It's getting to be every season now, I haven't seen much on if there has been any changes to the proposal to make it fairer and beneficial to Scottish football/ national team. If they are yet again flogging the same dead horse proposal, they need to be told once and for all to F off. 

Is this a annual event now? Suppose they will just keep going until they win. Should counter propose that their first teams are kicked out instead. Let clubs know you are not having this.have they waited until season tickets have been sold at a lot of clubs to cover people saying they will not buy them if this comes to pass?

53 minutes ago, guinness said:

Is this a annual event now? Suppose they will just keep going until they win. Should counter propose that their first teams are kicked out instead. Let clubs know you are not having this.have they waited until season tickets have been sold at a lot of clubs to cover people saying they will not buy them if this comes to pass?

Would love to see a similar response to the Super League breakaway on this. Stop asking as fans don't want it, if you do there will be repercussions. 

On 5/29/2021 at 10:10 AM, bazil85 said:

I think the idea they are still big clubs on a global scale is becoming more & more dated. With every generation that passes, the kids raised of non-Scottish based Celtic & Rangers fans families are less & less likely to support Scottish based teams. 

With social media, FIFA, player commercialisation & ever improving & accessible better competition, there is more chance they support & follow the teams (or individual players) being thrown down their necks. 

Celtic & Rangers are still sizeable clubs & if they went to EPL for example I have little doubt they would quickly claw back some of the global shine & exposure they’ve lost, however for me right now you need to look holistically. 
- club strength 

- exposure 

- financial capability 

- current global appeal. 

All these things considered, in recent years & likely going forward, they’re just a couple of other ‘diddy teams’ in Scottish football. 

Couldn't agree more. My local would rather put on an English League 1 game than the Rangers v Celtic

12 minutes ago, Gosport Buddie said:

Couldn't agree more. My local would rather put on an English League 1 game than the Rangers v Celtic

This was from March 2018.

A total of 541,000 tuned in to the classic clash and was the third-most watched programme on Sky Sports Football and enjoyed the fourth biggest viewing figures on Sky Sports Main Event for that week, according to BARB data.

This from Jan 2020.

Rangers derby victory over Celtic blew the Premiership title race wide open - and smashed TV viewing figure records at the same time.

The Ibrox club's first win at Celtic Park in nine years attracted a global audience which is unmatched in the SPFL era.

It's better than the average audience an English Premier League match enjoys which currently stands at a little over a million.

5 hours ago, faraway saint said:

A total of 541,000 tuned in to the classic clash and was the third-most watched programme on Sky Sports Football and enjoyed the fourth biggest viewing figures on Sky Sports Main Event for that week, according to BARB data.

This from Jan 2020.

Rangers derby victory over Celtic blew the Premiership title race wide open - and smashed TV viewing figure records at the same time.

The Ibrox club's first win at Celtic Park in nine years attracted a global audience which is unmatched in the SPFL era.

It's better than the average audience an English Premier League match enjoys which currently stands at a little over a million.

This proves Bazil and GB's point, the old firm currently rank as an average attraction on a par with the average EPL club.  there are some english clubs  that are way above average in terms of viewing figures and some way below.  Most of that audience would have been in Scotland and bolstered by the numbers that would normally attend or watch the game in a pub..  Being big in SPFL terms doesn't necessarily put you in the forefront of the world stage.

1 hour ago, beyond our ken said:

This proves Bazil and GB's point, the old firm currently rank as an average attraction on a par with the average EPL club.  there are some english clubs  that are way above average in terms of viewing figures and some way below.  Most of that audience would have been in Scotland and bolstered by the numbers that would normally attend or watch the game in a pub..  Being big in SPFL terms doesn't necessarily put you in the forefront of the world stage.

I would suggest that being ABOVE the average EPL team put's the Old Form in the "very attractive" bracket for Sky, which is just as well as Sky would probably pull out of Scottish football altogether.

Certainly NOT waning in term of viewing figures, despite some who like to think they are.

For a small country they certainly are punching above their weight. 

1 hour ago, beyond our ken said:

Obviously.........................but still, considering Scotland is a very small pond, quite a high profile.

word-image-6.png?w=960

Quite a few interesting numbers here...................don't misunderstand me, in world football both the OF are not going to threaten the real big boys.

http://priceoffootball.com/celtic-and-rangers-2019-20-the-watchman/

8 hours ago, faraway saint said:

This from Jan 2020.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-vs-celtic-viewing-figures-12231102.amp

Feel everything needs to be looked at in relative context. It was third on the channel behind a championship game between Nottingham Forrest & Derby + soccer Saturday. 

