I'm Listening To....

Bud the Baker

Not one of his best. 'Don't Try This At Home' was infinitely better.

Perhaps, but it's still a good album, especially the title track. Saw him do some of that stuff at Celtic Connections a few years back.

I think, though, my fave BB album is Talking to the Taxman... Fantastic.

And furthermore, despite the fact there are times he suffers from cloth-eared syndrome (well, okay, he doesnae like Rush) I should defend Mickey R’s musical taste as they are nothing if not sometimes rather groovy. Many years back I pilfered a few sounds from his hoose one Sunday afternoon to compile together and these were, in no particular order, as follows:-

(I Don’t Want to go to) Chelsea – Elvis Costello & the Attractions

Silly Thing – Sex Pistols

Tommy Gun – The Clash

Your Silent Face – New Order

Sheila Take a Bow – The Smiths

Happy Hour – The Housemartins

(There Ain’t No) Sanity Clause – The Damned

How Soon is Now? – The Smiths

(I’m Not Your) Stepping Stone – Sex Pistols

Are ‘Friends’ Electric – Tubeway Army

Panic – The Smiths

The Great Rock n’ Roll Swindle – Sex Pistols

Some top tunes there I think some of you will agree.

And furthermore, despite the fact there are times he suffers from cloth-eared syndrome (well, okay, he doesnae like Rush) I should defend Mickey R’s musical taste as they are nothing if not sometimes rather groovy. Many years back I pilfered a few sounds from his hoose one Sunday afternoon to compile together and these were, in no particular order, as follows:-

(I Don’t Want to go to) Chelsea – Elvis Costello & the Attractions

Silly Thing – Sex Pistols

Tommy Gun – The Clash

Your Silent Face – New Order

Sheila Take a Bow – The Smiths

Happy Hour – The Housemartins

(There Ain’t No) Sanity Clause – The Damned

How Soon is Now? – The Smiths

(I’m Not Your) Stepping Stone – Sex Pistols

Are ‘Friends’ Electric – Tubeway Army

Panic – The Smiths

The Great Rock n’ Roll Swindle – Sex Pistols

Some top tunes there I think some of you will agree.

All excellent

You feeling alright Greig there's 3 Smiths tunes there

Oh aye, and listening to Getting Away with It by Electronic. One of my all-time favourite songs.

Listened to the Electronic 1st album last night - first time in ages, and still sounded excellent. Not much filler, and the live set at the Barras in late 91 was ace, marred only by Smiths obsessives turning up and staring at Johnny Marr, but clearly not enjoying the output.

All excellent

You feeling alright Greig there's 3 Smiths tunes there

I'm a generous sort of bloke and willing to admit that The Smiths did some good songs depite me not liking them. It's an acknowledgement in the same way that being a Pink FLoyd fan I know that by and large they were superb but still had the odd howler. :D

Just to prove I'm not infallible, I also like the Duffy album, Rockferry. :D

Yep. Me too. :D

Listened to the Electronic 1st album last night - first time in ages, and still sounded excellent. Not much filler, and the live set at the Barras in late 91 was ace, marred only by Smiths obsessives turning up and staring at Johnny Marr, but clearly not enjoying the output.

Which is one of the main reasons I hate the fúcking Smiths.

Get the Message & Getting Away with It on constant repeat. Absolutely superb.