faraway saint Posted July 25, 2024 Report Posted July 25, 2024 Murray pulls out of the singles, only competing in the doubles now. Quote
shull Posted July 25, 2024 Author Report Posted July 25, 2024 Torch arrives One day to go Although football is on today. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 26, 2024 Report Posted July 26, 2024 Lunatics have already disrupted the games. Arson attacks on the railway system. I fear this won't be the last. Quote
Albanian Buddy Posted July 26, 2024 Report Posted July 26, 2024 6 hours ago, faraway saint said: Lunatics have already disrupted the games. Arson attacks on the railway system. I fear this won't be the last. I remember well the 1998 WC. It was a great experience but it was noticeable how much Paris had changed culturally since I’d last visited back in the 80s. However it is increasingly unrecognisable now. Streets are all being fenced off in Paris as part of the security of the games. It’s making it a nightmare for local residents and cafe/shop owners. There are many no go districts for police now never mind local Parisians. WTAF. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 26, 2024 Report Posted July 26, 2024 The Olympic Games is a strange event for me. I could honestly not bother if it disappeared altogether but when it starts I find myself being drawn into various events that pass me by for the 4 years between each glitzy showpiece. The French are breaking with tradition and holding the opening ceremony On the river Seine. On that basis alone I'm intending to tune in at 6:30. 👍 Quote
faraway saint Posted July 26, 2024 Report Posted July 26, 2024 1 hour ago, faraway saint said: The Olympic Games is a strange event for me. I could honestly not bother if it disappeared altogether but when it starts I find myself being drawn into various events that pass me by for the 4 years between each glitzy showpiece. The French are breaking with tradition and holding the opening ceremony On the river Seine. On that basis alone I'm intending to tune in at 6:30. 👍 Regretting tuning in as Mrs Faraway has decided to say, quite loudly, EVERY flippin countries name as they appear on various boats. Oh, it's pishing doon in Paris. 😂 Quote
shull Posted July 27, 2024 Author Report Posted July 27, 2024 Bronze medals for the two British girls in the Diving. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 27, 2024 Report Posted July 27, 2024 49 minutes ago, shull said: Bronze medals for the two British girls in the Diving. Aye, only because the Australian lassie almost slipped off the board 😂😂😂 A disaster, fank you very much. 👍 Quote
StanleySaint Posted July 27, 2024 Report Posted July 27, 2024 STOP PRESS - Shull approves of diving shocker!! Quote
pod Posted July 27, 2024 Report Posted July 27, 2024 3 hours ago, shull said: Bronze medals for the two British girls in the Diving. See a lot more of that in the football. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 28, 2024 Report Posted July 28, 2024 Latest exciting news, it's stopped raining in Paris. 👍 Quote
faraway saint Posted July 28, 2024 Report Posted July 28, 2024 (edited) Just witnessed a minor miracle in the tennis. Murray and Evans were facing 5 match points in the 3rd set tie break decider yet STILL managed to come through and win. No words are enough for this, what guts, what strength and such calm heads from both Murray and Evans. He continues to be my hero. Edited July 28, 2024 by faraway saint Quote
shull Posted July 28, 2024 Author Report Posted July 28, 2024 Great Brit Adam Peaty competing in the 100m swimming final in a few minutes. Quote
shull Posted July 28, 2024 Author Report Posted July 28, 2024 Daley and Williams going for gold in the 10m diving final on Monday morning at 10am Quote
shull Posted July 29, 2024 Author Report Posted July 29, 2024 11 hours ago, shull said: Daley and Williams going for gold in the 10m diving final on Monday morning at 10am Silver medals for the British lads. Outstanding they were. The Chinese scooshed it to win the Gold. They were magnificent. What is it about Asians excelling at diving ? Look at Kyogo at Celtic Park. He's a fecking master at it. Quote
shull Posted July 29, 2024 Author Report Posted July 29, 2024 Brilliant Britain win Gold at the Team Eventing. Well done to them and also to the horses. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 30, 2024 Report Posted July 30, 2024 Murray & Evans currently a set up and about to serve at 2-3 down in the second set. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 30, 2024 Report Posted July 30, 2024 44 minutes ago, faraway saint said: Murray & Evans currently a set up and about to serve at 2-3 down in the second set. One set all, team GB lose the second set on the tie break. Here we go, another first to ten points tie break. Quote
faraway saint Posted July 30, 2024 Report Posted July 30, 2024 16 minutes ago, faraway saint said: One set all, team GB lose the second set on the tie break. Here we go, another first to ten points tie break. OMG, another two match points saved and Murray and Evans win 11-9 in the decider. What a man Murray is...... And wee Dan is a fighter. 👍 Quote
faraway saint Posted July 30, 2024 Report Posted July 30, 2024 GB win another Gold in the swimming. Creeping up the medal table. 👍 Quote
shull Posted July 31, 2024 Author Report Posted July 31, 2024 YEE BEAUTY !!! GOLD FOR ALEX IN THE TRIATHLON FANTASTIC Quote
shull Posted July 31, 2024 Author Report Posted July 31, 2024 Brilliant Women Brits win Gold in the Rowing What a morning Quote