• Replies 198
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Posted
1 hour ago, elvis said:

Need to hope it comes back down in next few days.

Wouldn't think so.

My neighbour's daughter was paid £400 by an airline to simply watch the 2nd half of Rangers v Leipzig in '22 and re-enter hiked prices
for UK to Spain flights should Rangers make the Europa League final.
Opportunist scumbags.

Posted (edited)
8 hours ago, WeeBud said:

Poor you, it was exactly the same for everyone and wee groups was never going to work…..it really isn’t the club’s fault that only 76 tickets were available. Hopefully a few more might come up if they don’t sell all the home tickets but St Mirren did say from day one it would be individually drawn.

And they shouldn't have. If families ALWAYS order tickets as a group then there should have been a method of putting them in the hat as a group. When I got the "successful" email, nowhere on it did it even tell me for whom, or how many, tickets we'd actually got and there was no answer to my phone calls. I had to go to the ticket office only to be told my wife was the only successful applicant in our block. It actually took some prodding to get them to make sure a 12 to 17 year old would be accompanied FFS, It was a shambles.

Posted
15 minutes ago, stlucifer said:

And they shouldn't have. If families ALWAYS order tickets as a group then there should have been a method of putting them in the hat as a group. When I got the "successful" email, nowhere on it did it even tell me for whom, or how many, tickets we'd actually got and there was no answer to my phone calls. I had to go to the ticket office only to be told my wife was the only successful applicant in our block. It actually took some prodding to get them to make sure a 12 to 17 year old would be accompanied FFS, It was a shambles.

So one draw out the hat should be lucky for a group of three, some sense of entitlement there. I agree re 12-17 year olds right enough but it wouldn’t be fair just to cut them out of the draw altogether, they could maybe have set five pairs of tickets aside for parent and child and done a separate draw.

For the record, out of all my pals (all who have been following the club for forty plus years), our kids and in some cases grandkids only one got a ticket…..we’re all delighted for him. It’s shit that we’ve drawn a team that are only obligated to give over 76 tickets but that’s not St Mirren’s doing, our club are in a no win situation here but that won’t satisfy the “poor me” mob.

Posted
2 hours ago, WeeBud said:

So one draw out the hat should be lucky for a group of three, some sense of entitlement there. I agree re 12-17 year olds right enough but it wouldn’t be fair just to cut them out of the draw altogether, they could maybe have set five pairs of tickets aside for parent and child and done a separate draw.

For the record, out of all my pals (all who have been following the club for forty plus years), our kids and in some cases grandkids only one got a ticket…..we’re all delighted for him. It’s shit that we’ve drawn a team that are only obligated to give over 76 tickets but that’s not St Mirren’s doing, our club are in a no win situation here but that won’t satisfy the “poor me” mob.

Very well put.

Posted

In the context of such a low allocation, it's hard for the club to find a way that feels fair for all.  The wider context is different though and I'd have some sympathy for the family groups here, we have had larger limited allocations for games in the past and it has been relatively easy for groups to purchase as a unit and I hope that applications for family groups at least are accepted as a single application and allocated on that basis.  There should be a limit though.  Maybe up to 2 adult tickets and 1 child per adult can be linked.

I didn't apply for this ballot, but will definitely be in for subsequent ties, if they happen and within reason.

Posted
2 hours ago, beyond our ken said:

In the context of such a low allocation, it's hard for the club to find a way that feels fair for all.  The wider context is different though and I'd have some sympathy for the family groups here, we have had larger limited allocations for games in the past and it has been relatively easy for groups to purchase as a unit and I hope that applications for family groups at least are accepted as a single application and allocated on that basis.  There should be a limit though.  Maybe up to 2 adult tickets and 1 child per adult can be linked.

I didn't apply for this ballot, but will definitely be in for subsequent ties, if they happen and within reason.

What would be the difference between say a family group (to use your 2 Adults and 1 Child) against three pals who always go and book together.......the club have allowed for 12-17 year olds to attach to "an" adult (admittedly they took a bit of prompting). Other than "parent/guardian and child (for obvious safety reasons)" I can't see why any demographic should have had any priority over another with so few tickets available.

