The Lawn Tennis Thread

I read your post - it seemed almost convincing - I was almost hooked - I was buying into it...
Until I reached that bit, above!

What a brilliant wind-up merchant you are!  :lol

No wind up, I'm a Nike and Cobra man if truth he told.

You need to commit to convince on the fashionable Links and on the typical Braid's layouts.

I blame my ol man, dragged me into the gowf as a Nipper, I'm eternally grateful to him.

Williams, the other one, against Muguruza today in the womens final today.

The Spanish lady has had a mixed career, the highlights being runner up at Wimbledon 2 years ago and winning the French last year.

Not much between them, and the odds reflect this with Williams being 11/10 and Maguruza 4/5.

Think I'll go for Williams, offering a slightly better return. :rolleyes:

Just watching the women's wheelchair doubles........................astounding how the players can move around on the court.

They just completed a 37 shot rally and while the ball is allowed to bounce twice it rarely did.

Just breath taking at the strength and skill on display.

British women beat the Dutch ladies 2-1, 6-0 in the final set.

Very enjoyable and congratulations.

Decent crowd and the hope is these finals can get onto the bigger courts in the years to come, and why not. :clapping

Centre court looking a wee bit worn this year, the warm weather has resulted in a few more "dodgy" bounces than usual although if you look back to the 70's/80's the court was really worn and harder to read the bounce.

Anyhow, probably the greatest player ever due on the court in under an hour.

Cilic has a chance, big serve and moves well but it's hard to see past Federer.

Looking forward to this. :clapping

On ‎03‎/‎07‎/‎2017 at 8:30 AM, faraway saint said:

Murray declares he is fit, hip problem has been resolved and Sir Andy has announced there will be the 2nd Murray child appearing later this year.

All set up for another Wimbledon victory?

Not sure, the nemesis that is Federer is my main concern.

Bonus is he would only meet him in the final where I believe he would have a better chance.

Federer wins his 8th Wimbledon title, quite a career.

19 grand slam titles.

Just as well he's getting auld, give some other people a chance in the next few years.

14 minutes ago, shull said:

Thought it was his backbone. 

Couldnae find it, just went for his foot. :P

TBH he did put up a bit of a fight in the 3rd set, he was a mess in the 2nd and looked like he was going to pull out so some credit for him putting in some effort. :notworthy

42 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Aye, but reduces my interest considerably.

At least , hang about and report Round One, till all the Brits are papped out. :byebye

Is Mark Cox the favourite ?

4 hours ago, shull said:

At least , hang about and report Round One, till all the Brits are papped out. :byebye

Is Mark Cox the favourite ?

I'll stay interested for some bets, that's about it although I feel there is a change coming with some decent young players who, while they probably won't win it, they will go far and cause some upsets.