Posted
20 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Beat me to it. 

Thanks. 

No Problem but I hope the Daily Record and others sent a wee apology to the family Bone at this stressful time for the family.

They  do  seem to have deleted original  tweet on X.

Posted
7 minutes ago, alanb said:

No Problem but I hope the Daily Record and others sent a wee apology to the family Bone at this stressful time for the family.

They  do  seem to have deleted original  tweet on X.

Shameful posting something of this magnitude before knowing for certain it was true. 

Anyhow, don't want to drag this thread into the gutter, enough about those concerned. 

Posted

Jimmy has passed away. 

Apologies for the Arbroath connection..... 

𝐉𝐢𝐦𝐦𝐲 𝐁𝐨𝐧𝐞

All at Arbroath FC are devastated to share the passing of former player and manager, Jimmy Bone. Jimmy passed away peacefully last night. 

Jimmy was initially signed by Albert Henderson from Celtic in January 1975 for a fee of £12,500 to try and keep the club in the top division. Although relegated, he impressed and the following season he helped the club to a 5th placed finish in the newly formed First Division with 24 goals in 41 appearances. During the 1976-77 campaign, he played in every competitive match but despite continuing to score regularly the team could only finish in a mid-table position, and in February 1978 with the club once again struggling to compete for promotion he was sold to St. Mirren for a fee of £30,000.

In February 1985, Jimmy left Hearts to return to Gayfield as player/ manager, replacing the departing George Fleming. He spent just under two years in the role, picking himself irregularly during his second spell at the club before moving to St. Mirren in mid-December 1986 to become Alex Smith’s assistant manager.

Our thoughts go to Jimmy’s family and friends at this sad time.

Posted
On 8/31/2025 at 9:35 PM, HSS said:

IMG_0969.webp

Classic picture from Store where the creatures meet.  Jimmy Bone says ‘look lads the cup’s the same shape as me’ and Jackie Copland replies’Aye, but it cannae hold as much whisky’!

Posted
53 minutes ago, Hunterian said:

Classic picture from Store where the creatures meet.  Jimmy Bone says ‘look lads the cup’s the same shape as me’ and Jackie Copland replies’Aye, but it cannae hold as much whisky’!

😂😂😂

Posted

Jimmy Bone 

St Mirren Legend 

Wonderful football player and one of Fergies greatest signings.

Posted

Jimmy Bone was one of these old fashioned bustling kinds of centre forward, who never gave the defenders any time to react. 

He was aggressive in the right way, he had a really good eye for the goal and he led the front line fearlessly. I would have his likes every day of the week in our current team.

Sad to hear of his passing, just another great name slipping up to that Saints team in the sky, which he will walk right into!

Posted (edited)

I was at the Anglo Scottish cup final home leg to watch us beat Bristol City and see Jimmy being hoisted with the trophy.. I remember being a wee bit disappointed that TF didn't feature at all in that game. I didn't make the away tie but I believe Tony played in that one. Nonetheless, it was a tremendous night when the trophy was, at last, won by a Scottish team.

Posted

What a fantastic goal celebration we had down  in Bolton,

Thanks to Jimmy's last minute header which sent us into the semi finals.

Fantastic memory 

Nae luck big Sam

Screenshot_20250902-164041~3.png

Posted

Jimmy was a national treasure with a career including winning Scotland caps, captaining the only Scottish club to win the Anglo Scottish Cup (The Super Saints) , assistant manager to Alex Smith when we won the Scottish Cup and winning the League Cup with Partick Thistle.

The St.Mirren team picture with Jimmy on Jackie Copeland's shoulders is iconic and he will always be remembered for his wonderful 1980 -81 goal of the season for us v Aberdeen.

I noticed his son David has been online with The Famous Tartan Army group asking for a round of applause to commemorate his father at the 20th minute of Scotlands game v Denamark as Jimmy scored against Denmark on the 20th minute in the 70's.

I think it's the very least we can all do and I hope it is well supported.