saccharine version of happy slaves living a village life and singing spiritual songs because they were happy and not because they were miserable 

the version we saw here was even more sanitised except for the big “oh lawdy” finale

the fact that we didn’t know better doesn’t mean we shouldn’t have (of?)

ignorance is far from innocence 

I'll flog myself later. 😂

If we truly want to rid the world of racism the motto should be 

Afghan, Albanian, Algerian, American, ,Andorran, Angolan, Anguillan, Argentine, Armenian, Australian, Austrian, Azerbaijani, Bahamian, Bahraini, Bangladeshi, Barbadian, Belarusian, Belgian, Belizean, Beninese, Bermudian, Bhutanese, Bolivian, Botswanan, Brazilian, British, British Virgin Islander, Bruneian, Bulgarian, Burkinan, Burmese, Burundian, Cambodian, Cameroonian, Canadian, Cape Verdean, Cayman Islander, Central African, Chadian, Chilean, Chinese, Citizen of Antigua and Barbuda, Citizen of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Citizen of Guinea-Bissau, Citizen of Kiribati, Citizen of Seychelles, Citizen of the Dominican Republic, Citizen of Vanuatu , Colombian, Comoran, Congolese (Congo), Congolese (DRC), Cook Islander,, Costa Rican, Croatian, Cuban, Cymraes, Cymro, Cypriot, Czech, Danish, Djiboutian, Dominican, Dutch, East Timorese, Ecuadorean, Egyptian, Emirati, English, Equatorial Guinean, Eritrean, Estonian, Ethiopian, Faroese, Fijian, Filipino, Finnish, French, Gabonese, Gambian, Georgian, German, Ghanaian, Gibraltarian, Greek, Greenlandic, Grenadian, Guamanian, Guatemalan, Guinean, Guyanese, Haitian, Honduran, Hong Konger, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indian, Indonesian, Iranian, Iraqi, Irish, Israeli, Italian, Ivorian, Jamaican, Japanese, Jordanian, Kazakh, Kenyan, Kittitian, Kosovan, Kuwaiti, Kyrgyz, Lao, Latvian, Lebanese, Liberian, Libyan, Liechtenstein citizen, Lithuanian, Luxembourger, Macanese, Macedonia, Malagasy, Malawian, Malaysian, Maldivian, Malian, Maltese, Marshallese, Martiniquais, Mauritanian, Mauritian, Mexican, Micronesian, Moldovan, Monegasque, Mongolian, Montenegrin, Montserratian, Moroccan, Mosotho, Mozambican, Namibian, Nauruan, Nepalese, New Zealander, Nicaraguan, Nigerian, Nigerien, Niuean, North Korean, Northern Irish, Norwegian, Omani, Pakistani, Palauan, Palestinian, Panamanian, Papua New Guinean, Paraguayan, Peruvian, Pitcairn Islander, Polish, Portuguese, Prydeinig, Puerto Rican, Qatari, Romanian, Russian, Rwandan, Salvadorean, Sammarinese, Samoan, Sao Tomean, Saudi Arabian, Scottish, Senegalese, Serbian, Sierra Leonean, Singaporean, Slovak, Slovenian, Solomon Islander, Somali, South African, South Korean, South Sudanese, Spanish, Sri Lankan, St Helenian, St Lucian, Stateless, Sudanese, Surinamese, Swazi, Swedish, Swiss, Syrian, Taiwanese, Tajik, Tanzanian, Thai, Togolese, Tongan, Trinidadian, Tristanian, Tunisian, Turkish, Turkmen, Turks and Caicos Islander, Tuvaluan, Ugandan, Ukrainian, Uruguayan, Uzbek, Vatican citizen, Venezuelan, Vietnamese, Vincentian, Wallisian, Welsh, Yemeni, Zambian, Zimbabwean...............................

LIVES MATTER!

