Top 5 Things That Us Oldies Have Enjoyed

Wilbur

1. The joys of measles, chickenpox, mumps and German measles. Unavoidable for all kids born in 1950s and before.

2. Having 37 Scottish Football clubs playing in a 2 league structure (18 and 19 teams) - no poxy SPL or Premierleague self-preservation b*st*rds.

3. Experiencing the delights of a half-second flash of an actress's nipple on the cinema screen and thinking it was hard core pornography. The old ABC at the corner of Lady Lane was the place for that thrill.

4. The disgusting taste of warmer-than-room-temperature free milk in primary school. Yeeeeeuch !!

5. Going into the bookies to LISTEN to the horse racing on the closed-circuit radio.

Edited by Wilbur

ok i'm not an 'oldie' and havent really experienced any of them (i did have chickenpox however).

but something you never see anymore is children being 'lifted over' at football games.

as a small child (between about 5 and 9) almost every away game i attended i got lifted over.

cant remeber the last time i saw that happening

Edited by houston_bud

1. The joys of measles, chickenpox, mumps and German measles. Unavoidable for all kids born in 1950s and before.

2. Having 37 Scottish Football clubs playing in a 2 league structure (18 and 19 teams) - no poxy SPL or Premierleague self-preservation b*st*rds.

3. Experiencing the delights of a half-second flash of an actress's nipple on the cinema screen and thinking it was hard core pornography. The old ABC at the corner of Lady Lane was the place for that thrill.

4. The disgusting taste of warmer-than-room-temperature free milk in primary school. Yeeeeeuch !!

5. Going into the bookies to LISTEN to the horse racing on the closed-circuit radio.

211335[/snapback]

Why did folk all stand in the same direction and stare at the marker's board in ye olde cream-cookies............?

1. Only 3 channels on the tellywith the testcard and the telly closing down at midnight with God Save The Queen.

2. Decent comics- Roy of the Rovers, Tiger, Warlord, Victor, Sparky, Topper etc

3. Vinyl Records- 7and 12 inch, Lps

4. Winter mornings playing fitba on gravel pitches with a mitre mouldmaster, quailty

5. Having decent winters when it snowed for days at a time and everywhere was at a standstill. My weans havent had this pleasure because the snow comes and goes quickly now.

1.Spending the whole summer going between the Renfrew baths with your season ticket and the KG5 fitba parks ( 22 aside or thereabouts)- never being at home from early til late ( never missed nor worried over ) :)

2. having a full fist fight at school with another lad and neither of you getting charged by the police. :angry:

3. Watching Scotland beat England from the schoolboys enclosure at Hampden.

4. New Year house parties that where really good :lol:

5. Going to the Kelburne cinema ( big hall ) and watching a 'B' movie before the main feature. :wink:

f**k i think i'm getting old !! <_<:D

1/ Riding your bike on Christmas morning in 3 foot of snow.Now kids just sit on their arse and play the PS2/X Box.

2/ going sledging doon a big hill

3/ 1/2 pence mixtures at foxbar road shops.You got loads of sweets.

4/ a game of football with a " cudger"

5/ Having to attend Sunday school at church just so you could get a game for the BB the following saturday....Genesis...Exodus...Leviticus..Numbers..Deuteronomy...etc.

Bloody hell I can still remember them. :lol:

Edited to include when Wagon Wheels were the SIZE of Wagon Wheels...not the pathetic efforts you get now. :angry:

Edited by WEE BOB

5/ Having to attend Sunday school at church just so you could get a game for the BB the following saturday....Genesis...Exodus...Leviticus..Numbers..Deuteronomy...etc.

Bloody hell I can still remember them.  :lol:

211508[/snapback]

Was that the midfield then !!! :lol:

4. New Year house parties that where really good :lol:

There was a LOT of whisky(and lemonade) drank at those parties. They were the ones where everybody had a song that they would do (this was pre-karaoke), and without fail they would always sing it. My Mum's was "Lily of Laguna", and my Dad always sang a song called "America" Auntie Ellen sang "Your Cheatin' Heart", and Uncle Hughie a Sinatra number, usually "You Make Me Feel So Young". Looking back on it, they were quite strange, really. I can't imagine anything like it taking place nowadays, although I suppose the modern equivalent would be home karaoke. Anybody ever have a party based around a home karaoke machine ?

