Liz Truss

We will take your word for it.
Any thoughts on “ education, NHS, public services, ferries, strikes, Prestwick, Hospital Scandals, Aluminium smelters, borderline sexual predator behaviour.”
Nope !! Guess so lets move on.

You should stop doing the last one or you may end up being thrown in the penultimate one.

The real issue I have is that we need a PM strong enough to make sure the BP's of the world are not making record profit and that the ones who can afford ot are supporting the economy. 

We also need to get out of this strike culture which is driving other businesses out of existence.

Nicola should be put in her box as the UK splitting up is horrendous for the UK and Scotland as we enter a recession.

We need strong decisive leadership and Sunak, Truss or Starmer if he won an election don't offer that. 

Edited by exiledfan

23 minutes ago, exiledfan said:

The real issue I have is that we need a PM strong enough to make sure the BP's of the world are not making record profit and that the ones who can afford ot are supporting the economy. 

Why shouldn't companies make profits?

It was only a couple of years they, and Shell, were LOSING billions, I don't recall any offers of help at that point?

These companies invest billions and, the vast majority of times, I don't grudge them one penny.

However, the recent rises in fuel bills for the public, with a percentage who already struggle, does raise some questions.

It should be noted that the vast majority of the profits BP make are from outwith the UK, so quoting their profits for the last quarter as some sort of cash cow for the UK isn't really a fair assertion. 

43 minutes ago, exiledfan said:

We also need to get out of this strike culture which is driving other businesses out of existence.

Nicola should be put in her box as the UK splitting up is horrendous for the UK and Scotland as we enter a recession.

We need strong decisive leadership and Sunak, Truss or Starmer if he won an election don't offer that. 

Those in power are all in cahoots with the rich and famous, MSM moguls, and “support” big businesses with tax breaks and all sorts of other advantages. 

You only need to look carefully at the PPE scandal to see who benefits. 

A Tory or a Labour government has drained Scotland dry for decades. 

Secret papers were produced  by the in power Labour government making sure that Scotland did not get to retain the revenue from oil. 

We could as an independent nation built up a Norway oil fund https://www.nbim.no/en/

which is currently valued at over £1 Trillion. 

No wonder a certain part of London looks completely different to how it was in 1980.

68D919E7-92F3-4A14-B5C6-6C3A3ED72D34.thumb.jpeg.526aa1b95e82ad71481f53b7ce7085cc.jpeg

Why shouldn't companies make profits?

It was only a couple of years they, and Shell, were LOSING billions, I don't recall any offers of help at that point?

These companies invest billions and, the vast majority of times, I don't grudge them one penny.

However, the recent rises in fuel bills for the public, with a percentage who already struggle, does raise some questions.

It should be noted that the vast majority of the profits BP make are from outwith the UK, so quoting their profits for the last quarter as some sort of cash cow for the UK isn't really a fair assertion. 

No issues with companies making profits however should they do it at the cost of families being able to eat ? 

These price hikes are off the scale. They are driven by the removal of the energy price cap. If sky TV done the same you would tell them to f**k off and they come back with a better deal or you leave .

We don't have that option with power. 

8 hours ago, exiledfan said:

No issues with companies making profits however should they do it at the cost of families being able to eat ? 

These price hikes are off the scale. They are driven by the removal of the energy price cap. If sky TV done the same you would tell them to f**k off and they come back with a better deal or you leave .

We don't have that option with power. 

Emotional tripe I'm afraid.

Using a small section of society, however tragic these families find themselves in, is a common approach.

I did mention this current situation does raise some issues but your description is NOT across the board and maybe you should look around you at the next football match you attend, it seems plenty find money for other pastimes. 

12 hours ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

Those in power are all in cahoots with the rich and famous, MSM moguls, and “support” big businesses with tax breaks and all sorts of other advantages. 

Secret papers were produced  by the in power Labour government making sure that Scotland did not get to retain the revenue from oil. 

We could as an independent nation built up a Norway oil fund https://www.nbim.no/en/

No wonder a certain part of London looks completely different to how it was in 1980.

68D919E7-92F3-4A14-B5C6-6C3A3ED72D34.thumb.jpeg.526aa1b95e82ad71481f53b7ce7085cc.jpeg

I love how your sweet naivety helps you really believe that an Independent.Scottish government would be different from all previous governments in history!

Bless!   :)

17 hours ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

What you see now they have cut the trees back is the City of London. One of the worlds largest net exporters in financial services. Money generates money.

It is not large buildings created by looting Scotland.

