Smfc-On This Day.....

HSS

1971.....League Cup QF 2nd Leg....A....Annfield.....Stirling Albion 0 SMFC 3 (Agg 0-5)

We're all going to Hampden and it's not to see us playing Queens Park!!!

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1971&GameID=1304

I used to love going to Annfield.Big ground,big floodlights,dressing rooms in the Big House...there was something special about it.

http://www.caledonianfc.co.uk/groundsfornostalgia/annfield.jpg

1971.....League Cup QF 2nd Leg....A....Annfield.....Stirling Albion 0 SMFC 3 (Agg 0-5)

We're all going to Hampden and it's not to see us playing Queens Park!!!

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1971&GameID=1304

I used to love going to Annfield.Big ground,big floodlights,dressing rooms in the Big House...there was something special about it.

http://www.caledonianfc.co.uk/groundsfornostalgia/annfield.jpg

I enjoyed that night. My dad couldnae go, so my grandpa took me on the Supporters Bus. Dinnae know which one but the Bus was a black and white Western Scottish.

1960....Div 1....H......SMFC 1 Third Lanark 0.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1960&GameID=729

Saints goal scorer,Alistair Miller,is 3rd on the left of the back row of this photo.

http://www.blackandwhitearmy.com/forums/uploads/post-1886-1252934408.jpg

2012....Scottish Communities (League) Cup....H....SMFC 1 Hamilton Accies 0.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=2012&GameID=3549

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ09lnsdGRSPQ744imgvpZ-pU6tvUqoMBRrDwuAbQ2LkJLvhJrt49z5xYE

We are away to Aberdeen in the QF.

Edited by HSS

A wee Sun bonus for you all.......

Here's a wee bonus for today....

1959....Friendly....A....City Ground.....Nottingham Forest 2 SMFC 3.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1959&GameID=675

This was a 2 legged challenge between the Scottish and English FA Cup winners.

1959....H.....SMFC 2 Nottingham Forest 2.(Agg 5-4)

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1959&GameID=677

1955....League Cup Semi Final.....I*rox....Motherwell 3 SMFC 3 (AET)

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1955&GameID=478

Replay 8th Oct.

Saints hat trick hero.....Tommy Gemmell

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/TommyGemmell.jpg

Edited by HSS

And your wee bonus today is...

1980....UEFA Cup R1 Leg 2...SMFC 0 Elfsborg 0.(Agg 2-1)

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1980&GameID=1805

After qualifying for the next round the Saints Fans showed their appreciation to the team....by BOOING them off the park!!

A wee Sun bonus for you all.......

This was a 2 legged challenge between the Scottish and English FA Cup winners.

1959....H.....SMFC 2 Nottingham Forest 2.(Agg 5-4)

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1959&GameID=677

Bit of trivia nonsense. Stewart Imlach who played for Forest was a Scot whose son is Gary Imlach who presented Tour de France & NFL on channel 4 a few years back.

Considering it was a midweek game the 20,000 must be some kind of Saints record for essentially a friendly.

The largest midweek crowd that I've been in at Love St must have been the SC replay versus Celtic when the official attendance was 27,166 but everyone who was there that night says it was higher.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1979&GameID=1765

I'm sure this match was televised. Would love to see footage of it.

I'd like to see the footage also, just to see if Celtic's winning goal was as far offside as i remember.

1987.....Premier League...A....Brockville.....Falkirk 1 SMFC 3.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1987&GameID=2230

Brockville?If you stood along the side you couldn't see the touchline,if you stood behind the goal you couldn't see the goal line.The toilets were disgraceful and the stairway out was a death trap.

I loved it,always a great atmosphere.

http://bettermeddle.org.uk/museum/grounds4.php

1987.....Premier League...A....Brockville.....Falkirk 1 SMFC 3.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1987&GameID=2230

Brockville?If you stood along the side you couldn't see the touchline,if you stood behind the goal you couldn't see the goal line.The toilets were disgraceful and the stairway out was a death trap.

I loved it,always a great atmosphere.

http://bettermeddle.org.uk/museum/grounds4.php

I mind Chalmers second goal.Scoring with only 1 boot on

1980....Premier League....A....Rugby Park....Kilmarnock 1 SMFC 6(six)

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1980&GameID=1806

Great day out.Went to the game in my mates Triumph Herald,which I later bought from him,with a fair sized carry out.6-0 up before an hour was played then we took the foot off the gas.The old Rugby Park was another ground with a great atmosphere.

http://images2.mediastorehouse.net/167/5957960_170_160_0_0_fit_6_997ad97774e9a912168836bb05cf26f8.jpg

Edited by HSS