Should John Needham resign due to inappropriate comments?

10 minutes ago, Helmettroll said:

Impeccable timing from the SFA to announce this charge the same day as Sevco release there annual accounts and there scummy fans were rioting in Denmark....

Look it's poor wee Sevco who's the victim here... 

Were they? 

Nothing I've read suggested their fans were "rioting"? 

More deflection, well done John, you're doing a grand job. :byebye

Bringing in extreme groups of people to "justify" what Needham said shows desperation IMO. 
I haven't justified anything, or tried to. I'm just demonstrating that replacing Sevco fans with another random group doesn't really help clarify anything.

9 minutes ago, Helmettroll said:

Yeah they were actually, fighting with police and Brondby fans,

Obviously the Danes fault for being in Denmark the same time as Sevco fans..

You might be better to post a link, I can't find anything to back up your claims. 

It seems Brondby fans, if they were fans, confronted Rangers fans. 

19 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

You might be better to post a link, I can't find anything to back up your claims. 

It seems Brondby fans, if they were fans, confronted Rangers fans. 

Bronby Statement Yesterday's match between Brøndby IF and Rangers FC ended 1-1, and both teams therefore got a point and more in the Europa League group game. Unfortunately, before, during and after the match there were battles with especially a group of Rangers fans. CEO Ole Palmå talks about the security in connection with the match. - We have had a massive security effort up to this match, as Rangers fans have been trying for a long time to get tickets for the match. Rangers FC were awarded the obligatory five percent of the stadium capacity (1,400 tickets, ed.), And the outdoor section was immediately sold out. In addition to the 1,400 tickets, Rangers fans have not been allowed to get tickets to other sections of Brøndby Stadion, but despite constant communication from our side, we have had to go in and cancel several hundred tickets over the last week, as Rangers- fans got their hands dirty in various ways. We have on several occasions reached out to Rangers FC about this security risk, as Rangers fans are known and infamous for their fans trying to get into episodes they do not have access to, but we has had to conclude that we and the Copenhagen West Region Police have stood alone with this challenge. Before the start of yesterday's match, more than 500 Rangers fans were turned away at the entrances to Brøndby Stadion with invalid and fake tickets, just as the ticket control and the gates to the away section were tried several times up to the opening of the stadium by Rangers fans, which meant that Copenhagen's Vestegns Police had to pull the poles several times to ensure that only those with a valid ticket entered. A large group of Scottish spectators were given access to Rangers FC's sponsorship spots as part of UEFA's requirements for the Europa League group stage. Rangers FC was responsible for the administration and distribution of these VIP tickets. Brøndby IF's assessment of the group in question was that it consisted of "risk fans", but when asked directly at the entrance to the sponsorship places, Rangers FC confirmed to Brøndby IF's head of security, Mickel Lauritzen, that this group were sponsors of the club. Mickel Lauritzen explains the episode. - Unfortunately, our immediate risk assessment of this group of Rangers fans turned out to be correct. It was clear that this group was what we call "risk fans," and shortly after their arrival, this group hung a flag on the sponsor seats, which can be connected to Rangers FC's risk fans. Then it quickly developed into a car crash with a group of Brøndby fans, where our guards and the police had to intervene and calm the mood. During the match, this group acted threateningly towards spectators and staff, and several times threw beer at surrounding spectators, just as during the break they attacked random spectators on the toilets. Together with the police, we assessed that it entailed too great a risk to remove this group of "risk fans" from the stands, so we chose instead to place more guards in the area where they were sitting. When the group was escorted away from the stadium after the match, a riot broke out outside the stadium between them and a group of Brøndby fans. CEO Ole Palmå talks about a good collaboration with the police, and praises the many stewards who ensured an otherwise good outcome of the match. - We had a really good and constructive collaboration with the police yesterday, in what was a very unusual and difficult task. We would also like to thank our many hundreds of stewards at the stadium for making very thorough checks of fans, which helped to ensure that only those with tickets came in, despite the fact that several Scottish fans had worn Brøndby IF jerseys and scarves. All in all, there was a fantastic atmosphere in the stands during the match, where Sydsiden to that extent showed Brøndby Stadion by getting the whole stadium with them. - However, it is by no means acceptable that a group of Brøndby fans resort to suicide in the stands and get into a fight. It belongs nowhere. We strongly dissociate ourselves from such behavior, and we are now embarking on reviewing all video footage of the match in cooperation with the police so that we can identify the people involved and secure sanctions, including quarantine.

Could be a pile of excrement but was sent this today albeit from a Celtic fan I know

26 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Aye, and read the report? :lol:

FS, we're generally in agreement on this but the second you use Derek Johnstone as some sort of beacon of rationality (I know you didn't post the report in the first instance) you are losing the argument imo 🤣

13 minutes ago, WeeBud said:

FS, we're generally in agreement on this but the second you use Derek Johnstone as some sort of beacon of rationality (I know you didn't post the report in the first instance) you are losing the argument imo 🤣

It was a report that was within a link I was asked to look at, I never choose it as some sort of anything. 

There's plenty of other reports that indicate the major issue was the Brondby support, who had been "at it" at the game at Ibrox.