1. Frozen Jubblies

2. Raw, chilblained rings around your calfs, where the rim of your wellies carved a sore bleeding rut in the skin....

3. ...because you wore shorts and had bare legs, even through winter, until you were at least 15... :)

4. Having fights in school and everyone else gobbing on the two poor basturts who were actually fighting! (or do ye STILL do that?) :o

5. Fruit cake ends.

5b. Going round the doors asking for 'any empty bottles' which you could then exchange for threepence each - and ye were rich (you could buy an international goal-scorer for eightpence in those days...),

5c. or going round the doors collecting old newspapers, which could be exchanged at the chippies for free chips and bits, (where's yer health and safety in those days? Ach, a wee touch of impatigo and its 'healing' purple paint never harmed anybuddy... :ph34r: )

5d. or carting a cardboard box of your comics round everyone else's doors so you could exchange yours for theirs... (and probably passing on the contagious diseases mentioned above by Wilbur... :lol: )

5e. 1/7d for a pint of light in the pub at the top of West Street, on Broomlands.

And I turned out all right, didn't I? :blink::blink::blink: Didn't I? :nerd

Oh aye - someone asked - so... 1/7d (one shilling and seven pence translates into the equivalent of about 7.5p nowadays. Ye don't know that you're born! (Is that right...?)

Edited by chingford

1 Brutus shirts with 3 foot collars

2 Kipper ties

3 Doc Marten boots

4 Raleigh Choppers

5 Black and white TV (Arthur Montford's jackets still interfered with the picture).

6 Stramashes

7 Turning on a sixpence

8 One camera TV coverage at the games (some things never change)

9 Sherbert dips

10 Lucky bags

1  Brutus shirts with 3  foot collars

2  Kipper ties

3  Doc Marten boots

4  Raleigh Choppers

5  Black and white TV  (Arthur Montford's jackets still interfered with the picture).

6    Stramashes

7    Turning on a sixpence

8    One camera TV coverage at the games (some things never change)

9  Sherbert dips

10  Lucky bags

211661[/snapback]

Plastic sandals for going to Blackpool when you were young and then strangely people of the same age as me were wearing them to go to Valentinos about 15 years later..............

There was a LOT of whisky(and lemonade) drank at those parties. They were the ones where everybody had a song that they would do (this was pre-karaoke), and without fail they would always sing it. My Mum's was "Lily of Laguna", and my Dad always sang a song called "America" Auntie Ellen sang "Your Cheatin' Heart", and Uncle Hughie a Sinatra number, usually "You Make Me Feel So Young".  Looking back on it, they were quite strange, really. I can't imagine anything like it taking place nowadays, although I suppose the modern equivalent would be home karaoke. Anybody ever have a party based around a home karaoke machine ?

211544[/snapback]

Went to just such a party last week over in the Mearns , sang my party piece , a Garth Brooks song, and had a great time ( by all accounts ) - I remember Parties At home when i was young where everyone would sing a song and sometimes i would be forced downstairs to play my guitar for the amusement of all.

Also when i lived up in Wester Ross parties like that were pretty common with plenty of good singers and musicians around and you had to have a perty piece ready for new year. Mine was hide your love away by the Beatles ..... ah the memories !! :lol:

Are skinners jeans ? Maybe a bit like Sea Dogs - crazy bell-bottomed denims some of us wore in the 70s. Bongo probably had a pair. I did.

211780[/snapback]

Skinners were a brand and were straight legged at about the 22-24 inch mark............

I wore white Skinners while playing for the John Neilson cricket team.....

Wrangler brought out skinner cut jeans a few months down the line.........

I had two pairs of jeans made to measure at Douglas Alexanders...............

Sea-Dogs were brushed cotton gay lord numbers..................

I still wear Docs........................

Edited by BongoVonBudvar

And bowling shoes........................  :blink:

211795[/snapback]

Correct Dave, I've 4 pairs of Puma bowling shoes, 1 red, 2 navy and 1 cream..........

I was gutted in August when I made the journey from Calella to Llorret to discover my stockist no longer stocks them.............

My current faves are my all black Converse All stars Hi and my black leather Puma basketball lo......................

Athough I like to alternate with my all black K-Swiss lo............

And ye olde faithful black Samba.................

Correct Dave, I've 4 pairs of Puma bowling shoes, 1 red, 2 navy and 1 cream..........

I was gutted in August when I made the journey from Calella to Llorret to discover my stockist no longer stocks them.............

My current faves are my all black Converse All stars Hi and my black leather Puma basketball lo......................

Athough I like to alternate with my all black K-Swiss lo............

And ye olde faithful black Samba.................

211797[/snapback]

Without doubt, the most fashionable man on the Paisley masonic marbles circuit................