8th Best run team in Europe

Scandinavian football finance website Off The Pitch has just announced its findings after its Europe-wide annual review of the economic health of the sport.

They found that two Premiership clubs are in the top ten best-run clubs on the continent – and Celtic and Rangers didn’t come close. Hibs came in at number six and St Mirren were just two places below them, with both clubs praised for adjusting to life without paying customers and living within their budget.

Celtic and Rangers left in shade as two Scottish Premiership rivals among 'best run clubs' - Daily Record

I'm sure everyone will join in with a well deserved round of applause for the people running our club.

@elvis - where art thou? :lol:

Just think a year ago, all the naysayers were running the club, our club, down. This is a tremendous achievement! Long may it continue. 

I have just noticed the website now provides a couple of options to help the club:

500932433_Screenshot2022-06-2018_50_48.thumb.png.79260069ca92605b7564aee77e852c0c.png

I will endeavour (but not pledge) to buy a ticket for a fellow Buddie each pay day. It's such a great scheme. It helps the club and it helps those experiencing hard times. My only hope is that the money will be used to help existing supporters - e.g. folk who have a history of purchasing tickets, but are now unemployed. I would feel resentful if it went to people who had never previously shown an interest in the Saints. Whilst attracting new support is obviously a good thing, there's always the possibility that those tickets will go to folk who have no affinity with Saint Mirren and no intention of actually supporting the club.

1 hour ago, W6er said:

Just think a year ago, all the naysayers were running the club, our club, down. This is a tremendous achievement! Long may it continue. 

I have just noticed the website now provides a couple of options to help the club:

500932433_Screenshot2022-06-2018_50_48.thumb.png.79260069ca92605b7564aee77e852c0c.png

I will endeavour (but not pledge) to buy a ticket for a fellow Buddie each pay day. It's such a great scheme. It helps the club and it helps those experiencing hard times. My only hope is that the money will be used to help existing supporters - e.g. folk who have a history of purchasing tickets, but are now unemployed. I would feel resentful if it went to people who had never previously shown an interest in the Saints. Whilst attracting new support is obviously a good thing, there's always the possibility that those tickets will go to folk who have no affinity with Saint Mirren and no intention of actually supporting the club.

Be interesting to see the definition/ criteria of a “buddie “ I would be using the tried and ancient method of asking them to recite the famous Paisley poem......keich bum tolly fart. Only those able to recite the full poem would be worthy.

2 hours ago, ALBIONSAINT said:

Be interesting to see the definition/ criteria of a “buddie “ I would be using the tried and ancient method of asking them to recite the famous Paisley poem......keich bum tolly fart. Only those able to recite the full poem would be worthy.

Widnae work.

Aw airts fae west o Scotland come oot wi it…. 

Glesca Greenock even Killie

5 hours ago, W6er said:

???

13 hours ago, W6er said:

Very generous of you W6er. I voted yes to this , so will support it too. I see where you are coming from but I will leave the mechanics of it to the club.

In a perfect world I would want to bring in - past or present supporters who can’t attend because of cost and people young and old who enjoy football but can’t attend because of cost (ideally with no strong affiliation to other Scottish teams). 

I suggest that it is the clubs and fans jobs to welcome them, the manager and team’s job to entertain them with the aim of them looking forward to coming back and telling others about their experience.

8 minutes ago, Rascal said:

In a perfect world I would want to bring in - past or present supporters who can’t attend because of cost and people young and old who enjoy football but can’t attend because of cost (ideally with no strong affiliation to other Scottish teams). 

I suggest that it is the clubs and fans jobs to welcome them, the manager and team’s job to entertain them with the aim of them looking forward to coming back and telling others about their experience.

