santaponsasaint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 ...what was the name of your boozer in Espana Gary.Was it the Thistle?...a young fella in the pub was asking me the other day. it was either Mactavishes or the jaggy thistle, worked in both Quote
EL NOMBRE Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 somebody said it was in caledonia st it was greenock rd Aye...the arse of it. Quote
FS Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 The Auld Toll House, at the East End, was owend by someone called Snodgrass and was known as Snoddies, my Auld Faithere drank in it. And it used to sit on the gable end of Gauze Street where the north bound dual carriageway now passes towards the direction of Incle Street. Quote
FS Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 Can ye not tell it's close season. Is that like a celebration of life up a close ??? Quote
santaponsasaint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 (edited) And it used to sit on the gable end of Gauze Street where the north bound dual carriageway now passes towards the direction of Incle Street. after it was a pub it was called the east end cafe, remember ma maw taking me and ma brother there, it used to have jukebox, only one we saw in paisley at the time, oh happy days Edited May 2, 2006 by santaponsasaint Quote
Reidy1987 Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 Other pubs that come to mind... The Cross Bar, where the wee amusement arcade is on St Mirren Street; The Long Bar, in Gilmour Street opposite Sportsters. Surprisingly enough, it was the longest bar in Paisley; The St Mirren Bar, under the railway bridge on Moss Street, a DIY shop now. Quote
allym1877 Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 The Long Bar, in Gilmour Street opposite Sportsters. Surprisingly enough, it was the longest bar in Paisley; We had a discussion about this a wee while back. Did The Long Bar stretch right down to the Cart? (I was never in it, before my time) Quote
FS Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 I'm pretty sure Firhill Saint posted some old pictures proving that it did indeed border the river. I'll need to dig out my 'old Paisley' books again.... As I recall the pub was set into the river wall (pre-piazza days), below ground level and was on the same side as the Glen Cinema. If you stand in the Town Hall/Abbey graveyard and look across to the old WC windows at Dunn Square, you'll get the idea of how it may have looked? Legend has it, that the during a particularly persistent period of rain, the river rose so high that it submerged the windows and gave the locals a somewhat interesting underwater outlook ??? Quote
North Sea Saint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 after it was a pub it was called the east end cafe, remember ma maw taking me and ma brother there, it used to have jukebox, only one we saw in paisley at the time, oh happy days Sorry to say you're wrong Gary, The East End Cafe and Snoddies were side by side, I used to go into the cafe and wait for my Auld Man coming out the pub. Quote
shull Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 Sorry to say you're wrong Gary, The East End Cafe and Snoddies were side by side, I used to go into the cafe and wait for my Auld Man coming out the pub. Two Auld men oot together Quote
paisleybuds Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 . There was also The Lighthouse in Cotton Street but that was before my time as a drinker. My auld dad used to drink in there. 1 week before it was knocked down, they ask him to prove his age and that was 34 years ago He said the Tudor arms was the best pub paisley ever had when the Bisland family owned it. Quote
windae cleaner Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 My auld dad used to drink in there. 1 week before it was knocked down, they ask him to prove his age and that was 34 years ago He said the Tudor arms was the best pub paisley ever had when the Bisland family owned it. How many pubs did the Bisland family have. I count 3, Tudor, Afton and Station. Any more???? Quote
santaponsasaint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 Sorry to say you're wrong Gary, The East End Cafe and Snoddies were side by side, I used to go into the cafe and wait for my Auld Man coming out the pub. i was only young at the time, i knew they where close Quote
supersaint67 Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 after it was a pub it was called the east end cafe, remember ma maw taking me and ma brother there, it used to have jukebox, only one we saw in paisley at the time, oh happy days dont remember but you are a lot older than me Quote
HSS Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 it was called a few names one was the gallow green bar jackie copland owned the crown not the bar across the street It was also called the Centre Spot and I think ex wine guzzler Joe Gilroy had it. Anybuddie mentioned Harvies Showbar?? Quote
HSS Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 Jakey. You've also forgot about Gallowhills two finest night spots The Brabloch and the Rockfield. Cross the bridge and you had the Railway Club as well. Quote
santaponsasaint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 dont remember but you are a lot older than me you where spitting the dummy oot the pram, some things never change Quote
windae cleaner Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 An update... Re-opened Rosebud (as Tartan Rose) Bar Point (as Iona Skye) Currently closed The Bowlers The Elbow Room The Park Bar The Dusty Miller/Whispers Lush Toby Jug The Charleston Bailey's/Fiesta/Jokers The Institute/Irish bar The Cellar The Inshot/Campbeltown & Islay Carnegies Ba' Soba/Pillars/Ronnie's Steak Bar No longer pubs (within my time as a drinker) Bungalow/Stags Head (now a restaurant) Arkleston Inn (restaurant) Fiddler's Green (restaurant) Carbrook/Centre Spot (restaurant) 3 Horseshoes/Chaplins (offices) Dooslan Stane (shop/take aways) Centurion Bar (takeaway) Tartan Bar (shop) Farriers (flats) Fulbar Inn (retirement home) Bonhams (retirement home) New Fergus Hotel (erm...waste ground) Silver Thread at the Ardgowan Hotel, Friars Hall, Weavers ??? Quote
North Sea Saint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 Two Auld men oot together You'll get ye'r peas booted Quote
North Sea Saint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 How many pubs did the Bisland family have. I count 3, Tudor, Afton and Station. Any more???? Harvies, Heighywees Quote
North Sea Saint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 i was only young at the time, i knew they where close You were never young, you were born when you were 36 Quote
santaponsasaint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 You were never young, you were born when you were 36 still younger than you tho Quote
santaponsasaint Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 does anybody remember the pub/club called Cannes in forbes place Quote
HSS Posted May 2, 2006 Report Posted May 2, 2006 does anybody remember the pub/club called Cannes in forbes place Cannes?What about Zowies? Quote
North Sea Saint Posted May 3, 2006 Report Posted May 3, 2006 does anybody remember the pub/club called Cannes in forbes place Was there no a snooker club in Forbes Place as well?? Quote