Wiping Your Computer

paisleybuds

Does anyone have step by step instructions for me to wipe the computer and re-install windows xp.  :)

203087[/snapback]

Save your own stuff as best you can onto CD or whatever and just stick in the CD that came with the PC in the first place................

Dodgy porn sites again.................?

Naw man, you don't need to re-install everything just to get shot of a virus.

Go to http://www.free-av.com and download their personal AntiVir Classic. It's free and is probably the best antivirus programme out there (unless you like throwing money at Norton etc.)

Run the install and set their 'Luke Filewalker' programme to work on your hard drive. It'll find and scrub just about any nasties you care to name. I used to reckon I was fairly careful when it came to this sort of thing but AntiVir found all sorts of stuff that the likes of Adaware and SpyBot missed completely.

And be more particular in your choice of adult entertainment portals!!!

Go to http://www.free-av.com  and download their personal AntiVir Classic. It's free and is probably the best antivirus programme out there (unless you like throwing money at Norton etc.)

203144[/snapback]

Can anyone else back this up in anyway shape or form because Im currently looking to run a newer one :unsure:

Not that I doubting you Alba

Another thing is .... Shall I have to remove Norton because last time I tried something like this the download and norton didnt get on at all :blink:

my computer is running really slow and continually crashing.

205385[/snapback]

OTHER THINGS TO LOOK AT IF RUNNING SLOW and crashing...

Too many icons on your desktop: you really need very few icons there. I've got 8 and that's too many - I could cut that down.

You should delete (point at them and right click to find delete) all those that are just shortcuts to programs you have available anyway. (those icons with wee arrows in the corner) They ALL demand space and time and be kept available for use when you don't really need that ALL the time. You can get to them via your menus.

Clear out your files of crap (Photos, sound files music, videos, jokes) you've downloaded over the years - unless it's StMirren-related.. and EMPTY your rubbish bin, too.

Run Defrag on your hard disk after you've got shot of all that. Defrag takes all the wee bits of things that are stored higgledypiggledy all over the place, and stacks them neatly bside each other. That way you're machine disnae have to run roon like a maddy to find the last wee bits...

After doing that recently, I still found my interaction with the web to be SO SLOOOOOW. Running at worse than dial-up speeds! :angry:

I'm on the web, broadband with BT and use a voyager router for our wireless connection. That had been on 24/7 for 326 days. I switched it off. Waited 20 seconds. Switched it back on and voila! 2 mega connection speeds! :)

So I can now be on here, being even more boring - but quicker than usual. But this may help some people. Such a simple fix...

OTHER THINGS TO LOOK AT IF RUNNING SLOW and crashing...

Too many icons on your desktop: you really need very few icons there.  I've got 8 and that's too many - I could cut that down.

You should delete (point at them and right click to find delete) all those that are just shortcuts to programs you have available anyway.  (those icons with wee arrows in the corner) They ALL demand space and time and be kept available for use when you don't really need that ALL the time.  You can get to them via your menus.

Clear out your files of crap (Photos, sound files music, videos, jokes) you've downloaded over the years - unless it's StMirren-related.. and EMPTY your rubbish bin, too.

Run Defrag on your hard disk after you've got shot of all that.  Defrag takes all the wee bits of things that are stored higgledypiggledy all over the place, and stacks them neatly bside each other.  That way you're machine disnae have to run roon like a maddy to find the last wee bits...

After doing that recently, I still found my interaction with the web to be SO SLOOOOOW.  Running at worse than dial-up speeds! :angry:

I'm on the web, broadband with BT and use a voyager router for our wireless connection. That had been on 24/7 for 326 days.  I switched it off. Waited 20 seconds. Switched it back on and voila!  2 mega connection speeds! :)

So I can now be on here, being even more boring - but quicker than usual.  But this may help some people.  Such a simple fix...

205402[/snapback]

Best AV programme on the market is NOD32

Download the free 30 day trial version at:

http://www.nod32.com/home/home.htm

Also... a wee hidden directory that stores lots of crap in XP...

go to...

My Computer

Local Disk (C:)

Documents and settings

Owner (or named persons profile)

select:

Tools

Folder Options

View

Show Hidder Files and Folders

A new directory will have appeared called 'Local Settings'

In that folder, you have two folders, the contents of which can be deleted:

Temp

Temporary Internet Files

You can also delete your history files too PB.... and cover your tracks!!!!!!!

That can be done for each user of the computer who has their own log-in set up.

Lastly... go back into

Tools

Folder Options

View

and select 'Do not Show Hidder Files and Folders'.

System all nice and clean now!!!