Paisley Pubs

Isn't a big contributor to empty Paisley pubs is that many people just go to Glasgow for pubs these days? If you get a train home from Glasgow from about 10.30 on a Friday or Saturday night, they tend to be rammed and busier than trains at rush hour in the morning. Most of these trains empty out at Paisley. So I guess that could be 100-200 people per train.

Pubs like The Bull Inn are fine for me, but how are they going to attract big crowds of people when they are drawn to big, well known pubs in Glasgow?

That and the fact pubs were a place to socialise whereas 'socialising' has all gone online nowadays. I'm in agreement, it's not all down to the smoking ban, even if most of the socialising around pubs seems to be done by the smoking huddle at the front door...

Smirting - a combination of smoking and flirting

I'm thinking more of the town centre pubs that used to be heaving on a weekend night and are now either empty or closed, like in Forbes Place, Shuttle St, likes of The Wallace, Dusty Miller, Bislands, La Verte/Bar Bossa, The Arts Centre (et al. Even of the ones mentioned that are still open, trade is most definitely down. Whilst The Bull for example hits a busy peak at the weekend, after about 11pm it's half empty or worse, most of the time. Part of why Fergus quit running Paddies was for similar reasons.

Although one thing I've noticed is pubs seem to do better outwith the town centre. If you start on Causeyside St at The Afton and work your way up all the way to the top of Neilston Rd, I think every single pub that's been there for years, is still there ? Apart from the Kelburne, most of the trad pubs in the east end are still going strong too. The west end seems a different story but that entire end of town is in need of a rethink TBH.

Hmmm, always surprises/surprised me that the Kelburne went tits up. That place should be a solid bet for a boozer imo. WTF happened there , assuming dodgy management ??? unsure.png

Isn't a big contributor to empty Paisley pubs is that many people just go to Glasgow for pubs these days? If you get a train home from Glasgow from about 10.30 on a Friday or Saturday night, they tend to be rammed and busier than trains at rush hour in the morning. Most of these trains empty out at Paisley. So I guess that could be 100-200 people per train.

Pubs like The Bull Inn are fine for me, but how are they going to attract big crowds of people when they are drawn to big, well known pubs in Glasgow?

Guilty as charged. Glasgow has numerous options, never like to miss out on the chance of a night out there, West, Centre , Merchant , all great tbh. Paisley not so. Its all about choice and what you want in a night out I suppose. If your night comprises a restaurant and pubs , you have no chance in Paisley, like many other provinvcial towns, it is just down trodden and lacking in choice. One place that bucks that trend strangely presently is Prestwick , a thriving wee hub in terms of eating and drinking....wouyld recommend that. The provincial towns genrelly just do not offer sufficient availability of quality and choice.

Another pish state of affairs

Hmmm, always surprises/surprised me that the Kelburne went tits up. That place should be a solid bet for a boozer imo. WTF happened there , assuming dodgy management ??? unsure.png

Absolutely , Tam Wright ran a great shop. I did the Thursday night quiz for years for him and it was mad how busy it became , sometimes more than 20 teams. Tam Ward did the Friday karaoke and it was common , even in the early 2000s , for the bar to take 6k plus between 7pm and 1am.

When Tam Wright decided he was going to move out of the pub trade , new people came in who had never owned pubs before , they had owned a chain of hairdressers in Glasgow. Tam Ward and me knew how much was being taken over the bar but the new folk weren't willing to pay us the going rate , so we moved out. That was the beginning of the end for the pub as a venue and Gabriels quickly took the weekend crowd for themselves. The Kelburne never recovered !

I was driving through Johnstone last night around 10pm and it highlights the decline of the pub trade when so few pubs were still open on a Wednesday night. Even Colliers was shut.

The selection of quality beers and lagers at supermarkets for a fraction of the cost of what is on offer at pubs must have had a bigger impact than the smoking ban.

I would mainly blame the smoking ban. We were told there were legions of folk who didn't go to pubs because of the smoke, who would now go. Where are they?

There's always been cheap drink at the Supermarkets.

I would mainly blame the smoking ban. We were told there were legions of folk who didn't go to pubs because of the smoke, who would now go. Where are they?

Less than 20% of the population smoke now, however. Even assuming your average pub goer was more likely to smoke, if you changed tomorrow it would not revive the pub trade- many struggling before the ban.

For me the increasing difference between pub and supermarket costs, plus the general economy has hit pubs hard. The change in drink driving laws too have hurt has people are more cautious.

Less than 20% of the population smoke now, however. Even assuming your average pub goer was more likely to smoke, if you changed tomorrow it would not revive the pub trade- many struggling before the ban.

For me the increasing difference between pub and supermarket costs, plus the general economy has hit pubs hard. The change in drink driving laws too have hurt has people are more cautious.

Yeah, the price of drink, the lack of taxis at the rank at closing time and the cost of a taxi, the lack of entertainment, the smoking ban, then the final nail in the Coffin, the drink-drive laws.

e.g. I used to go for a pint or two sometimes after or drive into the town centre on a Friday night, go to The Bungalow and have a couple, if the band were shite... up the road. If they were decent I'd leave the car, have a few and get a taxi. Not now...

Edited by Vambo57

I'm heating The Buddies and Masterchef next door have been shut down by the Environmental Health Dept. :o

Yes they were, both are back opened now. We had Environmental Health in on Friday wanting to check our basement in the Salon in case we also had problems.

Dunno what happened in The Patter Bar last night, but there were half a dozen cop cars/vans/unmarked cars hastily abandoned outside and loads of Polis inside when I passed about half eleven. When I passed again after 1am it was all closed up, with one solitary cop standing sentry at the door...

Whilst that has some validity, the decline had arrived prior to the 2006 smoking ban . .for instance , this thread was on the go, 2yrs before the ban . .

Dunno what happened in The Patter Bar last night, but there were half a dozen cop cars/vans/unmarked cars hastily abandoned outside and loads of Polis inside when I passed about half eleven. When I passed again after 1am it was all closed up, with one solitary cop standing sentry at the door...

Yes , saw that also when I passed just after 23:00 and there was an ambulance there at that time too. .