Gary Lineker

beyond our ken

44 minutes ago, Scott-Leeds said:

Immigration ;

We are experiencing the impact hugely of immigration down here.

It’s too easy for high profile people who are wealthy to say keep them coming in !

We are all for helping people, no doubt.

I’m not sure where they expect them all to be put.

Many immigrants pass through multiple safe countries before arriving in Britain.

The system allows it. Tens of thousands currently being housed in hotels : zero contribution to the costs.

Some down here have been in hotels around 3 years, where exactly are we going to house them and at whose expense?

It affects the whole country, if you have a hotel that caters for refugees in your area then it is unlikely you have a Tory MP.  It is the whole world's problem.  Remeber that conquest and pillage for thousands of years caused the mess we are in just now.  If this country benefitted from colonialism then it has a duty to help resolve some of the issues that arise.Afghanistan, Iraq, Syria and countless other places and think that there is no earthly reason why anyone would want to live in them.  Hot, dry, dusty, remote, barren.  It's no wonder people want to move to better areas.  I've done it, it seems you may have done it and the planet doesn't really belong to anyone

It's freakin desperate in some places.   

While I applaud Lineker's stand and the "pundits'" backing him, it will be interesting to see the reaction of the general public to a football show which will be centred around the onfield action rather than snippets of a game followed by innate ramblings and over in depth analysis of the game by overpaid former footballers.

They just might be digging themselves the proverbial grave if the new format gets more viewers and positive reviews.

The BBC have changed their rules to include "high profile" presenters. WTF constitute low profile? Do those who front shows like bargain hunt or Escape to the country count as high or low profile? Surely EVERY presenter is high profile in some circles? I'm certain there would have been some people who would have found it difficult to pick Lineker out of a line. Not so much now though as he has become ULTRA high profile now and his statement is far more widely viewed.

Spoilt brats the lot of them, must be great to have such a secure income (our licence fee) that you can turn down work because of your “principles “ I don’t think I would have ever worked for anyone if it was up to my principles. Hope the BBC rips up there contracts and replaces them all with proper presenters. Can you imagine Jimmy Hill or Arthur Montford behaving like this? No class. 

1 hour ago, beyond our ken said:

It affects the whole country, if you have a hotel that caters for refugees in your area then it is unlikely you have a Tory MP.  It is the whole world's problem.  Remeber that conquest and pillage for thousands of years caused the mess we are in just now.  If this country benefitted from colonialism then it has a duty to help resolve some of the issues that arise.Afghanistan, Iraq, Syria and countless other places and think that there is no earthly reason why anyone would want to live in them.  Hot, dry, dusty, remote, barren.  It's no wonder people want to move to better areas.  I've done it, it seems you may have done it and the planet doesn't really belong to anyone

It's freakin desperate in some places.   

That is a big if. 

11 hours ago, BuddieinEK said:

Linaker shared personal thoughts, which I and the vast majority of people with a modicum of conscience and compassion agree with. 

The BBC are doffing the bunnet to their paymasters. Unnecessary. 

The unity and solidarity of the other presenters tells a story.

Solidarity. 

Sorry EK but got to disagree on a couple of points here, “he shared personal thoughts “ personal thoughts are what they say in the tin, personal, they cease to be personal when you broadcast them to millions of others via social media.

The comment he made likening the current government’s illegal immigration policy to Hitlers national socialist government of the 1930s is very offensive to the Jewish community in Britain and beyond. The comment diminishes and minimises the plight of Jews, Roma and many others who suffered during Hitlers reign. 

You speak of compassion and conscience, the British taxpayer via the government is currently saving people in the English Channel from drowning on a daily basis that are crossing from a safe country (France) they are then housing them in hotels which the taxpayer is funding at a cost of £6 million a week,  they will then be given the legal right to apply for British citizenship. Does that sound like Hitlers Germany? 

with regards to conscience and solidarity, did it play a part in Gary commentating for the BBC in Quatar? No, his morals are obviously for sale to the highest bidder. 

1 minute ago, ALBIONSAINT said:

Sorry EK but got to disagree on a couple of points here, “he shared personal thoughts “ personal thoughts are what they say in the tin, personal, they cease to be personal when you broadcast them to millions of others via social media.

The comment he made likening the current government’s illegal immigration policy to Hitlers national socialist government of the 1930s is very offensive to the Jewish community in Britain and beyond. The comment diminishes and minimises the plight of Jews, Roma and many others who suffered during Hitlers reign. 

You speak of compassion and conscience, the British taxpayer via the government is currently saving people in the English Channel from drowning on a daily basis that are crossing from a safe country (France) they are then housing them in hotels which the taxpayer is funding at a cost of £6 million a week,  they will then be given the legal right to apply for British citizenship. Does that sound like Hitlers Germany? 

Clapping GIFs | Tenor

1 hour ago, ALBIONSAINT said:

HE IS NOT A BBC EMPLOYEE - HE IS A FREELANCER. HE SHARED HIS PERSONAL - AND ACCURATE OPINIONS ON TWITTER JUST LIKE SO MANY OTHER BBC HIRED HANDS, SUCH AS Andrew Neil and Alan Sugar. LOUD-MOUTHED RIGHT-WING FARTS THAT THE BBC NEVER EVER CENSORS - BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT BBC EMPLOYEES.

