Top 5 Tunes That Hit The Spot

ST SID

1. Del Amitri - Nothing Ever Happens

2. Andrew WK - Never Let Down

3. Queen - Don't Stop Me Now

4. Frenzal Rhomb - Let's Drink A Beer

5. Less Than Jake - Sugar In Your Gas Tank

Depends what "spot" is needing hit - that's why all these songs are a bit different.

• Replies 318
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Your fooling no c"nt creepybawz...anyway...

This week:

1. Down in the Valley - The Lost Trailers (a must play on Radio Argyll FJ)

2. Nashville - David Mead (you might like this too FJ)

3. Shot By Both Sides - Magazine

4. Promises - Buzzcocks

5. Everybody's Changing - Keane

Shut it, Fatboy. :lol:

This week:

1. B-Boys Makin with the Freak Freak - Beastie Boys

2. It Can't Come Quickly Enough - Scissor Sisters

3. Eyes Wide Open - Radio 4

4. Mr Brownstone - Guns N Roses

5. The Girl With The Sun In Her Head - Orbital

Eh? EH?

HH's playlist this week:-

1. Powderfinger - Neil Young (from the '92 live album Weld, ragged and glorious)

2. When it Falls - Zero 7 (smoother than a silk glove hand job)

3. In the Court of the Crimson King - King Crimson (an ancient, beautiful nightmare of a song)

4. I Don't Wanna Grow Up - The Ramones (what everyone REALLY thinks and set to a great rock & roll tune)

5. In Your Arms - Mylo (album of the year so far and a rare example of a sample being put to good use)

This week

Can't Explain - The Who

Sweet Harmony - Beloved

Apparantly Nothing - Young Disciples

It Doesn't Make It Alright - The Specials

Boys Don't Cry - The Cure

Respect is due again sur!!!

Does anyone know what that song is that is kicking about at the moment, has great sampled strings and has some young lass talking about growing up in the Eighties with her and her sisters having to look after themselves and stuff? Great hooks in it, sounded good.

Anyone?

Guest stuart316

5. Wonder Stuff "Size of a Cow"

4 Madness "It Must Be Love"

3. Ash "Shining Light"

2. Queen "You're my Best Friend"

1. Herb Alpert "This Guy's in Love With You"

I have loved all those songs for years - top 5 tunes hardly ever change.

You know, I am starting to get a little worried that LeamingTon Buddy Boy has been looking at my record collection and that we may have some sort of musical St Mirren to Morton/Morton to St Mirren shock transfer thing happening here!

Higher than the Sun, The Sun Rising and to a lesser extent Dry The Rain are songs I would never tire of, first two prob in my top ten tunes ever. Respect.

Jsut by Radiohead is one of the top rock songs ever too.

Guest .verbal.
If anyone ever deserved to be a one hit wonder, then it is the beta band.

:o:o:o:angry:

Yer hole! With the exception of (most of) their first proper album their output has been fantastic!

Brilliant live too B)

Higher than the Sun, The Sun Rising and to a lesser extent Dry The Rain are songs I would never tire of, first two prob in my top ten tunes ever. Respect.

Donga,

The Beloved, in general terms, never got the credit they deserved. Always glad to hear when someone else appreciates that too (even a soapdodger!)

Also the Beta Band are great, one hit wonders, my arse.

Guest .verbal.
If anyone ever deserved to be a one hit wonder, then it is the beta band.

Dry the rain is a brilliant song, pretty much everything else they have done is pish.

Well done - now they've gone and split up.....Happy now? <_<

anyway....just now's top 5 tunes are:

Out Side - The Beta Band

I Know my Love - James Yorkston & the Athletes

Elevation of Love - Esbjorn Svensson Trio

I Beleive in Bugs - Ivor Cutler

The Sash my Father Wore - ballboy (favourite lyrics of all time)

Page three girls get you excited

You support Rangers and Man United

All you do all day is take up space

with a stupid look on your stupid face

You had a girlfriend you really loved

but you were a shit and she got fed up of it

I dont know what you do

but I know we'd be better of

without you, without you

Cos you're a big fat bigoted arsehole

you're a big fat bigoted arsehole

I know, I know, I know

You've got Billy tatooed on your neck

and a Union Jack above your bed

You've got nothing intelligent to say

and no one's listening to you anyway

anyway, anyway, anyway

Cos you're a big fat bigoted arsehole

I know, I know, I know

and I know you know

What a load of gr'n'k scumbag loving pish in this thread. <_<

1. Steve Earle (ft EmmyLou Harris) - Comin' Around

2. Falling Down - Tim Booth

3. Harold & Joe - The Cure

4. Fighting for it All - Mindy Smith

5. You Shook Me All Night Long - AC Dixie (f'k'n outrageous beyond belief :lol: ) (Also do a brilliant verion of Motorhead's Ace of Spades on their new album as well as a great pish take of The Darkness)

Edited by ST SID

Well done - now they've gone and split up.....Happy now? <_<

I take full responsibilty. If it cheers you up any, I will not be saying the same about ballboy who are a fantastic band. :)

Here is a special John Peel inspired top five

1. Ballboy - Donald in the bushes with a bag of glue

2. Meanwhile back in Communist Russia - Acid drops

3. Melys - Chinese Whispers

4. Undertones - Teenage Kicks

5. The Fall - Bonkers at Phoenix

It was an English bloke I know from the Wee Howff who told me about the Ballboy track. He's been up here for many years and says the only thing he dislikes about Scotland is the sectarianism. Oh aye, and he hates the BBC commentary as well.

I see Grace is about to be re-released. I dunno, I just can't get into that album. Mind you, I think it's one of these you have to listen to a lot and I've not got round to listening to it for more than a dozen times even though I've had it for yonks.

People go on about Jeff Buckley's voice, and a fine singer he was. However, I reckon he's eclipsed by the late, great Billy McKenzie of The Associates. What a voice HE had! Soaring, swooping, diving, climbing, call it what you will, but it was superb.

This weeks tunes:-

1. Test For Echo

2. Sweet Miracle

3. Peaceable Kingdom

4. Cold Fire

5. Everday Glory

All by Rush. Oooooh!!! Cannae wait for September!