Top 5 Albums Your Currently Listening To

Liverpool Bud

Today I've mostly been listening to..........................

Silversun Pickups....carnavas (again!!)

Foo Fighters......The Colour And The Shape

Smashing Pumpkins....Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness

The White Stripes......DeStijl

R.E.M. ...............New Adventures In Hi-Fi

• Replies 1.9k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Strawberry Switchblade - saw them at the Mayfair in Sauchiehall St about 20-25 yrs ago - think they may have been supporting wild Glasgow dance band "Set The Tone". Midge Ure was in attendance.

At the risk of showing my age, I saw John Martyn in Basingstoke last month - they wheeled him onto the stage - top man - limbs missing, voice f**ked, great gig - but don't do drugs kids!

Top 5 in Car CD:

John Martyn - Sundays Child

Police - Greatest Hits

Steely Dan - The Royal Scam

George Benson - Greatest Hits

Primal Scream - Screamadelica

Right now in the car is:

Wilco - Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Ian Hunter - All American Alien Boy (30th Anniverary Edition) - as per avatar

Sparks - Hello Young Lovers

Warren Zevon - Genius

Lucinda Williams - Essence

All a bit American at the moment and, somewhat oddly, first two are linked through erstwhile Amerciana nutjob Jeff Tweedy co-writing and singing a track on 67(!) year old Ian Hunter's new album.

Sometimes I scare myself...... :blink:

Re last post, somewhere in a large pile of 12" singles on my shelf is both a Strawberry Switchblade single and, would you believe, one by Set The Tone too. No memory what either of them were called and I suspect I got the latter out a bargain bin on the basis they were from Glasgow and expected by someone, somewhere to be the next big thing! Shallow? Me?

Heard Since Yesterday on Bryan Burnett's show on Radio Scotland last night. Magic!

That's a fantastic record. Haven't heard it in a while. I think i'll listen to it right now!

Edited to say: That was magic, especially the wee instrumental breakdown in the middle. :)

Edited by Killie Saint

That's a fantastic record. Haven't heard it in a while. I think i'll listen to it right now!

Edited to say: That was magic, especially the wee instrumental breakdown in the middle. :)

Aye, a wee bit psychedelic.

5. Eels - Blinking Lights

One of the best releases I've heard in years and my own personal favourite of the current decade. Fantastic album.

Franics Dunnery - Welcome To The Wild Country

Rory Gallacher - Defender

Magnum - On A Storytellers Night

Jethro Tull - Broadsword And The Beast

Ace Frehley - Trouble Walkin'

SJ, Francis Dunnery touring the UK in October doing the WTTWC album in full-should be quite a night. :) If you get the chance to go to one of the local house concerts in October, don't miss it.

Howard Hughes in BlueSuedeShoes Posted Yesterday, 11:52

Kite – Steven Lindsay

Ahem :rolleyes:

At least you saw the light. :wink:

Take a joke for goddness sake! :P

Franics Dunnery - Welcome To The Wild Country

Rory Gallacher - Defender

Magnum - On A Storytellers Night

Jethro Tull - Broadsword And The Beast

Ace Frehley - Trouble Walkin'

Some good shit there, Mog. Haven't heard Storyteller's Night for yonks nor Broadsword.

SJ, Francis Dunnery touring the UK in October doing the WTTWC album in full-should be quite a night. :) If you get the chance to go to one of the local house concerts in October, don't miss it.

Thanks for the adavnce warning. Think I might just nip along to wherever he's playing closest to the hoose. Think I'll also dig out the stuff you gave me a while back. The reason being Because I Can. :D

Today I have been mostly listening to one of my old Clubhouse Classics compilations including such belters as....

Touch Me I'm Sick - Mudhoney

Teenage Riot - Sonic Youth

In and Out of Grace - Mudhoney

Temple of Love - Sisters of Mercy

Only Losers Take the Bus - Fatima Mansions

Freak Scene - Dinosaur Jr

Longe Route (spelling? :huh: ) - Young Gods

Duel - Swervedriver

f**king magic. :D

This Friday’s top five are:-

1. Little Earthquakes – Tori Amos

2. Rings Around the World – Super Furry Animals

3. Jehovahkill – Julian Cope

4. Use Your Illusion II – Gnf’nR, found during the week after many years of thinking I’d lost the f**ker. Well pleased.

5. Acadie – Daniel Lanois

Today I have been mostly listening to one of my old Clubhouse Classics compilations including such belters as....

Touch Me I'm Sick - Mudhoney

Teenage Riot - Sonic Youth

In and Out of Grace - Mudhoney

Temple of Love - Sisters of Mercy

Only Losers Take the Bus - Fatima Mansions

Freak Scene - Dinosaur Jr

Longe Route (spelling? :huh: ) - Young Gods

Duel - Swervedriver

f**king magic. :D

Superb selection of music there Herbie - takes me back :D

Longue Route's a tune I've not heard in a long while. Think I'll annoy the neighbours with that one tonight.