faraway saint Posted August 10 Report Posted August 10 So after two league games we come up against Hearts who are making big noises about threatening to break up the monopoly between the Old Firm this season. From our point of view it's one of our only two chances to win a trophy so it's got to be a full strength side and we go for it. I think, on a good day, we can compete with any side in the league, that's quite something. On the flip side we can be like yesterdays game against Motherwell and play like 11 strangers. Quote
fmckinn Posted August 11 Report Posted August 11 Tickets purchased, looking forward to this game, hopefully a Saints win Quote
faraway saint Posted August 13 Author Report Posted August 13 On 8/11/2025 at 11:43 AM, fmckinn said: Tickets purchased, looking forward to this game, hopefully a Saints win Saints currently 21/10 with Hearts favourites at 6/5 Quote
faraway saint Posted August 13 Author Report Posted August 13 Hearts have sold out their ticket allocation. 👏👏👏 Quote
stlucifer Posted August 13 Report Posted August 13 8 hours ago, faraway saint said: Saints currently 21/10 with Hearts favourites at 6/5 Not really a surprise I suppose, given the respective starts to the season. We're here to buck the odds. Is this the one to try young Jalmaro Calvin? We'll need to try him out sometime and we haven't rippled the net in the first "real" games of the season. Even coming on from the bench might be good. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 13 Author Report Posted August 13 5 minutes ago, stlucifer said: Not really a surprise I suppose, given the respective starts to the season. We're here to buck the odds. Is this the one to try young Jalmaro Calvin? We'll need to try him out sometime and we haven't rippled the net in the first "real" games of the season. Even coming on from the bench might be good. According to reports he played last night. Lightening pace but makes Olusanya look like Thierry Henry. Shows promise, can be coached to improve on certain aspects, looked like he's unsure of the offside rule. Still, an exciting prospect, Saturday, IMO, looks like too soon. Quote
stlucifer Posted August 13 Report Posted August 13 2 hours ago, faraway saint said: According to reports he played last night. Lightening pace but makes Olusanya look like Thierry Henry. Shows promise, can be coached to improve on certain aspects, looked like he's unsure of the offside rule. Still, an exciting prospect, Saturday, IMO, looks like too soon. I don't know about the standard of his previous league but I'm sure the rules are the same and he scored a few there. More likely he was just a wee bit keen. AFAIC, the only way to prove either way would be to give him at least a part of a big game. If the other forwards aren't scoring then what's the harm? Quote
faraway saint Posted August 16 Author Report Posted August 16 I'm hearing ticket sales are poor for us? Surprising as its an attractive fixture and the chance to move into the quarter final of the last trophy we won. I'm sure it'll be a cracking atmosphere, the weather's still decent and it's this "3 o'clock on a Saturday" game that's regularly mentioned as ideal. Anyhow, I see it as a tight match, a narrow 1-0 victory for me. Quote
eastlandssaint Posted August 16 Report Posted August 16 Bet on St Mirren vs Hearts | Soccer Base Quote
faraway saint Posted August 16 Author Report Posted August 16 The team to get us into the quarter finals. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 16 Author Report Posted August 16 6 minutes ago, HSS said: Suppose I better buy a ticket Aye, and nae booing. Quote
Tom Blacks Left Boot Posted August 16 Report Posted August 16 Sir Daniel Lennon and Mr. David van Zanten in the building. #thespiritof2013 #comeonyousaints Quote
Tom Blacks Left Boot Posted August 16 Report Posted August 16 21 minutes ago, HSS said: Suppose I better buy a ticket You really can't beat being at a game. It's much better than television. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 16 Author Report Posted August 16 Mandron close, decent start. 12 mins Quote
faraway saint Posted August 16 Author Report Posted August 16 What an exquisite ball from Gogic. Way too slow to try to cross Playing ell, passing the ball quickly. Quote
Qarsaan Posted August 16 Report Posted August 16 Hearts No11 just assaulted our goalie. Not even a yellow card. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 16 Author Report Posted August 16 Sore one on George, looks like he's taken a bad hit. Quote
Qarsaan Posted August 16 Report Posted August 16 Just now, faraway saint said: Sore one on George, looks like he's taken a bad hit. Sorry. That challenge assault was outrageous. Quote
faraway saint Posted August 16 Author Report Posted August 16 Great attempt on target from Phillips,, nice play again. Quote
Qarsaan Posted August 16 Report Posted August 16 8 hours ago, faraway saint said: I'm hearing ticket sales are poor for us? Yes. A lot of empty seats. A shame coz the play is quite good ... so far. Quote