linwood buddie Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 Near enough a free header Gogic never got the chance to get off his feet. Quote
Churchill Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 3-1! But you scared us! Really you did!!!! Quote
linwood buddie Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 Shocking muck up by us there , handed them that goal . Best team over the tie they more and deserve the win. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 Just now, linwood buddie said: Shocking muck up by us there , handed them that goal . Best team over the tie they more and deserve the win. Aye, the young lad should have left it. Quote
bazil85 Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 Ah well, really just levels above us. Would have been nice to hold that to extra time & see what happens but not to be. Quote
Nigerian Panda Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 Don’t give a flying f@@k I’m proud of my team and their performance. Unlucky lads that’s for the journey 👍 Quote
BanburyBud Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 The score doesn’t reflect the tie! Poor poor defending. Gogic way off it tonight and Fraser way out of his depth tonight. Thought Rooney, particularly in first half and Olusanya worked tirelessly for us. Ayunga non existent. The adventure is over and thanks but it’s back to reality unfortunately. possibly Gogic not 100% fit. well done to the fans and have enjoyed the ride. just hope it doesn’t dent the confidence too much Quote
Nigerian Panda Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 Where is Elvis spewing 🤮 his usual shit! Quote
portmahomack saint Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 1 minute ago, bazil85 said: Ah well, really just levels above us. Would have been nice to hold that to extra time & see what happens but not to be. Not tonight they weren't Quote
StanleySaint Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 After last week the result isn't unexpected I hope the players enjoyed the experience as much as the fans and it spurs them on for another taste of it. Well done to everyone who travelled to both away games. Quote
Churchill Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 1 minute ago, portmahomack saint said: Not tonight they weren't Totally agree. Your guys really deserved a better result today. What a performance from your team! What a fighting spirit and what power you came with. After the first match I thought this would be easy, but your boys really made us work for it. Today Brann were lucky to win! Quote
Balmullo Bud Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 (edited) Great effort from the team tonight. I was starting to believe with 10 to go. 3-1 not a fair reflection and thought we gave them a real game. They edged it but could of gone either way. Would’ve liked a crack at them with a full fit team. Hopefully we can find the energy and lift it on Sunday and get a result against the Arabs. Big game. Edited August 15, 2024 by Balmullo Bud Quote
Smithers Jones Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 The better team won over the two legs , thought they played better in Paisley and we were certainly better tonight. Enjoyable while it lasted. Quote
northstbuddie Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 (edited) Proud of the boys tonight and their performance and effort - especially compared to last week when we failed to turn up. However, there was quite a gulf in class between the 2 teams. Brann would be competing for top spot in Scotland. They were still so much sharper and fitter and their skill on the ball was impressive. Wish them well for the rest of the competition. Edited August 15, 2024 by northstbuddie Quote
faraway saint Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 2 minutes ago, Smithers Jones said: The better team won over the two legs , thought they played better in Paisley and we were certainly better tonight. Enjoyable while it lasted. Aye, I thought we showed enough tonight to take it to extra time. Slightly more annoying after gifting them 75 minutes last week. Quote
bazil85 Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 14 minutes ago, portmahomack saint said: Not tonight they weren't I would say over the two legs, you could tell they were significantly better. Even not playing particularly well tonight, they controlled big portions of the game. Over two legs, they beat any team in Scotland below Celtic IMO. Quote
Churchill Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 You lost today after a hell of a fight while Kilmarnock beat another Norwegian team and went through. Just so you know; your result and effort is far mor impressive! Quote
beyond our ken Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 When you are battling like that there is always a chance, as long as everyone pulls their weight to the same extent Couple of players who are just not at SPFL top 6 level, yes that leaves 9 who are doing us proud but you need all 11 to compete at a higher level in this kind of tie Wee Fraser is on the road to being a legend Quote
guinness Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 (edited) Overall I thought we played pretty well. Still a bit short of pace in midfield and need a clinical striker. So does everyone else. Young Fraser did quite well when he came on but will have to learn the negative side of his role. Gogic struggled first half but as usual never gave up and worked tiredlessly. Smyth still looks a bit slow but certainly know where the goal is. Goalie was very good again. Team lost a couple of poor goals but kept plugging away. Do not think Brann are quite as good as we made them look in the first leg. They also need a finisher. Overall it was an entertaining match. Thought the coverage on Solid sport was very good. Better picture than I get from Scottish matches. Edited August 15, 2024 by guinness Quote
beyond our ken Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 23 minutes ago, portmahomack saint said: Not tonight they weren't Not levels above at all, but they did have all 11 firing when we had a couple who were shaded A better striker is needed to complement Toyosi, Gogic is more valuable as a defensive mid and I'm hoping he gets that gig when Iacovitti is ready for 90 minutes We need to see more come down the left side as well Quote
stlucifer Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 38 minutes ago, northstbuddie said: Proud of the boys tonight and their performance and effort - especially compared to last week when we failed to turn up. However, there was quite a gulf in class between the 2 teams. Brann would be competing for top spot in Scotland. They were still so much sharper and fitter and their skill on the ball was impressive. Wish them well for the rest of the competition. That's a wee bit of a sweeping statement. They are well into their season while we are in the fledgling's. I don't think they were that far ahead of us in quality and, when we scored, I honestly thought we were the team that might steal it which is exactly what they did. Deserved winners over the two legs but tonight was a lot closer. Brann would likely be classed as "top six" candidates in Scotland but not, AFAIC, likely challengers for top spot. All in all, a far better performance from Saints and unlucky to lose by two on the night. I hope the players take some solace from the praise the supporters are giving them and kick on from here and try to give us another chance to enjoy a European adventure. IF they do we will undoubtably be doing so minus what has turned out to be a fantastic management team. Being a Paisley lad, I needed to dampen things down. (NO. I'm not related to Elvis). Quote
Hunterian Posted August 15, 2024 Report Posted August 15, 2024 I thought that was a brilliant game, especially the second half. Indeed considering many thought we’d get hosed it was incredible. This looks promising for the rest of the season given we’ll play against much worse back home. No doubt though, Brann deserved it over the 2 games but we definitely saved the best for last! Quote