As for draining Scotland, have a look at the GERS figures

Scotland generated in 2020 65,155m in revenue inclusive of ALL North Sea oil revenue (56,185m without) In the same year Scotland spent 81,015m

In summary Scotland spent circa £16,000m more than they contributed.

That City you see in your photo has a population of 10.3m with an average annual wage of £37k Where as Scotland with a population of 5.5m has an average wage of circa £26.9k

Its fair to say that London generates more income tax, NI, Corporation Tax and VAT than Scotland and those buildings are contributing to helping the UK

It is estimated  that London contributes over 30% of the entire UK revenue. Maybe its London that’s being drained.

Are you now confused

21 hours ago, WeeBud said:

FFS......even I managed to find it online and I'm a bit of a technophobe!!

CONSTITUTION OF THE SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY (d3n8a8pro7vhmx.cloudfront.net)

15.7 The following specific provisions shall apply to both the Leader and Depute Leader: (a) The Leader and Depute Leader shall be elected annually in a vote of all members of the Party conducted in accordance with the Leadership Election Rules. (b) A candidate for Leader or Depute Leader must have the nominations of at least a hundred members, who must be drawn from at least twenty Branches. (c) Subject to their agreement, the incumbent Leader and Depute Leader shall automatically be deemed nominated for re-election. (d) Where only one candidate is nominated for Leader or Depute Leader, it shall not be necessary to hold an election as required by 15.7(a)

Pretty clear.

24 minutes ago, Brilliant Disguise said:

What you see now they have cut the trees back is the City of London. One of the worlds largest net exporters in financial services. Money generates money.

It is not large buildings created by looting Scotland.

As for draining Scotland, have a look at the GERS figures

Scotland generated in 2020 65,155m in revenue inclusive of ALL North Sea oil revenue (56,185m without) In the same year Scotland spent 81,015m

In summary Scotland spent circa £16,000m more than they contributed.

That City you see in your photo has a population of 10.3m with an average annual wage of £37k Where as Scotland with a population of 5.5m has an average wage of circa £26.9k

Its fair to say that London generates more income tax, NI, Corporation Tax and VAT than Scotland and those buildings are contributing to helping the UK

It is estimated  that London contributes over 30% of the entire UK revenue. Maybe its London that’s being drained.

Are you now confused

Given that you believe that these figures represent a true reflection of the circumstances, tell me this - why does England want to hold on to Scotland? 

8 minutes ago, Rascal said:

Given that you believe that these figures represent a true reflection of the circumstances, tell me this - why does England want to hold on to Scotland? 

Rascal i think you asked the wrong question. Why does London want to hold on to the UK. 

Separately if you believe the figures are not a true reflection please direct me to the correct figures.  

10 minutes ago, Rascal said:

It's the huntin', shootin' and fishing old boy.  They do own most of it, don't you know!

6 hours ago, antrin said:

I love how your sweet naivety helps you really believe that an Independent.Scottish government would be different from all previous governments in history!

Bless!   :)

Where did I say that a Scottish government would be different to all other countries?

I’d like to think it would perform better socially for it’s population than a Tory government. 

Never had you down as a staunch unionist. 🇬🇧 

Obviously you seem quite happy with all the Tory policies given you hold all the voting power.

Not everything is about finances. 

In Scotland we have a wealth of untapped natural resources. 

I expect where you live you will start to see restrictions in water supplies. 

Fires that we saw this summer burning down homes will become more common. Let’s hope you have enough water to put them out.

Maybe just lift the Thames Barrier!

Do you disagree with what the Norwegian Government have done to develop their country’s pension fund from oil revenues versus what the UK government has achieved?

Would you rather have Cross Rail, HS2, refurbishment of Westminster than deal with the poverty and inequality in this country?

You benefit from a hugely over inflated housing market the south east.

You could easily sell up and buy a castle and land in Scotland.

Think I spotted you on your last visit.

DE512273-E08F-47EB-A2D8-E82613002C47.thumb.jpeg.c4134ffbcd094270b5f2b97480cc5462.jpeg

Hope you don’t return as we have enough unionists as it is!

https://www.businessforscotland.com

A8B1A5FC-AC8A-4F95-86DB-E05D5D8DEC1F.jpeg.a0751d086e7179c8fdf0f4360ddfc100.jpeg

2 hours ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

Where did I say that a Scottish government would be different to all other countries?

I’d like to think it would perform better socially for it’s population than a Tory government. 

Never had you down as a staunch unionist. 🇬🇧 

Obviously you seem quite happy with all the Tory policies given you hold all the voting power.

