shull Posted January 2 Report Share Posted January 2 A great Saints left back from the late 1960s. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 2 Author Report Share Posted January 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Original 59er Posted January 2 Report Share Posted January 2 I fondly remember him alongside Cammy Murray on the other side of the defence. A good player and also a very fair player. From memory he was PotY around 1970. Sad to hear of his passing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 2 Author Report Share Posted January 2 21 minutes ago, The Original 59er said: I fondly remember him alongside Cammy Murray on the other side of the defence. A good player and also a very fair player. From memory he was PotY around 1970. Sad to hear of his passing. I always remember Tony in my early years supporting Saints with the same players alongside him. Connaghan, C Murray, Connell, Fulton, McFadden, etc. This from first game I remember going to although I was told I attended some home matches before Broomfield. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 2 Author Report Share Posted January 2 Just now, shull said: I always remember Tony in my early years supporting Saints with the same players alongside him. Connaghan, C Murray, Connell, Fulton, McFadden, etc. This from first game I remember going to although I was told I attended some home matches before Broomfield. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Original 59er Posted January 2 Report Share Posted January 2 (edited) 51 minutes ago, shull said: The one I don't remember from that team was Billy Hainey, all the rest of them pretty clearly. Hughie Gilshan came (from memory), from Johnstone Burgh and he scored the winner against the Blue meanies on that famous foggy day at Love St when you couldn't see the opposite end of the pitch from the other end! I also really liked Willie Futon who calmed the defence and brought Andy McFaddebn along as a player, as much a anyone. Did Peter Kane wear rugby boots, or was that just a silly rumour? Edited January 2 by The Original 59er Spelling error Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 2 Author Report Share Posted January 2 15 minutes ago, The Original 59er said: The one I don't remember from that team was Billy Hainey, all the rest of them pretty clearly. Hughie Gilshan came (from memory), from Johnstone Burgh and he scored the winner against the Blue meanies on that famous foggy day at Love St when you couldn't see the opposite end of the pitch from the other end! I also really liked Willie Futon who calmed the defence and brought Andy McFaddebn along as a player, as much a anyone. Did Peter Kane wear rugby boots, or was that just a silly rumour? Legend Willie Fulton was one of my early favourites. As well as being a fabulous player, I was thrilled every week when watching Willie doing his keepy uppy routine during pre match warm up. And of course catching the ball on the back of his neck. Fantastic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lyndsay Posted January 2 Report Share Posted January 2 Thank you all for your lovely comments and memories. Tony is my dad and we are taking great comfort in all the shared tributes. Thanks again ❤️ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
guinness Posted January 2 Report Share Posted January 2 9 hours ago, The Original 59er said: The one I don't remember from that team was Billy Hainey, all the rest of them pretty clearly. Hughie Gilshan came (from memory), from Johnstone Burgh and he scored the winner against the Blue meanies on that famous foggy day at Love St when you couldn't see the opposite end of the pitch from the other end! I also really liked Willie Futon who calmed the defence and brought Andy McFaddebn along as a player, as much a anyone. Did Peter Kane wear rugby boots, or was that just a silly rumour? Wild Bill Hainey. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
guinness Posted January 2 Report Share Posted January 2 Connell and Murray were the first full backs I remember. Excellent defenders. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eastlandssaint Posted January 3 Report Share Posted January 3 Tony Connell - Wikipedia Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 3 Author Report Share Posted January 3 17 hours ago, shull said: When Tony scored his goal. http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1969&GameID=197001010 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 3 Author Report Share Posted January 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 4 Author Report Share Posted January 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 7 Author Report Share Posted January 7 I'm assuming there will be a minute's silence or applause at Saturday's match for St Mirren legend, the late great Tony Connell. Bless him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted January 7 Report Share Posted January 7 8 hours ago, shull said: I'm assuming there will be a minute's silence or applause at Saturday's match for St Mirren legend, the late great Tony Connell. Bless him. You’ll be going along to join the tribute to Tony then as it obviously means so much to you Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted January 7 Report Share Posted January 7 20 minutes ago, HSS said: You’ll be going along to join the tribute to Tony then as it obviously means so much to you My cash is on "nope" as he's only interested in attention seeking. Just a hunch. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helmettroll Posted January 7 Report Share Posted January 7 2 hours ago, HSS said: You’ll be going along to join the tribute to Tony then as it obviously means so much to you FFS, point scoring on a thread like this, especially when the players daughter has posted on it.. what a brass neck.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted January 7 Report Share Posted January 7 20 minutes ago, Helmettroll said: FFS, point scoring on a thread like this, especially when the players daughter has posted on it.. what a brass neck.. I was only asking a question 🤷 Anyway I’ll be there to pay my respects to Tony and I’ll also bow my head on behalf of Buds who can’t make it on the day Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted January 7 Report Share Posted January 7 On 1/2/2025 at 8:19 AM, shull said: Greigy (as in "Haw! mair drinks over here, Greigy") was sporting a Pastor Jack Glass special at the same time. More dipster than hipster. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted January 7 Report Share Posted January 7 3 hours ago, faraway saint said: My cash is on "nope" as he's only interested in attention seeking. Just a hunch. While you are there, have a wee look round and let us know if you see him Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom Blacks Left Boot Posted January 10 Report Share Posted January 10 https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/in-your-area/renfrewshire/death-st-mirren-hall-famer-34424355 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...