I think we are all well aware of how to suck eggs…

36 minutes ago, antrin said:

I think we are all well aware of how to suck eggs…

Not an activity I have ever attempted, nor wish to. I think it would be quite difficult - a whole, boiled egg would be too large to comfortably fit in one's mouth and would be rather an unpleasant experience, possibly inducing panic or the fear of suffocation. Of course, you're free to suck whatever you want. :)

@Rascal - I wonder how one will qualify for it? If it's not means tested, I reckon we might see @faraway saint and @shull back in the ground! :lol:

Seriously, though, how does the club simultaneously preserve recipients' dignity and stop freeloaders from taking advantage? I mean, there's no shame in being in receipt of benefits, but some people may well find being asked to queue up with proof quite a demeaning experience. Again, I believe priority should go to those who've bought tickets in the past but have fallen on hard times - those people have supported the club, and it would be nice to return the favour. The whole idea is wonderful, it's just the implementation that may be difficult.

Edited by W6er

2 hours ago, W6er said:

@Rascal - I wonder how one will qualify for it? If it's not means tested, I reckon we might see @faraway saint and @shull back in the ground! :lol:

Seriously, though, how does the club simultaneously preserve recipients' dignity and stop freeloaders from taking advantage? I mean, there's no shame in being in receipt of benefits, but some people may well find being asked to queue up with proof quite a demeaning experience. Again, I believe priority should go to those who've bought tickets in the past but have fallen on hard times - those people have supported the club, and it would be nice to return the favour. The whole idea is wonderful, it's just the implementation that may be difficult.

Thought occurred to me ( it does happen). FS stays , well, far away. The drive might be too much. Imagine his suffering if he had to go two hours without posting on here. Mr S is a professional driver. Bingo! Mr S acts as his personal driver and brings him Rock Star style to the stadium. No offence to either, but I would pay for that. 

You are right - it’s the mechanics of the scheme from the recipients point of view that has to be dignified.

Eggs? Ostrich for me Mr A

2 hours ago, Rascal said:

Thought occurred to me ( it does happen). FS stays , well, far away. The drive might be too much. Imagine his suffering if he had to go two hours without posting on here. Mr S is a professional driver. Bingo! Mr S acts as his personal driver and brings him Rock Star style to the stadium. No offence to either, but I would pay for that. 

You are right - it’s the mechanics of the scheme from the recipients point of view that has to be dignified.

Eggs? Ostrich for me Mr A

This is how I envisage FS arriving in the Stadium. Announcer: “FS is in the building.” The crowd chant - “Faraway, Faraway”. Faraway shouts “I’m over here” and the crowd go wild. 

Edited by Rascal

On 6/21/2022 at 9:11 AM, W6er said:

Not an activity I have ever attempted, nor wish to. I think it would be quite difficult - a whole, boiled egg would be too large to comfortably fit in one's mouth and would be rather an unpleasant experience, possibly inducing panic or the fear of suffocation. Of course, you're free to suck whatever you want. :)

You've never sucked something that you were holding in your hand?

On 6/20/2022 at 6:18 PM, FTOF said:

Celtic and Rangers left in shade as two Scottish Premiership rivals among 'best run clubs' - Daily Record

I'm sure everyone will join in with a well deserved round of applause for the people running our club.

EBITDA looks at financial performance without considering some investments.  What it doesn't look at is things like customer experience, which in several areas is poor at St Mirren, for instance catering and ticketing.  It cant look at things like marketplace performance, in our case on-the-field.  

Considering how much windfalls in the form of transfer fees and COVID support affect our financial performance, it's not a great measure of financial performance for a football club.

21 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

EBITDA looks at financial performance without considering some investments.  What it doesn't look at is things like customer experience, which in several areas is poor at St Mirren, for instance catering and ticketing.  It cant look at things like marketplace performance, in our case on-the-field.  

Considering how much windfalls in the form of transfer fees and COVID support affect our financial performance, it's not a great measure of financial performance for a football club.

Don't other clubs get windfalls from their transfer fees and didn't they also receive COVID support?

I'm not suggesting the club are perfect but it seems you're not looking at this as an even playing field.