• Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Mothership – Zeppelin

The Three E.P.’s – The Beta Band

Spiderland – Slint

Raising Sand – Robert Plant & Alison Krauss

Good Old Boys – Randy Newman

Also listening to I’m Your Man by Leonard Cohen as I need a wee bit of cheering up.

1. Never Loved Elvis – The Wonderstuff

2. Appetite For Destruction – G ’n f’n R

3. Nothing’s Shocking – Jane’s Addiction

4. Snakes & Arrows – Rush

5. Attack of the Grey Lantern – Mansun

Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation

Charles Mingus - Mingus Ah Um

Miles Davis - The Complete On The Corner Sessions

Surgeon - This Is For You Shits :lol:

Burial - Untrue

plus

Robert Wyatt - Comicopera

D'Angelo - Voodoo

Philip Jeck - 7

Miles Davis - In A Silent Way

Paul Giovanni - The Wicker Man OST

Talk talk...the colour of spring

Dukes Of The Stratosphere...Chips From The Chocolate Fireball..

Didnae know you were into them, mate. Quality stuff!

This Friday it's as follows:-

The Crossing - Big Country

Screamadelica - Primal Scream

Greatest Hits - Inspiral Carpets

Levitation - Hawkwind

The Man Machine - Kraftwerk

And for later:-

Funeral - Arcade Fire

The Royal Scam - Steely Dan

"hours...." - Bowie

Mellon Collie & the Infitnite Sadness - Smashing Pumpkins

Ladies & Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space - Spiritualized

Today ive been listening to

Cocteau Twins...Blue Bell Knoll

" " ...Heaven Or Las Vegas

" " ...Four Calendar Cafe

" " ...Treasure

We Know Where You Live....Its Nice To Be Nice...which is feckin awesome ....

I really shouldn’t be surprised but I am.

Loved them for years and years man...Sparks... Kate Bush..Cure..Wedding Present....Stuffies..they all sit in nicely with the Exploited...Slipknot..Meshuggah..and millions of Punk.. Metal..Rock..all sorts really..

Wonderstuff, I knew about, Wedding Present I knew about, think I also remember us having discussions about The Cure. Kate Bush & Sparks are a new one on me but very much to my liking. Next you'll be listening to Danielle Dax & X-Mal Deutschland. :D

Oi Mickey, any of these ring any bells? They should do:-

I Don’t Want to go to Chelsea – Elvis Costello & The Attractions

Tommy Gun – The Clash

Silly Thing – Sex Pistols

Panic – The Smiths

Your Silent Face – New Order

(There Ain’t No) Sanity Clause – The Damned

How Soon is Now? – The Smiths

Happy Hour – The Housemartins

(I’m Not Your) Stepping Stone – The Sex Pistols

Are “Friends†Electric? – Tubeway Army

Sheila Take a Bow – The Smiths

The Great Rock n’ Roll Swindle – Sex Pistols

Edited by Howard Hughes in BlueSuedeShoes

Oi Mickey, any of these ring any bells? They should do:-

I Don’t Want to go to Chelsea – Elvis Costello & The Attractions

Tommy Gun – The Clash

Silly Thing – Sex Pistols

Panic – The Smiths

Your Silent Face – New Order

(There Ain’t No) Sanity Clause – The Damned

How Soon is Now? – The Smiths

Happy Hour – The Housemartins

(I’m Not Your) Stepping Stone – The Sex Pistols

Are “Friends†Electric? – Tubeway Army

Sheila Take a Bow – The Smiths

The Great Rock n’ Roll Swindle – Sex Pistols

Finally we agree on sumit. :)

Johnny Marr is the king of indie geetarists....f**k Bernard Butler.....wanky old pish.

Finally we agree on sumit. :)

Johnny Marr is the king of indie geetarists....f**k Bernard Butler.....wanky old pish.

Johnny Marr is pretty good, but I just didn't like The Smiths. Bigmouth Strikes Again, Shoplifters of the World Unite & What Difference Does it Make? are great but those half-a-dozen are about it.

Confucio-witz, he say, "Morrisey? Cúnt!"

Yes Greig recognise them all...but pray tell why do you not recognise Morrisseys genius as probably the last of the great song writers of our generation....and The Smiths as being the very last ORIGINAL band that this sorry god forsaken isle has or will ever produce ever again..succumb to reality and finally embrace ....and the other guy ..your quite correct..Bernard Butler is a wanker of the highest order..J.Marr wannabe but never in a million trillion years will ever be.....rant over

Yes Greig recognise them all

Those dozen gems were lent to me one spring Sunday back in the early 90s by your good self which I then stuck on one side of a C90 to make one of the best compilations I've ever made. It's still kicking around somewhere, a bit muffled, but no disgusing the quality of toons.

...but pray tell why do you not recognise Morrisseys genius as probably the last of the great song writers of our generation....and The Smiths as being the very last ORIGINAL band that this sorry god forsaken isle has or will ever produce ever again..succumb to reality and finally embrace

Each to their own, mate. The most annoying thing about The Smiths were Smiths fans; if I said I didn't like them it was because I didn't "get them". I got them, alright, I just didnae bloody like them, is that so hard to under-fúcking-stand? Way overrated in my opinion.

I'm reminded of Jerry Sadowitz one time saying "Here's my impression of Morrisey; 'You're SHITE, Morrisey!'. Just my impresion, you don't have to agree with it". I'm with the big-nosed magician on this one.

Edited by Howard Hughes in BlueSuedeShoes