faraway saint Posted August 8, 2024 Report Posted August 8, 2024 The first game of the season for me, and as we've had considerable success in the last few seasons I've got plenty of hope we can get another result up in Aberdeen. Hopefully we'll have had another great European result under our belts before this game and the momentum continues. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 10, 2024 Author Report Posted August 10, 2024 We're a generous 14/5 for tomorrow. Got to have a wee bit of that. 🙄 Quote
stlucifer Posted August 10, 2024 Report Posted August 10, 2024 Aberdeen still splashing a bit of cash. I hope, due to our early recruitment, we catch them in the throws of gelling. Not simply because they MIGHT be recruiting well but also due to the toll a really hard fought European result may have taken on our squad's legs. I hope for a win, just like the one my grandson and I witnessed last time Saints went up there but, honestly? This time out? I think I'd take a draw. Quote
DougJamie Posted August 10, 2024 Report Posted August 10, 2024 No reason we can't continue this run...just breeds confidence.. need a better performance but still fancy us to take at least a point.. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 11, 2024 Author Report Posted August 11, 2024 Cracking morning up here and forecast is good for Aberdeen this afternoon so no need for any waterproof clothing. I'll be heading of around 1:30, just a quick visit today, straight home after the game. Aberdeen supporting mates are feeling quite confident so, as usual, I'll be hoping we stuff them. Aberdeen 1-3 Saints. Quote
Hunterian Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 31 minutes ago, faraway saint said: Cracking morning up here and forecast is good for Aberdeen this afternoon so no need for any waterproof clothing. I'll be heading of around 1:30, just a quick visit today, straight home after the game. Aberdeen supporting mates are feeling quite confident so, as usual, I'll be hoping we stuff them. Aberdeen 1-3 Saints. Aberdeen fans are always confident until about 3 or 4 games into the season. Shinnie is a great player but there is evidence that his pace could be a problem for the team. During the St.Johnstone game he looked slow. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 11, 2024 Author Report Posted August 11, 2024 On 8/10/2024 at 8:33 AM, faraway saint said: We're a generous 14/5 for tomorrow. Got to have a wee bit of that. 🙄 Oh, even better, now sitting at 10/3 Quote
DougJamie Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 Those are some odds considering the form book between the two teams? Quote
beyond our ken Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 I'd favour last Sunday's starting 11, minus Ayunga with Scott stepping in, Tanser looked a wee bit more comfy when he came on on Thursday night Play wider than just hitting long and high-balls at a big front two who are struggling to make the ball stick Otherwise, we should be strong enough to come out with a win. Quote
Jimmy H Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 (edited) 2 hours ago, DougJamie said: Those are some odds considering the form book between the two teams? I think the bookies are also taking into consideration that Aberdeen are 16 competitive game unbeaten. Albeit most of those are league cup games against lower division teams and meaningless bottom 6 games end of last season, still decent form tho to be fair. Edited August 11, 2024 by Jimmy H Quote
stlucifer Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 (edited) Scott and Olusanya up front. I think that will eventually be our regular pairing. I was hoping to see O'Hara on the bench but, hey ho, it was probably a big ask. Edited August 11, 2024 by stlucifer Quote
Qarsaan Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 7 hours ago, faraway saint said: Cracking morning up here and forecast is good for Aberdeen this afternoon so no need for any waterproof clothing. I'll be heading of around 1:30, just a quick visit today, straight home after the game. Aberdeen supporting mates are feeling quite confident so, as usual, I'll be hoping we stuff them. Aberdeen 1-3 Saints. Yes. Looks like a nice sunny day, but a bit windy. Quote
belfast billy Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 I’m watching the game . Can’t get into dons and it’s so biased Quote
shull Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 We should be wearing a St Mirren kit. Which is black and white stripes. We are wearing fecking blue. Outrageous. The commentator prefers blue because he can't make out the numbers on the black and white stripes. Well the commentators should know all players in the top league without the help of numbers. Very unprofessional indeed. Wonder if he knows the players of the 2 sectarian clubs without numbers. Mmmm Quote
belfast billy Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 Richard Gordon who is a great presenter on radio Scotland turns into someone else on Dons Tv Quote
belfast billy Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 2 minutes ago, shull said: We should be wearing a St Mirren kit. Which is black and white stripes. We are wearing fecking blue. Outrageous. The commentator prefers blue because he can't make out the numbers on the black and white stripes. Well the commentators should know all players in the top league without the help of numbers. Very unprofessional indeed. Wonder if he knows the players of the 2 sectarian clubs without numbers. Shill forget the strip if we get 3 points today i don’t care what strip we play in Quote
belfast billy Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 Okay I Don’t care which strip we wear . If we win hey irr to s 3 points Quote
shull Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 14 minutes ago, belfast billy said: Richard Gordon who is a great presenter on radio Scotland turns into someone else on Dons Tv He is on Radio Scotland today Quote
faraway saint Posted August 11, 2024 Author Report Posted August 11, 2024 (edited) Cracking day for football, great crowd and a reasonable first 30 mins for us. Too many long balls for my liking. Loving watching Rooney just down below where we're sitting, puts in a shift every game. Nothing in it, although the natives are in good voice, gies a goal to shut them up. PS Missing O'Hara, his delivery is an asset we could do with, hope he's ready for Thursday. Edited August 11, 2024 by faraway saint Quote
Clydebanksaint Posted August 11, 2024 Report Posted August 11, 2024 24 minutes ago, belfast billy said: Richard Gordon who is a great presenter on radio Scotland turns into someone else on Dons Tv I thought it was Rob McLean commentating as he has done it for years on REDTV Quote
faraway saint Posted August 11, 2024 Author Report Posted August 11, 2024 Didn't look a booking for Rooney from here although we do seem to be racking up the bookings, deserved or not. Idowu's was stupid, twice being a diddy when it wasn't needed. Quote