The top fixture in Scotland is tiny compared to what it once was. Interest has dwindled in Scottish football overall & Celtic/ Rangers are not immune to that. That doesn’t mean flickers of interest will increase linked to the importance of the fixture (like in 2020) 

The longer it goes 4 to 7 times a domestic season + a 2 horse race in Scotland, the less interest the fixture will command. Fans have too many options to increase their relevance considerably. 

80DB908A-31E6-4D41-BAB9-630717AE1649.png

12 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-vs-celtic-viewing-figures-12231102.amp

Feel everything needs to be looked at in relative context. It was third on the channel behind a championship game between Nottingham Forrest & Derby + soccer Saturday. 

The top fixture in Scotland is tiny compared to what it once was. Interest has dwindled in Scottish football overall & Celtic/ Rangers are not immune to that. That doesn’t mean flickers of interest will increase linked to the importance of the fixture (like in 2020) 

The longer it goes 4 to 7 times a domestic season + a 2 horse race in Scotland, the less interest the fixture will command. Fans have too many options to increase their relevance considerably. 

80DB908A-31E6-4D41-BAB9-630717AE1649.png

And above another 2 EPL matches and a Barcelona game, aye, context. 

44 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

And above another 2 EPL matches and a Barcelona game, aye, context. 

Yep, context. As already said to you, we are talking about the biggest game in Scotland. What historically was arguably considered one of the top five derbies in world football. Domestically 2 clubs that can still take 50k+ home fans a week. 

It is strong evidence away from home their interest has fallen when they can’t beat viewership for a reasonably big championship game or bang average EPL games. This was my originally point, that the interest away from home has fallen from where it was. 

Edit: also, what are the 2 EPL games? I can only see Arsenal which I think is a bit strange, (maybe the crossover with Nottingham Forrest a factor)  

18 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

Yep, context. As already said to you, we are talking about the biggest game in Scotland. What historically was arguably considered one of the top five derbies in world football. Domestically 2 clubs that can still take 50k+ home fans a week. 

It is strong evidence away from home their interest has fallen when they can’t beat viewership for a reasonably big championship game or bang average EPL games. This was my originally point, that the interest away from home has fallen from where it was. 

Edit: also, what are the 2 EPL games? I can only see Arsenal which I think is a bit strange, (maybe the crossover with Nottingham Forrest a factor)  

My mistake, looked more at the teams than the blurred EFL, apologies. 

19 hours ago, faraway saint said:

I would suggest that being ABOVE the average EPL team put's the Old Form in the "very attractive" bracket for Sky, which is just as well as Sky would probably pull out of Scottish football altogether.

Certainly NOT waning in term of viewing figures, despite some who like to think they are.

For a small country they certainly are punching above their weight. 

so being as good as Wolves, Leeds, Crystal Palace makes you a truly global brand.-My daughter in law sells some of her products in the US and australia, but she would never consider herself to be a global brand

viewing figures gained in an environment where nobody was allowed to congregate in a pub or at the game are exceptional

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/7312396/spfl-vote-league-reconstruction-rangers-celtic-colts/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1624696102

July 7th date for indicative voting intentions. I have already emailed the club (and SMISA) expression my strong opposition based on the most recent proposal, hope others do the same. 

In saying the above, I am not against colts universally & a new proposal could be significantly different to all the other ones, although I am not holding out much hope. My opposition is based only on previously communicated proposals. For me to support colts, rules on their existence would have to cover the following 

- maximum squad numbers for colts & ALL youth ages to protect other clubs from Celtic/ Rangers swallowing up even more of the best talent at various youth levels & signing more talent for colts (Celtic have just signed an English youth player for lowland league apparently). 
- rules on homegrown player rules (developed at parent club for over 3 years before 18th birthday) meaning vast majority of colts players are Scotland eligible. 
- rules that provide a pathway to first team from colts. X number of colt trained players (homegrown ones) must feature in senior starting 11s after a grace period. This would mean future Scottish eligible players playing in senior SP teams down the line & hold clubs like Celtic & Rangers accountable to develop Scottish eligible talent.

If I’m honest I don’t see Celtic & Rangers agreeing to any of that & as such Colts should be rejected in line with (likely) fan majority opinion.  

3 hours ago, beyond our ken said:

so being as good as Wolves, Leeds, Crystal Palace makes you a truly global brand.-My daughter in law sells some of her products in the US and australia, but she would never consider herself to be a global brand

viewing figures gained in an environment where nobody was allowed to congregate in a pub or at the game are exceptional

I think, as usual, you're getting a wee bit mixed up as I don't recall EVER saying Rangers or Celtic were this meaningless term "global brand".

Anyhow, as I couldn't give a monkeys, I'm out. :byebye