Top 5

EL NOMBRE

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

1 Shawshank Redemption - Pure Capracorn!

2 It's a Wonderful Life - Pure Capracorn!!

3 Fight Club - Homoerotic movie for those frightened to admit these tendancies - I'm tough so I can't be gay! :rolleyes:

4 The Matrix - Ever so bad plagiarism of William Gibson's Cyberpunk idiom.

5 Stand By Me - Pure Capracorn!!!

PS - Anyone know the link between 1 & 5?

Both short stories- and both by Stephen King who also wrote another novella which was an utterly keech fillum.

The Running Man.

Edit to include:

Time to make a stand, I like Capra. All film should be seen in the context of its time. Capra's films were good cinema and with a very positive social message.

It's easy to argue that "The grapes of Wrath" does that better, indeed it does. For me "Grapes" is a great film and "Mr Smith goes to Washington" is a good one.

Edited by Tom McB

Time to make a stand, I like Capra. All film should be seen in the context of its time. Capra's films were good cinema and with a very positive social message.

It's easy to argue that "The grapes of Wrath" does that better, indeed it does. For me "Grapes" is a great film and "Mr Smith goes to Washington" is a good one.

Arsenic and Old Lace is the only Capra movie I really like, probably because it's so hammy!

Capra - Should've stuck to his original calling - Chemistry! :P

Arsenic and Old Lace is the only Capra movie I really like, probably because it's so hammy!

Capra - Should've stuck to his original calling - Chemistry! :P

Whit, Arsenic is Capra? :o

Fine film.

He's a Chemist? :unsure: He de Man :wink:

Seriously- he gave a piss for the wee man when a lot of Holywood did not. For that alone he deserves our plaudits.

In a mellow mood. Got a region one DVD of Captains Courageous recently, now there's a fillum :P

1 Titanic pure unaldultarated pish

2 Deerhunter slice of life, badly paced, credibility stretcher

3 Apocalypse Now - WTF other than the Charlie Don't Surf line and Robert Duvall- shite

4 Star Wars. I really like sci-fi but this! Sci fi for the brain dead.

5 Four Weddings and a Funeral. Hugh Grant's in it enuff said

Anything with Tom Cruise in it.