The Dome

waldorf34

41 minutes ago, Slarti said:
1 hour ago, beyond our ken said:
Hypocrisy?  Do tell

Did you get yourself arrested for throwing two people down the stairs? No? Well then ...

I think it is about context, they had drunkenly come up the stairs looking for trouble, one of them attacked me and the other tried to get at me while i was dealing with his mate.

On relfection, maybe i should have put the kettle on and offered the use my toilet instead of the close.  And i did call the police who were happy to attend and see the area was clear.

I think it is about context, they had drunkenly come up the stairs looking for trouble, one of them attacked me and the other tried to get at me while i was dealing with his mate.
On relfection, maybe i should have put the kettle on and offered the use my toilet instead of the close.  And i did call the police who were happy to attend and see the area was clear.

Yes, it is about context but, seeing as you never presented it like that the first time, I think I was justified in my comment at the time.

What year was this happening, as I grew up down the road? I expect it was before my time, though.

i lived there from late 82 to May 86.  The police operation took place in 83 and we moved out within days of the incident on the stairs as i worked shifts and couln't be there to protect my family.

as for context

"when i had to chase  a bunch of 20-something twats who were pissing in the close at night, next thing there were 6 of them on the landing and i had to physically throw two of them down the first flight before the rest fled"

if you dont get that i was in a very threatening situation from that then I could fear for your safety on the streets, if I could be arsed.  

Just to add, these were men in their 20s, not a crowd of 20 and there had been between 6 and 12 of them outside the building from early evening.

37 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

i lived there from late 82 to May 86.  The police operation took place in 83 and we moved out within days of the incident on the stairs as i worked shifts and couln't be there to protect my family.

as for context

"when i had to chase  a bunch of 20-something twats who were pissing in the close at night, next thing there were 6 of them on the landing and i had to physically throw two of them down the first flight before the rest fled"

if you dont get that i was in a very threatening situation from that then I could fear for your safety on the streets, if I could be arsed.  

Just to add, these were men in their 20s, not a crowd of 20 and there had been between 6 and 12 of them outside the building from early evening.

It read to me like it was two separate situations and a crowd of around 20, but fair enough.

I was still there at that time (until 88).  These guys would have been a few years older than me but, for the life of me, I can't think who any of them would be.  Then again, I didn't know everybody.

5 minutes ago, Rascal said:

It’s a crying shame that an asset to the local community should be vandalised like this. If repaired, is there anything that can be done to make it more secure to prevent a recurrence?

Aye, situate it inside a large solid building.

1 hour ago, Slarti said:

It read to me like it was two separate situations and a crowd of around 20, but fair enough.

I was still there at that time (until 88).  These guys would have been a few years older than me but, for the life of me, I can't think who any of them would be.  Then again, I didn't know everybody.

Sorry i mentioned any of this, the thread is about the dome

2 hours ago, Rascal said:

That would be replaced rather than repaired but sounds like the ideal solution. A multi purpose space.

Naw, you repair it and inflate it inside a building big enough to accommodate it.  I mean, you could just use the building, but where's the fun in that.

8 minutes ago, MenstrieSaint said:

They could probably stick a sports barn type thing in its place . A very basic structure that's unheated , but would keep out the snow and rain and allow training to take place. 

Sensible suggestion imo. Maybe a joint project for the Club, Kibble and the Foundation?

4 hours ago, MenstrieSaint said:

They could probably stick a sports barn type thing in its place . A very basic structure that's unheated , but would keep out the snow and rain and allow training to take place. 

I think anything that's built would need electrics. Heating, and lighting, even if its minimal is something that's needed to allow the use of the area 365.

On 9/12/2022 at 7:35 PM, Callum Gilhooley said:

You could say that about anything I suppose ,  does that mean we do without a community asset because of morons ? 
I think the Dome is great and has served us well , I’d like to see it replaced  but id rather we replace it with a more permanent structure but again it all comes down to cost .

It's a real shame as its is a unique facility within the community and houses many kids football run events, charitable causes and obviously like yourself, the repeat weekly booking slots. I think cheapest replacement would be to turn it into an outdoor 7s/8s pitch, though ideally a permanent indoor facility would be better.

The upkeep on the dome due to the elements and this recent issue, must be costing the club not only on repairs, though weeks and weeks of bookings that wouod have already been in place.

It's time the club made a statement  about its future.

1 if it's done, it needs to raise probably  £5k to £10k for a design  of a permanent  solution ( if Smisa members allowed 1 month of their subscriptions  it would cover it ) or through a Just Giving social media appeal.

2 Only when we have this will we know the cost of the replacement.

3 its then that the Club/Charitable  Foundation/Smisa/Kibble can start chasing funding from the Lottery  /Council/and us the supporters  .

4 if we are serious  about being a community club ,doing nothing is not acceptable. 

On 9/16/2022 at 10:56 AM, kevo_smfc said:

It's a real shame as its is a unique facility within the community and houses many kids football run events, charitable causes and obviously like yourself, the repeat weekly booking slots. I think cheapest replacement would be to turn it into an outdoor 7s/8s pitch, though ideally a permanent indoor facility would be better.

The upkeep on the dome due to the elements and this recent issue, must be costing the club not only on repairs, though weeks and weeks of bookings that wouod have already been in place.

Giffnock soccer just got themselves £250k in funding for 2 new 3g pitches ,maybe they could show our club how to go about getting external funding  ,cos our lot have no idea !

On 9/22/2022 at 12:25 PM, waldorf34 said:

It's time the club made a statement  about its future.

1 if it's done, it needs to raise probably  £5k to £10k for a design  of a permanent  solution ( if Smisa members allowed 1 month of their subscriptions  it would cover it ) or through a Just Giving social media appeal.

2 Only when we have this will we know the cost of the replacement.

3 its then that the Club/Charitable  Foundation/Smisa/Kibble can start chasing funding from the Lottery  /Council/and us the supporters  .

4 if we are serious  about being a community club ,doing nothing is not acceptable. 

31 minutes ago, waldorf34 said:

Giffnock soccer just got themselves £250k in funding for 2 new 3g pitches ,maybe they could show our club how to go about getting external funding  ,cos our lot have no idea !

Mibbee you could offer your expertise in this department.
As I recall you were an expert In What we own & what we can build on the area covered by the dome and how many millions can be pumped into this from our mega rich benefactors. 

I look forward to your detailed submission. 😂😂😂

Edited by Callum Gilhooley