Top Five Scots Words.....

Bill Lees

1. Bam(pot)

2. barry - pishy edinburgh slang

3. bladdered

4. blaw as in Rocky Mc

5. bouftie - too edinburgh for my liking, pre the entire city coming out of the closet.

6. bowfin

7. dangleberries :D

8. dobber

9. edgy (as is keepin')

10. fannybawz

11. fud!

12. gadgie

13. gallus :rolleyes:

14. gantin

15. glaikit

16. grog (remember the grog pit :blink: )

17. Hacket

18. heffer, howfer or howk

19. jakey

20. jobbie / jobbie-jabber

21. mankie

22. minge

23. minger / minging

24. mink

25. mockit

26. mong, n. Mild term of rebuke for someone being particularly 'slow' or not following the flow of conversation.

27. monged - in the above condition thru substance abuse

28. rammy

29. rocket

30. sannies

31. taws

32. wido

33. zube (tube)

Edited by ST SID

ginger (referring to juice)

Actually, this will also thoroughly confuse anybody from Greenock where they refer to ginger as liminaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaade. Which reminds me of a conversation I had in a Greenock shop once.

Me: "Bottle of lemonade, please"

"Burd" behind the counter: "Whit kiiiiind a liminaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaade?"

Me: "Just lemonade please"

BBTC: "Ah heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeard ye the fuuuuuuuuuuuuurst tiiiiiiiiiime. Whit kiiiiiiind a liminaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaade?"

Me: "All I want is a bottle of lemonade."

BBTC: "Aye bit whit kiiiiiiiiiiiiind? Rid cola, dark cola, oarange, limeade?"

Me (finally getting the picture): "Oh right, I'll have a bottle of lemonade lemonade"

BBTC: "Is that clear liminaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaade ye waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaant?"

At which point I lost the will to live and left the shop empty handed.

There is a quality bit in "Not The End Of The World" where a guy from Motherwell talks to an American woman about "thon eejit". She then asks who Johnny Jit is :lol:

Situation once where a Scottish guy said to some English dude, "It's me, do you no ken???"...

English guy replies, "No, where does he work???" :lol:

Cheers, Kev

Guest saint hits the net

1: Crabbit

2: Dunderheid

3:Midden:

4: Stoater:

5: Waarmer (he's a waarmer that yin)

6: Wallies ( like Jack McLaughlin used to waggle)

7: Sheuch (as in the sheuch of your a*se)

8: Beelin

9: Champin

Guest donnam

Tom quite frankly I am shocked by your posting!!!!

At least three of them are not specifically scottish words or phrases....

go and stand in the corner!!!

*points to corner of forum where the bad boys go*

BBTC: "Is that clear liminaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaade ye waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaant?"

:lol::lol::lol::lol: Gutting it with that one - "gutting it" surely another unique Scottish colloquialism :D

f'k'd oot yer "tottie"

"tottie" for a burd too.

ham shank

boaby

tollie

radge

s***e

ratbag

hingoot

blackwhore ( easy way to start a fight in Galloway ) :wink:

7: Sheuch (as in the sheuch of your a*se)

D'ye know, I just realised that I can't think of any other word, in any other language, specifically for that small part of the human anatomy. What does that say about we Scots, I wonder ?

:blink: