stlucifer Posted July 22, 2025 Report Posted July 22, 2025 With Jalmaro Calvin announced officially and Malik Dijksteel signed on a pre contract there can't be much wiggle room for that keeper I thought we needed so let's hope the two we have do the business. Quote
17/03/13 Posted July 22, 2025 Report Posted July 22, 2025 (edited) Nah I still think we will get a keeper in. If we let Scott go & loan out the likes of Urminsky, Penman & Mooney that'll free up some funds Edited July 22, 2025 by 17/03/13 Quote
bazil85 Posted July 23, 2025 Report Posted July 23, 2025 13 hours ago, 17/03/13 said: Nah I still think we will get a keeper in. If we let Scott go & loan out the likes of Urminsky, Penman & Mooney that'll free up some funds Hopefully Mooney stays & is in and around the team. Seems most are in agreement that Scott needs to move on. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 23, 2025 Report Posted July 23, 2025 24 minutes ago, bazil85 said: Hopefully Mooney stays & is in and around the team. Seems most are in agreement that Scott needs to move on. If Mooney didn't get a sniff in the league Cup games I'd doubt he's in the plans for the season. I'd have liked to see him get a wee run but I'm thinking he'll be out on loan. Quote
Mr Optimistic Posted July 23, 2025 Report Posted July 23, 2025 There is absolutely no way we are going into an SPL season with these two keepers. Expect a new signing pretty soon. Quote
The Original 59er Posted July 23, 2025 Report Posted July 23, 2025 "Hopefully Mooney stays & is in and around the team. Seems most are in agreement that Scott needs to move on." Agreed on James Scott, he hasn't ever reached the level that SR had him performing to at Motherwell, and whilst he was brought back in the hope that the manager could re-ignite that form, it has only shown in very small spasms. From what I have seen this season, he hasn't changed from last year, which is a pity, but maybe that is is overall standard and his big move at Motherwell was just his "lucky" window of success. Apparently on quite a high salary, so it would free up some cash if we can move him on before the end of the window. Generally agreed on a new keeper, but we have a good reputation for developing and improving keepers when they come to us, so hopefully both Mullen and whoever else comes through the door can get up to the Premier League standard we have seen over the last two to three years. Quote
beyond our ken Posted July 23, 2025 Report Posted July 23, 2025 (edited) On 7/22/2025 at 7:18 PM, 17/03/13 said: Nah I still think we will get a keeper in. If we let Scott go & loan out the likes of Urminsky, Penman & Mooney that'll free up some funds I think out of that we might save 10-12 grand I can't see anyone taking an under-used keeper and paying his wages. Anyone who takes him will be doing us a favour and will expect us to keep paying him Same goes for Penman, Mooney had a long spell out with a nasty injury and it might well be that he is in the plans after a graduated return to fitness that doesn't affect his injury. Scott? I think there is maybe a chance he will go to a lesser club but we will still need to pay up some of what he is due, otherwise it is in his best interests to stay on and get a PCA in the next window Edited July 23, 2025 by beyond our ken Quote
stlucifer Posted July 23, 2025 Author Report Posted July 23, 2025 5 minutes ago, beyond our ken said: I think out of that we might save 10-12 grand I can't see anyone taking an under-used keeper and paying his wages. Anyone who takes him will be doing us a favour and will expect us to keep paying him Same goes for Penman Scott? I think there is maybe a chance he will go to a lesser club but we will still need to pay up some of what he is due, otherwise it is in his best interests to stay on and get a PCA in the next window Can't argue with your logic on this though I don't know who'd take Scott on current form. That could work in our favour as perhaps he'll pull his socks up on an effort to get a move. Can but hope. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 24, 2025 Report Posted July 24, 2025 Keeper signed, panic over....... For a wee while. Quote
stlucifer Posted July 24, 2025 Author Report Posted July 24, 2025 40 minutes ago, faraway saint said: Keeper signed, panic over....... For a wee while. This is good news. Maybe now we can get young Urminsky out on loan to gain game experience. Something I have suggested quite often. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 24, 2025 Report Posted July 24, 2025 5 minutes ago, stlucifer said: This is good news. Maybe now we can get young Urminsky out on loan to gain game experience. Something I have suggested quite often. Already happening. Quote
Saint@Johnstone Posted July 24, 2025 Report Posted July 24, 2025 Very poor having to rely yet again on a reserve loan keeper for the third season in a row. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 24, 2025 Report Posted July 24, 2025 44 minutes ago, Saint@Johnstone said: Very poor having to rely yet again on a reserve loan keeper for the third season in a row. Aye, it's really damaged us over the last couple of seasons 🤣🤣🤣 Quote
Saint@Johnstone Posted July 24, 2025 Report Posted July 24, 2025 1 hour ago, faraway saint said: Aye, it's really damaged us over the last couple of seasons 🤣🤣🤣 I actually meant that for fans who attend the matches. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 24, 2025 Report Posted July 24, 2025 22 minutes ago, Saint@Johnstone said: I actually meant that for fans who attend the matches. I didn't see you at Arbroath or Forfar? 🤔 Were you too busy moaning about something else other than St Mirren? 🤣🤣🤣 Quote
stlucifer Posted July 24, 2025 Author Report Posted July 24, 2025 55 minutes ago, Saint@Johnstone said: I actually meant that for fans who attend the matches. The loan keepers have, in the main, been no problem. Would I like a settled No.1 for a few seasons? Of course. But we've scouted quite well. Personally I have had no issue with them. No matter what their status has been, they've shown themselves to be assets so I don't think the supporters really cared what their situation was. It's obvious the coaches think Urminsky has something or he would have been released. We need to trust Langfield and co and hope that a bit of experience with a lower league club brings out what they see. IF that happens then we would have the potential of a club goalie for a few years to come. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 25, 2025 Report Posted July 25, 2025 7 hours ago, stlucifer said: The loan keepers have, in the main, been no problem. Would I like a settled No.1 for a few seasons? Of course. But we've scouted quite well. Personally I have had no issue with them. No matter what their status has been, they've shown themselves to be assets so I don't think the supporters really cared what their situation was. It's obvious the coaches think Urminsky has something or he would have been released. We need to trust Langfield and co and hope that a bit of experience with a lower league club brings out what they see. IF that happens then we would have the potential of a club goalie for a few years to come. 👏👏👏 Quote