Pretentious? Moi???

beyond our ken

TV chef Nigella tells us that we've been making toast in the wrong way, "twice buttered" is the new way

I switched on Nigel Slater today, making apple crumble.  " like to keep it rough and basic" wittered Nige,  Maybe he was about to discuss his lovemaking preferrences, i thought, before he proffered that adding Madeira, or Marsala to the apples would enhance the flavour.  "Apples and cheese are a match made in heaven" he droned, He nearly had me back in the room with that, "a nice chunk of cheddar on the side would be lovely" i thought.  i was ready to see where this was going before the camera cut to Nige heading down the garden to his cheese store -Nigel has a cheese store) for a big chunk of Parmiggiano Reggiano.  "I'm expecting pudding (maybe another sexual euphemism, you never know)  but it reminds me of an old-fashioned ploughmans lunch", he dribbled whilst neatly sidestepping the fact that there is nothing that is really old-fashioned about a ploughmans.

a former colleague once claimed that a menu in a Gastropub he visited offered "vinegar 3 ways", which turned out to be fish, chips and mushies in separate (tiny) vessels.

"Pseuds" was the word that Private Eye used to use, maybe it's time to bring that back.

2 hours ago, beyond our ken said:

"Pseuds" was the word that Private Eye used to use, maybe it's time to bring that back.

Eh...?

It still has its Pseuds Corner with quotes clamouring to get in.

Tonight I shall be cooking...

baked Red Edward  potatoes...

chunks of butternut squash, parsnips, carrots, some leek and marrow all roasted in Olive Oil.. with shaved garlic and pepper and perhaps a sprinkle or two of McLellands Vintage Cheddar...  (I don't have a cheese store.  :(  )

Cavallo Nero and/or orange and red Chard...

(all my own Veggies, btw)

with either Fried chicken from the carcass remains of last night's buttered roast

OR 

a mass-produced Waitrose reduced due to sell-by date Steak pie with red wine sauce.  

Pretentious, moi?

Naw, but now I'm even more peckish and starvin'.....!  :o

3 minutes ago, StanleySaint said:

Tomorrow I may have deep fried cod loin coated in a real ale tempura, with thrice fried pomme frite and a petit pois jus, or I may just go to the chippy!

Such a temptingly easy thought  for me also this evening - as I have a voucher for a couple of cheap cod and chips - only useable on Mon Tue or Thu.

7 minutes ago, Yflab said:

What about the Steak pie ya Waitrose shopping Wanker? Is that destined for the dug or the freezer?

You are all making me hungry.....

Ramorra - it had better be

It's freezin, doon here.  Bit of a shock to the system.  So a can of baked beans (low salt and sugar, of course) has been cracked open and papped intae the pot in order to embellish the cod n chips, that I'll go to fetch in a minute or two..

A tray has been set with salt pepper vinegar red sauce...

Nigel Slater will be birlin with envy.  :)

Ramorra - it had better be
It's freezin, doon here.  Bit of a shock to the system.  So a can of baked beans (low salt and sugar, of course) has been cracked open and papped intae the pot in order to embellish the cod n chips, that I'll go to fetch in a minute or two..
A tray has been set with salt pepper vinegar red sauce...
Nigel Slater will be birlin with envy.  [emoji4]
Beans with fish. That to me sounds even worse than beans with a cooked breakfast.

F'in weirdo. [emoji23]