faraway saint Posted November 25, 2024 Report Share Posted November 25, 2024 This week the BBC are launching a Scam Safe campaign, Plenty of examples and advice to try to help people from becoming another victim. While it's easy to dismiss many of the victims as stupid, and there is an element of truth in this, the scammers are getting more and more sophisticated. With the average age on this forum getting on, it might be a good idea to look at the link below and keep your hard-earned cash safe. https://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/2024/scam-safe-week Mrs Faraway has had two of these "Hello mum, this is my new number" texts. We've had great fun in dragging this scam out before the expected request for money comes along, and, surprising to me, the amount requested is considerable.................£1300 and £1800 Anyhow, keep safe and PM me with your bank details and I'll keep an eye on things for you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted November 25, 2024 Author Report Share Posted November 25, 2024 40 minutes ago, faraway saint said: This week the BBC are launching a Scam Safe campaign, Plenty of examples and advice to try to help people from becoming another victim. While it's easy to dismiss many of the victims as stupid, and there is an element of truth in this, the scammers are getting more and more sophisticated. With the average age on this forum getting on, it might be a good idea to look at the link below and keep your hard-earned cash safe. https://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/2024/scam-safe-week Mrs Faraway has had two of these "Hello mum, this is my new number" texts. We've had great fun in dragging this scam out before the expected request for money comes along, and, surprising to me, the amount requested is considerable.................£1300 and £1800 Anyhow, keep safe and PM me with your bank details and I'll keep an eye on things for you. There's a wee quiz available, I managed a decent 13/15. The 2 I got wrong were on items that I'm not interested in so I wouldn't have touched them anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted November 25, 2024 Author Report Share Posted November 25, 2024 55 minutes ago, faraway saint said: This week the BBC are launching a Scam Safe campaign, Plenty of examples and advice to try to help people from becoming another victim. While it's easy to dismiss many of the victims as stupid, and there is an element of truth in this, the scammers are getting more and more sophisticated. With the average age on this forum getting on, it might be a good idea to look at the link below and keep your hard-earned cash safe. https://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/2024/scam-safe-week Mrs Faraway has had two of these "Hello mum, this is my new number" texts. We've had great fun in dragging this scam out before the expected request for money comes along, and, surprising to me, the amount requested is considerable.................£1300 and £1800 Anyhow, keep safe and PM me with your bank details and I'll keep an eye on things for you. There's a woman on BBC right now who paid out £5k to exactly THIS type pf scam. FFS misses. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted November 25, 2024 Report Share Posted November 25, 2024 5 hours ago, faraway saint said: This week the BBC are launching a Scam Safe campaign, Plenty of examples and advice to try to help people from becoming another victim. While it's easy to dismiss many of the victims as stupid, and there is an element of truth in this, the scammers are getting more and more sophisticated. With the average age on this forum getting on, it might be a good idea to look at the link below and keep your hard-earned cash safe. https://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/2024/scam-safe-week Mrs Faraway has had two of these "Hello mum, this is my new number" texts. We've had great fun in dragging this scam out before the expected request for money comes along, and, surprising to me, the amount requested is considerable.................£1300 and £1800 Anyhow, keep safe and PM me with your bank details and I'll keep an eye on things for you. Yes was stung myself for £800 with one of those scams, was a text msg Dad it's your daughter I've lost my iphone and need another one for my job can you send me £800. what else is a dad to do when your daughter is in trouble, so I sent it over on the details provided, Fly Bastards the are I should have smelt a rat as I don't have a daughter just 2 boys Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted November 25, 2024 Report Share Posted November 25, 2024 3 minutes ago, portmahomack saint said: Yes was stung myself for £800 with one of those scams, was a text msg Dad it's your daughter I've lost my iphone and need another one for my job can you send me £800. what else is a dad to do when your daughter is in trouble, so I sent it over on the details provided, Fly Bastards the are I should have smelt a rat as I don't have a daughter just 2 boys 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted November 25, 2024 Author Report Share Posted November 25, 2024 22 minutes ago, portmahomack saint said: Yes was stung myself for £800 with one of those scams, was a text msg Dad it's your daughter I've lost my iphone and need another one for my job can you send me £800. what else is a dad to do when your daughter is in trouble, so I sent it over on the details provided, Fly Bastards the are I should have smelt a rat as I don't have a daughter just 2 boys I forgot to thank you for the £800, cheers. 🥂🥂🍻🍻🍹🍹 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted November 25, 2024 Report Share Posted November 25, 2024 6 hours ago, faraway saint said: I forgot to thank you for the £800, cheers. 