shull Posted December 8, 2025 Report Posted December 8, 2025 I'm not too enamoured with the admission prices. i will not be going. The tournament will be a chronic divefest anyway. Cheats galore. COME ON SCOTLAND Quote
stlucifer Posted December 8, 2025 Report Posted December 8, 2025 I honestly think we should have boycotted this Trump infested world cup. FIFA have bowed to the fascist regime while claiming to being non political. Quote
faraway saint Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 8 hours ago, stlucifer said: I honestly think we should have boycotted this Trump infested world cup. FIFA have bowed to the fascist regime while claiming to being non political. Yeah, that would get lots of support. 🙄 Quote
faraway saint Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 12 hours ago, stlucifer said: I honestly think we should have boycotted this Trump infested world cup. FIFA have bowed to the fascist regime while claiming to being non political. I should add I agree wholeheartedly that the sham of the opening ceremony should surely see Infantino under further pressure as he's been getting some heat after awarding Qatar the previous work Cup and is being constantly accused of selling football to the highest bidder. It was hoped after Blatter and crew were binned FIFA'S reputation would improve, also, it's not. Quote
stlucifer Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 10 hours ago, faraway saint said: Yeah, that would get lots of support. 🙄 I know it would never happen but, by taking part, we are legitimising the orange eejit's agenda. Because it's not going to happen doesn't make it right to take part. Quote
faraway saint Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 29 minutes ago, stlucifer said: I know it would never happen but, by taking part, we are legitimising the orange eejit's agenda. Because it's not going to happen doesn't make it right to take part. It would be wrong not to take part, and pointless. Quote
Jocky Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 I , for one, would certainly support a FIFA boycott .............................however that's never going to happen. Infantio will already have pocketed his millions of dollars from DJT and I suspect that even wee diddy teams like Scotland also need the bucks. Somebody need to stand up to this bampot and a powerful organisation like FIFA would have been a perfect starter. Quote
stlucifer Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 1 hour ago, faraway saint said: It would be wrong not to take part, and pointless. I don't get why you think taking part in an international tournament in a country that is victimising minorities within that country is right. If you don't think that then how can you say it would be wrong to stand up and refuse to play in that country? Hypocrisy in it's fullest sense. Quote
faraway saint Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 2 minutes ago, stlucifer said: I don't get why you think taking part in an international tournament in a country that is victimising minorities within that country is right. If you don't think that then how can you say it would be wrong to stand up and refuse to play in that country? Hypocrisy in it's fullest sense. As I said, what good would that do? Who would lose out? Start a poll amongst Scotland supporters, see how many agree with you're principals. Then come back to the real world. Quote
Jocky Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 10 minutes ago, faraway saint said: Start a poll amongst Scotland supporters, see how many agree with you're principals. Are you suggesting that a decision to boycott the Finals should be based on a poll of Scotland supporter?? Quote
Jocky Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 Are you suggesting that a decision to boycott the Finals should be based on a poll of Scotland supporters?? Quote
faraway saint Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 13 minutes ago, Jocky said: Are you suggesting that a decision to boycott the Finals should be based on a poll of Scotland supporter?? No, I'm asking would Scotland supporters support a boycott. 🙄 I thought it was fairly clear. Quote
Jocky Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 3 minutes ago, faraway saint said: No, I'm asking would Scotland supporters support a boycott. 🙄 I thought it was fairly clear. My point is that a poll of Scotland supporters (some of whom have already made financial commitments) is of no relevance to a FIFA boycott poll Quote
faraway saint Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 6 minutes ago, Jocky said: My point is that a poll of Scotland supporters (some of whom have already made financial commitments) is of no relevance to a FIFA boycott poll I'm aware of that and we're way too far to be even thinking of any boycott. That ship sailed years ago. Why would FIFA boycott this when the top man is sleeping with Trump? Who's the real culprits, in this, Trump or FIFA? All hypothetical hot air at this stage. Quote
Jocky Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 1 minute ago, faraway saint said: All hypothetical hot air at this stage. It is..............and a brilliant world-embraced opportunity missed. Sadly Quote
faraway saint Posted December 9, 2025 Report Posted December 9, 2025 Just now, Jocky said: It is..............and a brilliant world-embraced opportunity missed. Sadly 👍 Quote
stlucifer Posted December 10, 2025 Report Posted December 10, 2025 11 hours ago, faraway saint said: As I said, what good would that do? Who would lose out? Start a poll amongst Scotland supporters, see how many agree with you're principals. Then come back to the real world. I was replying to your statement that, "It would be wrong not to take part". I agree that, sadly, it's not going to happen but I certainly don't think it would have been wrong not to take part. Quote
faraway saint Posted December 10, 2025 Report Posted December 10, 2025 10 minutes ago, stlucifer said: I was replying to your statement that, "It would be wrong not to take part". I was coming from the Scottish supporters point of view. Quote
faraway saint Posted December 12, 2025 Report Posted December 12, 2025 The ticket prices are a hot topic. Virtually no chance things will change but it might be a tipping point. Quote
faraway saint Posted January 8 Report Posted January 8 Morocco play Cameroon tomorrow night in the quarter finals of the Africa Cup of Nations. Might tune in, see what we're up against when we play them in the summer. Quote
faraway saint Posted January 13 Report Posted January 13 On 12/8/2025 at 11:08 PM, stlucifer said: I honestly think we should have boycotted this Trump infested world cup. FIFA have bowed to the fascist regime while claiming to being non political. The outrageous murder of an innocent woman at the weekend seems to have had a reaction with a reported, not sure if it's accurate TBH, almost 17,000 ticket applications being cancelled. A small amount in the bigger picture and, unless it grows quickly, will have little or no effect. I happen to believe the astronomical costs will have a bigger effect as the initial euphoria is replaced by a reality check that many will choose to, unfortunately, abandon any idea of supporting Scotland, and other countries. Quote
faraway saint Posted Thursday at 03:04 PM Report Posted Thursday at 03:04 PM On 1/13/2026 at 8:49 AM, faraway saint said: The outrageous murder of an innocent woman at the weekend seems to have had a reaction with a reported, not sure if it's accurate TBH, almost 17,000 ticket applications being cancelled. A small amount in the bigger picture and, unless it grows quickly, will have little or no effect. I happen to believe the astronomical costs will have a bigger effect as the initial euphoria is replaced by a reality check that many will choose to, unfortunately, abandon any idea of supporting Scotland, and other countries. On the other hand, as suspected.... Applications received from fans living in all 211 FIFA Member Associations, with more than half a billion ticket requests submitted in just 33 days 🏆 Quote
faraway saint Posted Sunday at 10:02 PM Report Posted Sunday at 10:02 PM Morocco lose in the final of the African Nation Cup. We've got our hands full. We, probably, have to beat Haiti in our first game. Quote