Paisley Pubs

Is corkers still open?

I went in there on a Friday afternoon around 3 weeks ago and they were 1 guy in the bar drinking. Could not see any of the usual draught lagers and ended up with a pint of some foreign stuff that I didn't enjoy. Pub been done up nice and I will go again and drink something different. They were no sky sports on so not sure if they have it or not.

Quite a few pubs where I stay only open from Thursday to Sunday.

Ask yourself how often do you go to the pub.

Its not a trade I would like to go into , was speaking to Sandy the owner of the Corner Bar Lochwinnoch recently who always had a good local trade told me the past few years takings have tumbled drastically. There is not a lot of spare cash about these days.

Drinking habits have changed also for different reasons some people just like to have a glass of wine in the house , Or if you read this forum shite tasting Italian lager.

When home I like to go to the pub on a Sunday night which is quite enjoyable. Like everyone else go out the odd Saturday night with the wife though that usually involves a restaurant.

Paddies was open late last night when I passed around midnight. There seemed to be about 4 punters, all female, one of whom was givin it laldie on a karaoke machine, which could still be heard halfway down the High St.

Quite a few pubs where I stay only open from Thursday to Sunday.

Ask yourself how often do you go to the pub.

Its not a trade I would like to go into , was speaking to Sandy the owner of the Corner Bar Lochwinnoch recently who always had a good local trade told me the past few years takings have tumbled drastically. There is not a lot of spare cash about these days.

Drinking habits have changed also for different reasons some people just like to have a glass of wine in the house , Or if you read this forum shite tasting Italian lager.

When home I like to go to the pub on a Sunday night which is quite enjoyable. Like everyone else go out the odd Saturday night with the wife though that usually involves a restaurant.

Try Peroni Red.

It's far superior to the bitter Nastro Azzuro.

Paddies was open late last night when I passed around midnight. There seemed to be about 4 punters, all female, one of whom was givin it laldie on a karaoke machine, which could still be heard halfway down the High St.

Paddy's being turned into one of these jakey karioke pubs is more depressing than the place being shut.

On Saturday i went a mini pub crawl Wellington, Craig Dhu, Kennedys, Borgia, Caffuffals, Club Bar and Bankhouse.

They were all shite and deid apart from the craig dhu.

I ended my night in Gabriels which id have to say is by far the best pub left in the town.

Did that last year on Paisley Fair weekend and it was still deid . I'm not an advocate of smoking but the ban has killed the pub trade , it is a slow lingering death that has altered our culture . It appears that people no longer plan to get together and meet in the pub for a wee libation and some good communication . .

It saddens me greatly to see how quiet Paisley has become at the weekend , day and evening . I'd gladly put up with smoke in pubs again if it meant they were busy again . .

About twenty years ago I brought a few Glesga punters from when I worked at STV down on the train one Friday after work for a Paisley night out. Lloyd Quinnan the weather man was one of them. To a man they all feckin loved it, tons of bars open, plenty going on, night life was ace. To see what's left now is bloody depressing, the town centre is just utter shite now.

Really don't think it's to do with the smoking ban. It's a change in lifestyle and spending habits that are the main culprits. Just watch the youngsters (and the not so young) descend on supermarkets of an evening and leaving with boxes of cheap beer and bottles of vodka. In Morrisons this weekend you could get 20 cans of lager or cider for less than the price of 3 pints (or two in trendy Glesca clubs). A litre of vodka can be had for £15 or less. My wife was at a wee dinner for the daughter's friend who's off to Vagas to get married and they were paying £27 for a bottle of plonk.

Despite the chaos of the last few years people in their thirties and older are more prosperous and spend their money in different ways. When I was young you could count the number of decent restaurants in Glasgow on one hand and only the well off could afford them. As for Paisley, well there was the Alice in the High Street if you wanted to impress a young lady. Now as the pubs are closing their doors half decent restaurants are opening on every street in the city centre.

Then, sadly, there are the youngsters who only drink water of a weekend preferring to spend their money on a wee packet of something or a couple of pills. Pubs have gone out of style now that there are so many other things to spend your money on and perhaps they won't come back unless Jeremy Corbyn becomes PM and he introduces women only train carriages and men only pubs!!

That and the fact pubs were a place to socialise whereas 'socialising' has all gone online nowadays. I'm in agreement, it's not all down to the smoking ban, even if most of the socialising around pubs seems to be done by the smoking huddle at the front door...

Was in the Old Swan and The Club Bar on Saturday. Both were absolutely heaving full with some quality music on the go.

See what you want to see I guess. There's plenty of good pubs in Paisley that do a roaring trade.

There's a few, not plenty. Years ago there were plenty...

That and the fact pubs were a place to socialise whereas 'socialising' has all gone online nowadays. I'm in agreement, it's not all down to the smoking ban, even if most of the socialising around pubs seems to be done by the smoking huddle at the front door...

You are right , it isn't all due to the smoking ban but it is a big factor . .