It was a report that was within a link I was asked to look at, I never choose it as some sort of anything. 

There's plenty of other reports that indicate the major issue was the Brondby support, who had been "at it" at the game at Ibrox.

I know Rangers fans that were there.......they said their own fans acted like clowns all day (and in fairness they have history for it). If you read reports with a Rangers bias they will always blame the other side. 

My own experience of Rangers fans is they are "at it" at every game their team plays.

4 minutes ago, WeeBud said:

I know Rangers fans that were there.......they said their own fans acted like clowns all day (and in fairness they have history for it). If you read reports with a Rangers bias they will always blame the other side. 

My own experience of Rangers fans is they are "at it" at every game their team plays.

PS This is more smokescreen attempts to deflect away from the matter in hand. 

Yet you make no mention of the Brondby fans?

Jeezo, I know most football supporters have an element that are not the full shilling, not trying to remove any lunatics that were Rangers supporters but not to mention the involvement of Brondby fans isn't a a balanced view. 

Just now, faraway saint said:

Yet you make no mention of the Brondby fans?

Jeezo, I know most football supporters have an element that are not the full shilling, not trying to remove any lunatics that were Rangers supporters but not to mention the involvement of Brondby fans isn't a a balanced view. 

I know fine the Brondby fans were also there causing bother, both sets of fans were "at it" to use your term and I was replying to your post where you were suggesting the trouble was all at the feet of the Brondby support....if you read back you also suggest that is was the Brondby fans that were being confrontational.

Where's your balance 🤷‍♂️ 

1 hour ago, Slash said:

I think we all know how this will pan out. A mere slap on the wrist.

The SFA and the police are not willing to address the elephant in the room.

Sectarianism is rife in Scotland.

The games against the bigot brothers are increasingly toxic with their fans seemingly untouchable. I personally think that it has become even worse since Rangers were liquidated.

Our supporters have eliminated an offensive song from our at game repertoire which began “Hello Hello how do you do we hate the boys in royal blue. We hate the boys in emerald green…etc”. I think that was through self policing.

Those fans continue to sing about Irish paramilitary organisations every Saturday. They would argue that those songs are not sectarian by definition, but we have all heard the “add-ons” to a number of chants.

Until the SFA & the SPFL start introducing fines and points penalties for such behaviour we will never see it end.

Police Scotland could do a lot more to manage their behaviour. When I moved down south in mid-80s the police down there at games filmed away fans to monitor behaviour.

They should be recording the singing by the Union Bears and the Green Brigade most of whom were not even born when Bobby Sand went on hunger strike. Until they start behaving like adults, treat them like spoilt kids.

We supposedly have a top notch CCTV system in place at SMiSA Stadium. Maybe it’s gone the same way as the USH and Backup Generator. 

It’s imperative that we put our own house in order. Don’t give them the oxygen of “whataboutery”.

3CCC6C61-E5B2-4F93-AAE2-86FE60E95372.thumb.jpeg.1fff0dd054aaaefa6985650b3b3cdd04.jpeg

If this man doesn’t step down after being hit with such a charge, I can see a lot of St Mirren fans completely losing respect for him. 

Yes he’s made stupid mistakes, he should have known better & it is near inconceivable to me he’d make such a post in the Spring when he knew he’d be the new St Mirren chairman in the summer. But he still has the opportunity to leave with a shred of dignity if he puts his hands up & says ‘I’m not right for this role given the charges & reputational damage’ 

Time will tell but for me there’s no going back, even polarising St Mirren fans in such a way is very damaging. How many will possibly stop paying into SMISA? 

Anyway, back on topic, for me there is no excuse for JN's comments once he had assumed the position of Chairman of our club. Using the"what about them" argument just doesn't cut it for me. The day you can't maintain the moral high ground when compared to either Rangers or Celtic is the day to step away.

1 minute ago, WeeBud said:

I know fine the Brondby fans were also there causing bother, both sets of fans were "at it" to use your term and I was replying to your post where you were suggesting the trouble was all at the feet of the Brondby support....if you read back you also suggest that is was the Brondby fans that were being confrontational.

Where's your balance 🤷‍♂️ 

I have little/no interest in Rangers fans, or any other fans, until we are playing them.

It's an unhealthy pastime and all this is a smokescreen to deflect from the matter in hand.

I was mentioning the Brondby fans in reply the the earlier posts ONLY mentioning Rangers fans, that's the balance. 

Anyhow, I'm about to settle down and watch fitba before venturing out to watch us, have a good day. 

I have little/no interest in Rangers fans, or any other fans, until we are playing them.   Agree

It's an unhealthy pastime and all this is a smokescreen to deflect from the matter in hand.  Agree

I was mentioning the Brondby fans in reply the the earlier posts ONLY mentioning Rangers fans, that's the balance. Whataboutery in relation to any of my posts, I was only laughing at anyone thinking they could take anything Derek Johnstone say seriously but I'll let you off 😇

Anyhow, I'm about to settle down and watch fitba before venturing out to watch us, have a good day.    Enjoy and you have a good day too FS