Posted
45 minutes ago, WeeBud said:

What would be the difference between say a family group (to use your 2 Adults and 1 Child) against three pals who always go and book together.......the club have allowed for 12-17 year olds to attach to "an" adult (admittedly they took a bit of prompting). Other than "parent/guardian and child (for obvious safety reasons)" I can't see why any demographic should have had any priority over another with so few tickets available.

At no point did i suggest a preference for families, only that they should be accepted as one application that would be granted or rejected as such.  You pretty much made the same suggestion yourself. On the basis that the ballot is restricted to season ticket holders they would often be registered as a group anyway.  As you said earlier, there could be a limited number set aside for that ballot

As for the groups of pals, we are talking about grown adults here and they should accept things as they are in this scenario.  I know many people who have booked their season ticket seats as one group, it's almost the norm for some sections.  It would never be right that up to a dozen adults would be able to get a ticket based on one lucky member of that group coming up trumps

Unrealistic expectations have been set here, though I don't blame the club.  Everyone wanted to go to the first Euro match for decades but that was very quickly snuffed out and the presumption on a 76 ticket ballot should always have been that you would be unlucky.

I didn't apply but maybe should have, that lucky ticket would have been worth several times face value and paid for me and my son to go to the next round away leg.

The main gripe here seems to be based on a perceived lack of planning, structuring of the ballot and lack of communications, they are all things the club could be a bit smarter on.

Posted
2 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

At no point did i suggest a preference for families, only that they should be accepted as one application that would be granted or rejected as such.  You pretty much made the same suggestion yourself. On the basis that the ballot is restricted to season ticket holders they would often be registered as a group anyway.  As you said earlier, there could be a limited number set aside for that ballot

As for the groups of pals, we are talking about grown adults here and they should accept things as they are in this scenario.  I know many people who have booked their season ticket seats as one group, it's almost the norm for some sections.  It would never be right that up to a dozen adults would be able to get a ticket based on one lucky member of that group coming up trumps

Unrealistic expectations have been set here, though I don't blame the club.  Everyone wanted to go to the first Euro match for decades but that was very quickly snuffed out and the presumption on a 76 ticket ballot should always have been that you would be unlucky.

I didn't apply but maybe should have, that lucky ticket would have been worth several times face value and paid for me and my son to go to the next round away leg.

The main gripe here seems to be based on a perceived lack of planning, structuring of the ballot and lack of communications, they are all things the club could be a bit smarter on.

That's a preference right there (in bold), every one else is "man for themselves" but hey-ho one email out the hat gets you three tickets. What I suggested was maybe to have five "parent and child" tickets but that was just a thought. Where would you draw the line with regards to family groups on one email.....3, 4, 5 children and two adults, it would just be unworkable. 

I agree there is no easy answer, and it's certainly not the club's fault, but other than for safeguarding (again parent/guardian and child) there should be no priority order imo.......that's from someone who did enter the ballot along with three family members and a bunch of pals and their relatives and as stated earlier only one person got a ticket.

I had the privilege of going to the Euro's this year with my wife and daughter and it was a great experience but we all had to apply separately (my daughter sneaked in by 1 loyalty point but not everyone on her points got tickets). Had she not made the requisite points or been lucky enough on the online ticket application she wouldn't have been there and although disappointed wouldn't have felt disadvantaged.

Fingers crossed we get through and get something similar to Killie's tie with Brugges

Posted
10 hours ago, WeeBud said:

One ticket is no use to us, hence why we refused it in plenty of time to allow someone else to get and early shot at it. I realise there weren't a lot of tickets but the club could have made an allowance for families, even if it were just a couple of them. There was no chance of any of us going on our own. Add to this the confusion it drew when I got an email stating I had been successful without clarifying. Until I finally managed to get down to the ticket office I had no idea if we had one, two or three tickets as my grandson comes under the 12 to 17 category.

Posted
2 hours ago, stlucifer said:

One ticket is no use to us, hence why we refused it in plenty of time to allow someone else to get and early shot at it. I realise there weren't a lot of tickets but the club could have made an allowance for families, even if it were just a couple of them. There was no chance of any of us going on our own. Add to this the confusion it drew when I got an email stating I had been successful without clarifying. Until I finally managed to get down to the ticket office I had no idea if we had one, two or three tickets as my grandson comes under the 12 to 17 category.