HIS ACTUAL WORDS, WITH REGARD TO THE VILE GOVERNMENT ANNOUNCEMENT, WERE:  

“This is godawful. There is no huge influx. We take far fewer refugees than other major European countries. This is just an immeasurably cruel policy directed at the most vulnerable people in language that is not dissimilar to that used by Germany in the 30s, and I’m out of order?”

I’VE BEEN PLEASED TO READ SEVERAL COMMENTS FROM PEOPLE OF JEWISH AND ROMA COMMUNITIES AGREEING WITH HIS INTERPRETATION OF WHAT THIS GOVERNMENT IS DOING.

THERE ARE TWO MAIN REASONS WHY DESPERATE PEOPLE WITH LEGITIMATE RIGHTS TO CLAIM ASYLUM IN THE UK HAVE TO COME IN BY SUCH DANGEROUS ROUTES.  1.  THIS GOVERNMENT HAS SHUT DOWN ALL THE LEGITIMATE CHANNELS.  2.  THIS GOVERNMENT REFUSES TO ACCEPT FRENCH HELP TO ESTABLISH LEGITIMATE CHANNELS IN FRANCE.

AND THAT WOULD BE CHEAPER! AS WELL AS CONSCIENTIOUS, COMPASSIONATE AND SIMPLER.

(BTW REFUGEES CAN CLAIM ASYLUM IN ANY COUNTRY - NOT SIMPLY THE FIRST ONE THEY REACH.)

with regards to conscience and solidarity, did it play a part in Gary commentating for the BBC in Quatar? No, his morals are obviously for sale to the highest bidder. 

HE SPOKE OUT ABOUT THE QATARI PROBLEMS - AND THE BBC ACCEPTED THAT - PROBABLY COS IT SUITED THE TORY GOVERNMENT, AT THE TIME.

Spoilt brats the lot of them, must be great to have such a secure income (our licence fee) that you can turn down work because of your “principles “

So you've never taken industrial action then? Because as I see it they've withdrawn their services on principle as you would do by going on strike.

Sunak has agreed with Macron that he UK will shovel more money at not addressing our responsibilities.  

Sunak promised to pay France €541mn (£478mn) over three years to support increased police patrols, a new detention centre and expanded drone surveillance of beaches around Dunkirk and Calais.

From the FT.
Aye… a sensible action that’ll solve ALL the problems currently ignored by this current  “government”.

Aye, the Jews are supportive of Lineker............

https://www.thejc.com/news/news/shame-on-you-holocaust-survivor-tells-lineker-over-asylum-policy-tweet-4zb8cBppRtzYvTlwpQUNos

A founding trustee of the Holocaust Memorial Day Trust (HMDT) is among a number of prominent Jews to hit out at ex-footballer and BBC pundit Gary Lineker over his tweet comparing the language being used to talk about UK’s asylum plans to 1930s Germany. 

6 hours ago, ALBIONSAINT said:

The oppression of Jews didn't start with extermination of Jews or transportation to concentration camps.  It started with talk, escalated through minor acts of violence through to terrorism and on to genocide.  At which stop on the route do you suggest we speak out,? cos it seems that the lesson of history is that allowing these things to fester leads to a situation where it is no longer possible to speak out. 

Right now, the stop we are at is the suppression of free-speech by right wing politicians supported by their media allies, we have already witnessed the effect that lies and deliberate misinformation had in Liverpool where we were pretty close to a riot outside refugee accommodation.  There are no gas chambers just now but we are at the same early stage where power is siezed and then retained through the demonisation of a minority.

Lest we forget, before the holocaust an awful lot of decent people were silenced, oppressed and murdered as the conditions for the genocide were prepared and many of them were not Jewish.  I don't get how it's wrong to speak out and cite that particular lesson from history now before things get even more unpleasant.

6 hours ago, alanb said:

Other jews are available

in a way, Alanb…

yes, “other Jews” are available…

but I’m sure Joan would suggest that a myriad other persecuted, harassed, reviled, innocent other humans are being ground into the same shit by “our” government

Joan’s been my friend… since the 90s.  Wonderful woman.

An ordinary, witty, intelligent woman, great husband, 2 lovely daughters.

But Joan’s life story wasn’t allowed to be ordinary… it is way beyond amazing - because a catastrophe conjured up by right wing f**kin fascist politicians blaming a wee sector of society for all their failures happened - while she was a child.

She was eventually bundled over the French/Spanish border (the f**kin Pyrenees!) in midwinter, under 5 yo, not even aware that her parents were being dumped into concentration camps.

Thanks to the kindness of strangers, she survived. And flourished.  

And eventually became a hard-working, community-minded Brit of whom we should be proud.

Fascism has to be stamped on, at source.

As long as MOTD is still on, the tiny-minded will be content.

13 hours ago, ALBIONSAINT said:

Spoilt brats the lot of them, must be great to have such a secure income (our licence fee) that you can turn down work because of your “principles “ I don’t think I would have ever worked for anyone if it was up to my principles. Hope the BBC rips up there contracts and replaces them all with proper presenters. Can you imagine Jimmy Hill or Arthur Montford behaving like this? No class. 

Surely you are on the wind up