BAWA Pish Up

15 hours ago, oaksoft said:

Nope. Not a f**king earthly.

Just the thought of it has brought me out in a rash.

I need a brown paper bag to breathe into.

As the old saying goes, I would rather clean the public toilets with a blue tit's eyelash.

As my grandpa used to say- All talk not trousers :whistle

• 1 year later...
On 3/4/2021 at 10:10 PM, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

It’s funny when you think back to the old guestbook. It’s hard to imagine that just one big long thread of posts would work but it did. The old chat room was good on match days too. 

The auld guestbook was mental. It was like the Wild West compared to now. 

There were all manner of people on that Guestbook back in the day. This is when the internet was in its infancy and getting online meant a significant outlay on a home computer or if you had access at work. At home no one could use the telephone while you dialed up on a 56K modem. Donna Kebabs used to open up the Guestbook Arms which was a virtual boozer. Last orders was carnage.
First time many of us met up in person was a prearranged meet in the Jaggy Thistle in Blackpool pre season 1999. No one had a clue what anyone looked like as there was no online photo profiles.

Many of us started to meet in the wee barrel pre and post match that season. The odd curry night took place at the Koo-I-Noor.
The StMirrenoff football team was launched on the back of that Guestbook.

Fan ownership was first discussed on the GuestBook around 2001 and as a result the campaign to get SMiSA was initiated and the first set of public meetings held at Love St and local pubs. This in turn launched the original Saints Aid at Love St where most of the 87 cup team took on supporters. Tom W spent a week in the RAH with a bad back as a result of a goal scoring master class by McGarvey.

Over the course of the years I have met yourself Mark, Jimmy H, Kebabs, Tom, Reidy, Jimbo, Harpo, Wilbur, Bill Lees, Hector, SenselessThing, the original and best Paisley Panda (Andy) who used to regale us with stories of the shenanigans he had with Strathclyde Polis, opposition players and away fans, Millport, Griff, Allan T, George Ewing, HSS, HowardHughes, Mark Gallagher, Kenny Kelly, Kenny Morrison, Elvira, Piratka, Sandman, SkodaSaint, NorthEndSaint, Farmer John, Chingford and the infamous LawStud. There have been a host of others that joined later iterations of the site including SkodaSaint, Santaponsa, Firhill Saint and so many others.

Sadly we’ve lost a few troops down the years like Derek aka FoxbarSaint, Stevie Rowan, Wullie Leggatt and Tam McGarry.

In terms of controversial moments we had Wullie Leggatt who was going to hang Bill Lees off Blackpool Tower by a Saints scarf. And the LawStud issue where Stewart Gilmour had him banged to rights over financial affairs at the club and also we had the infamous DVD player throwing incident at a customer sales rep.

There were great stories about old Paisley characters like Cuthbert and big Ian the paper seller. The Coconut dug joke was mentioned many times and Bill Lees was obsessed with white dug shite and wiping his knob on the curtains.

North Sea Saint would probably have us shut down now with his ahem adult content.

Ah. The good auld days. Just like modern fitba todays online experience with all its modern technology and fancy search and quote functions is shite in comparison to what happened in the golden era. There were no like counters and shite like that. 

When major news stories, rumours started or match discussions there were literally hundreds of users online from all over the world. Probably one of the biggest debates surrounded the removal of Tom Hendrie.

The Love Street stadium council vote was essentially “live streamed” with information being fed to everyone who lived hundreds of miles away.

Ah the guid auld days!

I still see many of these people at Saints games. And to those fans no longer with us I raise a glass 🥃 

Hey @faraway saint too many words used?

problem for @bazil85 is I’ve provided no factual evidence to back up those claims of multiple piss ups, curry nights and trips to Blackpool and (also Grimsby and Darlington) so it’s a made up story and never happened.

Edited by SuperSaints1877

We do have a BAWA night oot ……. Of sorts.   😉

The BAWA football guys are still going strong, in fact we have now TWO games a week and many ( well , some 🙄) of the contributors on here still take part - and by n large are a very decent bunch.

We put our cash In each week and get together a couple of times a year to drink the kitty dry .

I know it’s not the whole of BAWA but at least it’s something 🤷‍♂️

22 hours ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

The auld guestbook was mental. It was like the Wild West compared to now. 

There were all manner of people on that Guestbook back in the day. This is when the internet was in its infancy and getting online meant a significant outlay on a home computer or if you had access at work. At home no one could use the telephone while you dialed up on a 56K modem. Donna Kebabs used to open up the Guestbook Arms which was a virtual boozer. Last orders was carnage.
First time many of us met up in person was a prearranged meet in the Jaggy Thistle in Blackpool pre season 1999. No one had a clue what anyone looked like as there was no online photo profiles.

Many of us started to meet in the wee barrel pre and post match that season. The odd curry night took place at the Koo-I-Noor.
The StMirrenoff football team was launched on the back of that Guestbook.

Fan ownership was first discussed on the GuestBook around 2001 and as a result the campaign to get SMiSA was initiated and the first set of public meetings held at Love St and local pubs. This in turn launched the original Saints Aid at Love St where most of the 87 cup team took on supporters. Tom W spent a week in the RAH with a bad back as a result of a goal scoring master class by McGarvey.

Over the course of the years I have met yourself Mark, Jimmy H, Kebabs, Tom, Reidy, Jimbo, Harpo, Wilbur, Bill Lees, Hector, SenselessThing, the original and best Paisley Panda (Andy) who used to regale us with stories of the shenanigans he had with Strathclyde Polis, opposition players and away fans, Millport, Griff, Allan T, George Ewing, HSS, HowardHughes, Mark Gallagher, Kenny Kelly, Kenny Morrison, Elvira, Piratka, Sandman, SkodaSaint, NorthEndSaint, Farmer John, Chingford and the infamous LawStud. There have been a host of others that joined later iterations of the site including SkodaSaint, Santaponsa, Firhill Saint and so many others.

Sadly we’ve lost a few troops down the years like Derek aka FoxbarSaint, Stevie Rowan, Wullie Leggatt and Tam McGarry.

In terms of controversial moments we had Wullie Leggatt who was going to hang Bill Lees off Blackpool Tower by a Saints scarf. And the LawStud issue where Stewart Gilmour had him banged to rights over financial affairs at the club and also we had the infamous DVD player throwing incident at a customer sales rep.

There were great stories about old Paisley characters like Cuthbert and big Ian the paper seller. The Coconut dug joke was mentioned many times and Bill Lees was obsessed with white dug shite and wiping his knob on the curtains.

North Sea Saint would probably have us shut down now with his ahem adult content.

Ah. The good auld days. Just like modern fitba todays online experience with all its modern technology and fancy search and quote functions is shite in comparison to what happened in the golden era. There were no like counters and shite like that. 

When major news stories, rumours started or match discussions there were literally hundreds of users online from all over the world. Probably one of the biggest debates surrounded the removal of Tom Hendrie.

The Love Street stadium council vote was essentially “live streamed” with information being fed to everyone who lived hundreds of miles away.

Ah the guid auld days!

I still see many of these people at Saints games. And to those fans no longer with us I raise a glass 🥃 

👏👏👏👏👏👏

• 3 months later...