I almost feel like it’s me being selfish here but why should family’s have priority over anyone else, baring in mind I have a family full of Saints fans. I accept, and suggested, a few “parent/guardian and child tickets”  but other than that a one email address one ticket system seems fairest. Add to that that the club announced how it would work in advance (one season ticket per entry),  I just feel it’s a wee bit bleat and whine time when it doesn’t fall the way people want it.

Posted

Great news that it looks as though there will be 900 seats available in the north stand for the home support. We don't want to be locking out any fans we don't need to for one of our biggest games. The biggest home crowd in Paisley in over 15 years. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, White Cart Saint said:

Great news that it looks as though there will be 900 seats available in the north stand for the home support. We don't want to be locking out any fans we don't need to for one of our biggest games. The biggest home crowd in Paisley in over 15 years. 

👌🏁

Posted

Their ticketing system is a bit weird 😵 
Friday evening they were showing just 4 tickets which increased to around 20 during Saturday and now is close to 100.
You'd think once they were bought they'd stay bought, can only guess their season ticket holders get first option but those declined become for general sale on the ticketing site.

Posted
19 minutes ago, WirralSaint said:

Their ticketing system is a bit weird 😵 
Friday evening they were showing just 4 tickets which increased to around 20 during Saturday and now is close to 100.
You'd think once they were bought they'd stay bought, can only guess their season ticket holders get first option but those declined become for general sale on the ticketing site.

That’s what I was thinking. 

Unless they’re cancelling tickets registered to UK phone number. I’m sure we’d have heard of someone if that was happening though. 

It was always going to be fine for tickets in the end when the reality of flights prices and general expense hit home. The irony is that Saints will possibly be left with tickets now that folk have bought directly.  Unless there’s enough people that want to take up a ticket from saints in coming days and forego their home end ticket. 

Posted

Potential opponents if we're fortunate enough to progress to the next round.

Group 2

Seeded
1 Legia Warszawa (POL) or Caernarfon Town FC (WAL)
2 Go Ahead Eagles (NED) or SK Brann (NOR)
3 KuPS Kuopio (FIN) or Tromsø IL (NOR)
4 HNK Hajduk Split (CRO) or HB Tórshavn (FRO)
5 F91 Diddeleng (LUX) or BK Häcken (SWE)

Unseeded
6 Valur (ISL) or St Mirren FC (SCO)
7 Kilmarnock FC (SCO) or Cercle Brugge KSV (BEL)
8 Brøndby IF (DEN) or KF Llapi 1932 (KOS)
9 Stjarnan (ISL) or Paide Linnameeskond (EST)
10 MFK Ružomberok (SVK) or Trabzonspor A.Ş. (TUR)

Posted
55 minutes ago, FTOF said:

Potential opponents if we're fortunate enough to progress to the next round.

Group 2

Seeded
1 Legia Warszawa (POL) or Caernarfon Town FC (WAL)
2 Go Ahead Eagles (NED) or SK Brann (NOR)
3 KuPS Kuopio (FIN) or Tromsø IL (NOR)
4 HNK Hajduk Split (CRO) or HB Tórshavn (FRO)
5 F91 Diddeleng (LUX) or BK Häcken (SWE)

Unseeded
6 Valur (ISL) or St Mirren FC (SCO)
7 Kilmarnock FC (SCO) or Cercle Brugge KSV (BEL)
8 Brøndby IF (DEN) or KF Llapi 1932 (KOS)
9 Stjarnan (ISL) or Paide Linnameeskond (EST)
10 MFK Ružomberok (SVK) or Trabzonspor A.Ş. (TUR)

We would be big underdogs against any of the seeded sides. KuPS/Tromso would probably give us the best chance. That's assuming we can get there, Valur will be a very tough tie. 

Posted (edited)

Has anyone who got a ticket in the ballot been informed as to how to get the ticket yet I have not heard a thing since being told I had been picked.I filled in the form confirming I would br going. 

Edited by elvis