Just now, stlucifer said:

If we truly want to rid the world of racism the motto should be 

Afghan, Albanian, Algerian, American, ,Andorran, Angolan, Anguillan, Argentine, Armenian, Australian, Austrian, Azerbaijani, Bahamian, Bahraini, Bangladeshi, Barbadian, Belarusian, Belgian, Belizean, Beninese, Bermudian, Bhutanese, Bolivian, Botswanan, Brazilian, British, British Virgin Islander, Bruneian, Bulgarian, Burkinan, Burmese, Burundian, Cambodian, Cameroonian, Canadian, Cape Verdean, Cayman Islander, Central African, Chadian, Chilean, Chinese, Citizen of Antigua and Barbuda, Citizen of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Citizen of Guinea-Bissau, Citizen of Kiribati, Citizen of Seychelles, Citizen of the Dominican Republic, Citizen of Vanuatu , Colombian, Comoran, Congolese (Congo), Congolese (DRC), Cook Islander,, Costa Rican, Croatian, Cuban, Cymraes, Cymro, Cypriot, Czech, Danish, Djiboutian, Dominican, Dutch, East Timorese, Ecuadorean, Egyptian, Emirati, English, Equatorial Guinean, Eritrean, Estonian, Ethiopian, Faroese, Fijian, Filipino, Finnish, French, Gabonese, Gambian, Georgian, German, Ghanaian, Gibraltarian, Greek, Greenlandic, Grenadian, Guamanian, Guatemalan, Guinean, Guyanese, Haitian, Honduran, Hong Konger, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indian, Indonesian, Iranian, Iraqi, Irish, Israeli, Italian, Ivorian, Jamaican, Japanese, Jordanian, Kazakh, Kenyan, Kittitian, Kosovan, Kuwaiti, Kyrgyz, Lao, Latvian, Lebanese, Liberian, Libyan, Liechtenstein citizen, Lithuanian, Luxembourger, Macanese, Macedonia, Malagasy, Malawian, Malaysian, Maldivian, Malian, Maltese, Marshallese, Martiniquais, Mauritanian, Mauritian, Mexican, Micronesian, Moldovan, Monegasque, Mongolian, Montenegrin, Montserratian, Moroccan, Mosotho, Mozambican, Namibian, Nauruan, Nepalese, New Zealander, Nicaraguan, Nigerian, Nigerien, Niuean, North Korean, Northern Irish, Norwegian, Omani, Pakistani, Palauan, Palestinian, Panamanian, Papua New Guinean, Paraguayan, Peruvian, Pitcairn Islander, Polish, Portuguese, Prydeinig, Puerto Rican, Qatari, Romanian, Russian, Rwandan, Salvadorean, Sammarinese, Samoan, Sao Tomean, Saudi Arabian, Scottish, Senegalese, Serbian, Sierra Leonean, Singaporean, Slovak, Slovenian, Solomon Islander, Somali, South African, South Korean, South Sudanese, Spanish, Sri Lankan, St Helenian, St Lucian, Stateless, Sudanese, Surinamese, Swazi, Swedish, Swiss, Syrian, Taiwanese, Tajik, Tanzanian, Thai, Togolese, Tongan, Trinidadian, Tristanian, Tunisian, Turkish, Turkmen, Turks and Caicos Islander, Tuvaluan, Ugandan, Ukrainian, Uruguayan, Uzbek, Vatican citizen, Venezuelan, Vietnamese, Vincentian, Wallisian, Welsh, Yemeni, Zambian, Zimbabwean...............................

LIVES MATTER!

Gee... An internationalist. Who would have thought it. 

15 hours ago, antrin said:

Sigh...

sassenachs (For Gaelic speakers) are merely lowlanders

eg paisley buddies or edinbuggers.

Also...by the time Wallace was into aggro he wasn’t up against Saxons.

he was fighting people from his own background.... ie Normans.

like Robert De Brus, Wallace was allegedly from one of the Norman families invited in by the King of Scots, at the time - David... he saw what a great, civilising job the Normans were having after 1066 in England and believed it would be good for Scotland.

it was and has been positive.

We are aw Jock Tamson’s Bairns.

being a Scot (or English) is so much more complex than most Scots think.

(The Normans btw...  were the descendants of similar Norsemen to those who had invaded, conquered the north of Scotland, its Western seaboard and much of the east coast, too. From the 8th century onwards.

Those Norseman invaded, took over and ruled the northern coast of what we now call France at a similar time.i hope this helps?  :)

If Robert De Brus had been a postman would he deliver de letter, de sooner de better?

Just askin' in order to be offensive like......

PS - Do you know who played drums on The Marvelettes version of the song?

3 minutes ago, Bud the Baker said:

If Robert De Brus had been a postman would he deliver de letter, de sooner de better?

Just askin' in order to be offensive like......

PS - Do you know who played drums on The Marvelettes version of the song?

Bud. No offence taken. Rab was quite a boy. History has made him  a Scottish hero. Would I have trusted him to to deliver a letter... Probably not unless there was considerable personal benefit in it for him. A rascal who came out on top. Some argue.