This thread began 2 years before the smoking ban became effective in Scotland but already there were empty premises that had been pubs. However , I recall watching a programme about the smoking ban in Eire(just before it took effect here) , which was effective there a year before it took effect here . lt featured a few publicans in Dublin that were reporting a major drop in takings , Also , I know a guy that owned 5 pubs back in 2006 and last year he closed the last one. .he blamed the smoking ban. .

However , I'm sure rabuddies has a point about youngsters using drugs and we also now have a swathe of the population taking prescription psychotropics , which may also be a factor . .

There's a few, not plenty. Years ago there were plenty...

Well depends on your definition of few and plenty.

Off the top of my head I can think of at least 6 pubs that seem to be full on a regular basis at the weekend. From the two I mentioned to Gabriels, The Bull, The Wee Howff, The Anchor and more.

And how many pubs are there within a 20 minute walk of Gilmour St? 15? 20? If they aren't making money they'll shut down pretty quick.

Personally I enjoy going to pubs far more now than I did 10 years ago. Having some old fella smoking in your face and walking out with your clothes stinking of cigarette smoke wasn't the most pleasant way to spend an evening. The days of yore eh.

I'm thinking more of the town centre pubs that used to be heaving on a weekend night and are now either empty or closed, like in Forbes Place, Shuttle St, likes of The Wallace, Dusty Miller, Bislands, La Verte/Bar Bossa, The Arts Centre (et al. Even of the ones mentioned that are still open, trade is most definitely down. Whilst The Bull for example hits a busy peak at the weekend, after about 11pm it's half empty or worse, most of the time. Part of why Fergus quit running Paddies was for similar reasons.

Although one thing I've noticed is pubs seem to do better outwith the town centre. If you start on Causeyside St at The Afton and work your way up all the way to the top of Neilston Rd, I think every single pub that's been there for years, is still there ? Apart from the Kelburne, most of the trad pubs in the east end are still going strong too. The west end seems a different story but that entire end of town is in need of a rethink TBH.

The Bull Inn, Old Swan and Gabriels are always busy at the weekend, the Swan in particular offers live music which is what attracts a lot of people. The decline of the town centre in general is also a factor although with all these new flats being built maybe that will bring more people into the pubs because it is within walking distance.

Well depends on your definition of few and plenty.

Off the top of my head I can think of at least 6 pubs that seem to be full on a regular basis at the weekend. From the two I mentioned to Gabriels, The Bull, The Wee Howff, The Anchor and more.

And how many pubs are there within a 20 minute walk of Gilmour St? 15? 20? If they aren't making money they'll shut down pretty quick.

Personally I enjoy going to pubs far more now than I did 10 years ago. Having some old fella smoking in your face and walking out with your clothes stinking of cigarette smoke wasn't the most pleasant way to spend an evening. The days of yore eh.

There used to be that number between Shuttle Street and "The Wine Bar" alone.

I agree about preferring pubs smoke-free but there is no disputing that Paisley Town Centre isn't the nightlife mecca it used to be although a good night can still be had.

Really don't think it's to do with the smoking ban. It's a change in lifestyle and spending habits that are the main culprits. Just watch the youngsters (and the not so young) descend on supermarkets of an evening and leaving with boxes of cheap beer and bottles of vodka. In Morrisons this weekend you could get 20 cans of lager or cider for less than the price of 3 pints (or two in trendy Glesca clubs). A litre of vodka can be had for £15 or less.

Thats nothing i remember the days when you could go into a supermarket and grab three crates of lager, seven bottles of wine, thee litres of whisky and two dozen packets of gillette contour refills... Damn those CCTV systems!

I'm thinking more of the town centre pubs that used to be heaving on a weekend night and are now either empty or closed, like in Forbes Place, Shuttle St, likes of The Wallace, Dusty Miller, Bislands, La Verte/Bar Bossa, The Arts Centre (et al. Even of the ones mentioned that are still open, trade is most definitely down. Whilst The Bull for example hits a busy peak at the weekend, after about 11pm it's half empty or worse, most of the time. Part of why Fergus quit running Paddies was for similar reasons.

Although one thing I've noticed is pubs seem to do better outwith the town centre. If you start on Causeyside St at The Afton and work your way up all the way to the top of Neilston Rd, I think every single pub that's been there for years, is still there ? Apart from the Kelburne, most of the trad pubs in the east end are still going strong too. The west end seems a different story but that entire end of town is in need of a rethink TBH.

I went to Harvies after the last Thistle game , last season . It used to be the best pub in Paisley , of course now it is half the size it used to be and apart from all of us there were 3 other people in the entire pub , so we were the atmosphere and after a dismal show at Fir Hill , that wasn't much. .

Was in the Old Swan and The Club Bar on Saturday. Both were absolutely heaving full with some quality music on the go.

See what you want to see I guess. There's plenty of good pubs in Paisley that do a roaring trade.

Pity the upstairs bit is closed. Had many a cracking night in there with karaoke and cheap Red Stripe.

If you could get past the bouncers, that was!