Smfc-On This Day.....

HSS

You're playing a blinder, HSS, and we're all rooting for you. It must be getting tougher and tougher now. How much longer?

I'm sure there will come a day where nothing happened.I'll just make something up that day!!

We moved to our brand new cooncil hoose in Glenburn in 1954, the year Bobby Rankin died. About two years later the Braehead Road shops opened and the sweetie shop was owned by Bobby Rankine's widow, known to every one of us weans as Mrs. Rankine. A nice old woman who kept the shop for years. She reckoned she knew more about football than anyone connected with St.Mirren even at the time we won the cup in 1959. Judging by Bobby's age when he died she was probably only in her early 50's when she opened the shop but we always thought she was a really old woman back then.

That's a coincidence Rick.

Her known as Mrs Rankine.

The same surname as Boaby.

Cool.

That's how it was back then. Bit different now. Even our parents seemed to call her Mrs.Rankine back then though. A nice old wummin.

1979...Hampden....Friendly......Scotland 1 Argentina 3....58018

Iain Munro played a brilliant game for Scotland that day.A great player with Saints,equally happy as a full back or winger.Blotted his copybook a bit when he became Saints Manager...............for 24 hours.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iain_Munro

Frank McGarvey also got a game,a matter of days after we sold him to Liverpool.

PS.Another wee guy,Diego Maradonna,played for Argentina that day.Munro marked him out the game.rolleyes.gif

Iain Munro played a brilliant game for Scotland that day.A great player with Saints,equally happy as a full back or winger.Blotted his copybook a bit when he became Saints Manager...............for 24 hours.

PS.Another wee guy,Diego Maradonna,played for Argentina that day.Munro marked him out the game.rolleyes.gif

Maradonna was 17 yrs old....Still raging at not being picked for the '78 world cup squad at 16........Still the man for me,,,,best player ever

Iain Munro...now there was a REAL left back.

1929....Amsterdam.......Friendly.....Holland 0 Scotland 2.

Robert Rankine earned his 3rd Cap in this game and became the 1st St Mirren player to score for Scotland.

There is only 1 other Saints player to score for Scotland since then...............

http://www.fitbastats.com/scotland/game.php?gameid=146

Right boys and girls,look out the sun tan lotion...we're off on our holidays.

1980....Brazil....End of season tour...Bangu 2 SMFC 0....Att 25000.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1979&GameID=1783

25000 for a friendly match shock1.gif

Well, we are the famous St Mirren !

must be about this date, in 200? the cooncil granted the permission to turn Love St in to a supermarket....sparking the move to Greenhill Road and our future financial security. And also the recent League Cup win.

It is all in my diary but cant quite remember which year. I used to have perfect memory for these things....fading a bit noo!

Going to do the same job on the farm today I was doing when I kept nipping in here to see what was happening. I do recall realising how hugely significant a day it was for St Mirren. Where would we be if they had said NO?