Not everything is about finances. 

In Scotland we have a wealth of untapped natural resources. 

I expect where you live you will start to see restrictions in water supplies. 

Fires that we saw this summer burning down homes will become more common. Let’s hope you have enough water to put them out.

Maybe just lift the Thames Barrier!

Do you disagree with what the Norwegian Government have done to develop their country’s pension fund from oil revenues versus what the UK government has achieved?

Would you rather have Cross Rail, HS2, refurbishment of Westminster than deal with the poverty and inequality in this country?

You benefit from a hugely over inflated housing market the south east.

You could easily sell up and buy a castle and land in Scotland.

Think I spotted you on your last visit.

DE512273-E08F-47EB-A2D8-E82613002C47.thumb.jpeg.c4134ffbcd094270b5f2b97480cc5462.jpeg

Hope you don’t return as we have enough unionists as it is!

https://www.businessforscotland.com

A8B1A5FC-AC8A-4F95-86DB-E05D5D8DEC1F.jpeg.a0751d086e7179c8fdf0f4360ddfc100.jpeg

There you have it laid bare. If you dare to question the propaganda you are a Tory/unionist/not welcome. Then there is the resort to a personal insult when you have nothing of intelligent left to respond with. 

But don’t worry Scotland will perform better socially if it was independent…………………….provided you don’t open your mind and dare to question the rhetoric being spouted.

Brilliant that you quote so many nice things about Scotland however in relation to Energy you failed to note that Scottish Power is owned by a Spanish Company and SSE is owned by an English. Company. All that energy that we create goes in to the coffers of “foreign” companies.

The majority of all fish that is landed is owned/controlled by 2 very rich families.

You forgot to mention the large Whisky companies that are owned by the companies in France, England, Phillippines & America

That most timber is farmed on land opened by Private Investors that are not Scottish.

We also have the tidal wave sites sold to foreign investors. 

Lots of natural resources and sites being looted by “bloody foreigner’s” so they can build their skyscrapers in London.

Edited by Brilliant Disguise

Poor supersaints1877….   I’m a Scot.  I’m a socialist.  And I’m a Londoner.

(You know all this.  I’ve never hidden it.)

Many of the things that you wish for would be a benefit of a Socialist-led UK.  We just happen to communally inhabit an island that is currently controlled by a corrupt media pulling the strings of a rabidly right wing party that the island’s inhabitants voted into power.  

Labour has consistently been left with a wrecked economy every time they took over from Tories.  I am unhappy that it is unable to consistently win, retain power and build upon successes like the NHS and nationalised industries. 

Our media (which is owned and ruled by absentee, non tax-paying barons such as the Barclays, Rothermere and Murdoch) cons the voting public again and again into voting against their own best interests.

Admittedly, there have been occasional Labour leaders with whom I’ve been less than impressed.  What I also detest are arseholes willing to divide and conquer us and rip us apart.  We are all Jock Tamson’s Bairns.  

You are probably aware of the fact that a million (IMHO - stupid) Scots voted for Brexit?  Will they be shovelled down South or just tipped into the North Sea in a Scottish cleansing?

”not everything is about finances” and yet all the untapped resources need finances to utilise and exploit it… if indeed, as our communal planet starts to boil, we really need to exploit more oil, gas, timber?

I loved your seethe.

I loved your picture of an Orkney road sign.  Orkney, where one distillery was restarted (financed) by Japanese and the other financed by Pernod?  
Orkney - a great beneficiary of oil wealth that Orcadians consistently vote to stay out of the hands of the central Scotland Nationalist party. Orcadians are not daft.

I loved your wee coloured-writey cartoon list!

And we did sell up.  Over a year ago now.  But the weather up north is too awful to move there, which was part of my original motivation towards London… as well as it being a place of vitality, energy, opportunity and fun.

(Instead of buying a castle - and more land - I considered buying St Mirren and moving it a lot closer… would that make you happier, bud?)  :)

**** I see Brilliant Disguise has posted again. I do hope, supersaint1877, that you're not embarrassed by all this undeserved attention?  Or will it just provoke further irrelevant ad hominem attacks?  :(

typos

24 minutes ago, Brilliant Disguise said:

Lots of natural resources and sites being looted by “bloody foreigner’s” so they can build their skyscrapers in London.

Alongside some of mine!   :rolleyes:

A small niggle: equally important, I feel. 

There's no need for an apostrophe in “bloody foreigner’s”.

I hope this helps?

3 minutes ago, antrin said:

We just happen to communally inhabit an island that is currently controlled by a corrupt media pulling the strings of a rabidly right wing party that the island’s inhabitants voted into power.  

And how long since Scotland last voted in Tories? 

I don’t think I even brought Brexit up directly. 

As for the million Scots who voted in favour of Brexit? I’d hazard a guess that the majority of them were staunch Unionists who voted against independence in 2014. You know the type. The ones that support a certain football club that you have continued to seethe against more often than anyone else since 2012. Ten years of seethe.

Scotland requires immigration to grow and prosper. We need that resource to support our economy, agriculture, fishing industry, the NHS and so many other areas. 

A great number of our young people move south or abroad after leaving school or university. That creates an imbalance in our society. 

The majority of Scots did not vote for a Tory government or Brexit. How is it fair that such policies are forced on us?

Neither is good for the Scottish people or it’s economy. I am sure you agree.

42 minutes ago, Brilliant Disguise said:

There you have it laid bare. If you dare to question the propaganda you are a Tory/unionist/not welcome. Then there is the resort to a personal insult when you have nothing of intelligent left to respond with. 

But don’t worry Scotland will perform better socially if it was independent…………………….provided you don’t open your mind and dare to question the rhetoric being spouted.

Brilliant that you quote so many nice things about Scotland however in relation to Energy you failed to note that Scottish Power is owned by a Spanish Company and SSE is owned by an English. Company. All that energy that we create goes in to the coffers of “foreign” companies.

The majority of all fish that is landed is owned/controlled by 2 very rich families.

You forgot to mention the large Whisky companies that are owned by the companies in France, England, Phillippines & America

That most timber is farmed on land opened by Private Investors that are not Scottish.

We also have the tidal wave sites sold to foreign investors. 

I’m well aware of ownership of the list of companies you provided. That started as a result of Tory policies in the Thatcher era. The whole of the UK has been impacted by such privatisation and selling off key parts of our economy and infrastructure. The list is endless. 

Compare our country with Germany, Denmark or Norway.

Neither if you have even acknowledged this point….

Do you disagree with what the Norwegian Government have done to develop their country’s pension fund from oil revenues versus what the UK government has achieved?”

They have built up a fund of over 1 Trillion GBP direct from oil revenues. Where is our emergency fund?

21 minutes ago, antrin said:

A small niggle: equally important, I feel. 

There's no need for an apostrophe in “bloody foreigner’s”.

I hope this helps?

I’d not pick a fight with Stuart Dickson. He has violent tendencies. 

58 minutes ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

I’m well aware of ownership of the list of companies you provided. That started as a result of Tory policies in the Thatcher era. The whole of the UK has been impacted by such privatisation and selling off key parts of our economy and infrastructure. The list is endless. 

Compare our country with Germany, Denmark or Norway.

Neither if you have even acknowledged this point….

Do you disagree with what the Norwegian Government have done to develop their country’s pension fund from oil revenues versus what the UK government has achieved?”

They have built up a fund of over 1 Trillion GBP direct from oil revenues. Where is our emergency fund?

Another nationalist standard response. It’s all Thatchers fault. Christ she has not been in power since 1990. 32 later she is still getting rolled out to blame for Scotland selling its assets. Most of the assets i mentioned were sold to foreign owners after she had died in 2013

1 hour ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

And how long since Scotland last voted in Tories? 

I don’t think I even brought Brexit up directly. 

As for the million Scots who voted in favour of Brexit? I’d hazard a guess that the majority of them were staunch Unionists who voted against independence in 2014. You know the type. The ones that support a certain football club that you have continued to seethe against more often than anyone else since 2012. Ten years of seethe.

Scotland requires immigration to grow and prosper. We need that resource to support our economy, agriculture, fishing industry, the NHS and so many other areas. 

A great number of our young people move south or abroad after leaving school or university. That creates an imbalance in our society. 

The majority of Scots did not vote for a Tory government or Brexit. How is it fair that such policies are forced on us?

Neither is good for the Scottish people or it’s economy. I am sure you agree.

The majority of Scotland did not vote SNP in 2021. Also the majority of the UK never voted Tory in 2019. Unfortunately that’s how electoral democracy works in Scotland and the UK. The majority are always left with a government they never voted for.

The first part of the your post is offensive to the people who voted different to you. It’s as if their opinion does not matter nor count.

The 1m Scots voted to leave because they follow a certain team and they are bitter because they were liquidated in 2012. - You really need to start reading facts,  open your mind and stop believing the propaganda that gets peddled out.