🥂🥂🍻🍻🍹🍹 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted November 29, 2024 Author Report Share Posted November 29, 2024 Mrs Faraway received a cracking email from TESKO today with an exciting special offer. The I just see an item on the BBC saying scammers are getting more sophisticated. 🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted Thursday at 11:19 AM Author Report Share Posted Thursday at 11:19 AM We've had two calls this week with exactly the same intro......suspicious bank activity, a payment to Amazon and a bank transfer to someone or other. I played along for a wee while before politely telling them to fcuk right off. Now this one, well, does she deserve any sympathy......................not an ounce IMO. Utter stupidity costing her approx £700,000, aye, almost 3/4 of a million. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/ckgnz8rw1xgo A French woman who was conned out of €830,000 (£700,000; $850,000) by scammers posing as actor Brad Pitt has faced a huge wave of mockery, leading French broadcaster TF1 to withdraw a programme about her. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted Thursday at 12:27 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 12:27 PM On 11/25/2024 at 2:34 PM, portmahomack saint said: Yes was stung myself for £800 with one of those scams, was a text msg Dad it's your daughter I've lost my iphone and need another one for my job can you send me £800. what else is a dad to do when your daughter is in trouble, so I sent it over on the details provided, Fly Bastards the are I should have smelt a rat as I don't have a daughter just 2 boys You know this for sure? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albanian Buddy Posted Thursday at 05:30 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 05:30 PM 5 hours ago, faraway saint said: We've had two calls this week with exactly the same intro......suspicious bank activity, a payment to Amazon and a bank transfer to someone or other. I played along for a wee while before politely telling them to fcuk right off. Best advice I can give anyone is never to engage in any conversation or texts. Two reasons: Firstly once you answer or respond your number is deemed “live” and you will be targeted by other scammers. Secondly they can record your voice and get you to use certain phrases that may be used against you with financial organisations. You might have heard “my voice is my password” on some telephone banking systems. These scammers are always trying to be one step ahead and will use significant resources to fleece as many people as possible. Give these scammers nothing. Rather than tell them to Fcuk Off - just don’t engage with them at all. Ignore all unknown numbers - send them to voicemail. If it’s someone you know or trying to contact you then they will leave a voicemail. Once you identify a scam number - block it immediately. You can also report these via ofcom. “7726 is a number that most mobile customers using UK networks can text to report unwanted SMS messages or phone calls on a mobile. The number ‘7726’ was chosen because it spells ‘SPAM’ on an alphanumeric phone keypad – that’s a handy way of remembering it.” https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-and-broadband/scam-calls-and-messages/7726-reporting-scam-texts-and-calls/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuddieinEK Posted Thursday at 06:00 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 06:00 PM 30 minutes ago, Albanian Buddy said: Best advice I can give anyone is never to engage in any conversation or texts. Two reasons: Firstly once you answer or respond your number is deemed “live” and you will be targeted by other scammers. Secondly they can record your voice and get you to use certain phrases that may be used against you with financial organisations. You might have heard “my voice is my password” on some telephone banking systems. These scammers are always trying to be one step ahead and will use significant resources to fleece as many people as possible. Give these scammers nothing. Rather than tell them to Fcuk Off - just don’t engage with them at all. Ignore all unknown numbers - send them to voicemail. If it’s someone you know or trying to contact you then they will leave a voicemail. Once you identify a scam number - block it immediately. You can also report these via ofcom. “7726 is a number that most mobile customers using UK networks can text to report unwanted SMS messages or phone calls on a mobile. The number ‘7726’ was chosen because it spells ‘SPAM’ on an alphanumeric phone keypad – that’s a handy way of remembering it.” https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-and-broadband/scam-calls-and-messages/7726-reporting-scam-texts-and-calls/ Sound advice. Cheers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted Thursday at 06:41 PM Author Report Share Posted Thursday at 06:41 PM (edited) 1 hour ago, Albanian Buddy said: Best advice I can give anyone is never to engage in any conversation or texts. Two reasons: Firstly once you answer or respond your number is deemed “live” and you will be targeted by other scammers. Secondly they can record your voice and get you to use certain phrases that may be used against you with financial organisations. Firstly we had two calls over 18 months ago, these two are the first since then, hardly a tsunami. Secondly I put on such a fake voice they were convinced I was an elderly lady. I do hope they've recorded it, I could be in with a shout if they remake Mrs Doubtfire Thanks anyway. 👍 PS The numbers, two different numbers, were blocked but that's next to futile as they are fake numbers anyway and change every day. Edited Thursday at 06:51 PM by faraway saint Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StanleySaint Posted Thursday at 09:33 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 09:33 PM If you are unfortunate enough to speak to one of these parasites just ask to speak to their supervisor and they soon end the call. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...