Smfc-On This Day.....

HSS

1909....Div 1....H...SMFC 4 Port Glasgow Athletic 1.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_Glasgow_Athletic_F.C.

Historically not a good day for Saints with a 5-1 gubbing from Dumbarton,a 5-2 gubbing from Thistle and a 9-0 thrashing from a team that no longer exists!!!

Edited by HSS

Maybe not a good day historically but what about 4th Dec 1999 - St Mirren 2 Falkirk 1

Basher scores the winner to keep our run to the 1st Division title on track at around about the same time as my son was born (4.14 pm).

Needless to say I missed the game and my pleas to call him Barry fell on deaf ears.

1977....Anglo Scottish Cup Final L2.....A....Ashton Gate....Bristol City 1 SMFC 1.(Agg 3-2).

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1977&GameID=1637

Saints goal scorer Bobby Reid.....

http://cards.littleoak.com.au/197778_topps_scottish_yellow/stm%20031%20Bobby%20Reid.jpg

If your son is a Saints fan there is always this option when he is 16. At least that way you are not to blame.

http://www.deedpoll.org.uk/CanIChangeMyChildsName.html

Maybe he might change it to Basher.

Anyday that Saints win is a historic day - my two kids were also born on days that Saints won!

Any Saints win is a historic day!!!!! Edited by HSS

1972....Div 2....H....SMFC 7(seven) Hamilton Academical 1.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?

Gus McLeod went one better than his namesake Ally and rammed in 5 goals that day.He actually scored 5 in a row to make it 5-0.I can't find much of his feat on the net which I found surprising.

http://www.stmirren.info/id321.html

PS.Shull was a ball boy at this match!!!

Edited by HSS

Thomas Brooks Craig was playing for Hibs that day. He would one day help a team from Paisley win the League Cup.

Hard to believe only 2,631 supporters were at Easter Road.

It was lashing down with rain that day.

They shut off the away end behind the goals.

They put us in the enclosure beneath the Main Stand.

This was the scariest game of fitba i have ever been to

Wee George Shaw was excellent on the right wing.

Pity our centre forward wasn't up to much

1971...Div 2....H....SMFC 4 Albion Rovers 0.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1971&GameID=1319

I've found another Saints player that I don't remember.Anybuddie else remember the No6,,Billy McDerment??

God save........

http://www.smfcpix.co.uk/image/5958112_170_160_0_0_fit_6_8eb9cea6b6d04ff99d20de67ef547812.jpg

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1971&GameID=1319

I've found another Saints player that I don't remember.Anybuddie else remember the No6,,Billy McDerment??

God save........

http://www.smfcpix.co.uk/image/5958112_170_160_0_0_fit_6_8eb9cea6b6d04ff99d20de67ef547812.jpg

Billy McDerment was a Camphill boy a couple of years older than me. I think I was in first year when he left School and went straight to play for Leicester City. I think he was a schoolboy international. He played for Leicester for about five or six years. I remember him signing for St.Mirren, I think when we were second division. I never saw him play. I was still playing football when he was at Love Street. My surname is not unlike his and a lot of people used to think I was his younger brother. Funnily I was offered a trial with Leicester City but had a bad ankle injury at the time and it never transpired. His younger brother was Chasa, also at Camphill , who was a real character.

I don't recall him, either.

Though here's some stats from newcastelfans.com

BILLY McDERMENT Born: Paisley d.o.b: 5 January 1943

Position: Wing Half

Teams Seasons Apps. Gls.

Source : Johnstone Burgh

Leicester City 62-67 23 1

Luton Town 67-69 40 1

Notts County 69-70 3 0

Greenock Morton 69-72 40 1

St. Mirren 71-72 8 0

to Lockheed Leamington

Totals 114 3

He came to Saints from Morton!

1972....Div 2....H....SMFC 7(seven) Hamilton Academical 1.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?

Gus McLeod went one better than his namesake Ally and rammed in 5 goals that day.He actually scored 5 in a row to make it 5-0.I can't find much of his feat on the net which I found surprising.

http://www.stmirren.info/id321.html

PS.Shull was a ball boy at this match!!!

Indeed i was .

A quiet day for the ballboys, most shots ended up in the back of the Accies net. clap.gif

1993...B+Q Cup Final...N...Fir Park....SMFC 0 Falkirk 3.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1993&GameID=2569

What a day.Absolutely pumped them in the 1st but we couldnae get the ball in the net.

Its also a world record for the amount of rain to fall during a football match.We had the Main Stand and the uncovered end behind the goals and we were soaked to the skin.

I ran a double decker bus from Cafe Borgia and it ended up standing room only,must have been about 100 people on it.(£££££)We partied like winners when we got back,Big Julie eventually bribed us to leave at closing time with 2 cases of beer.:)

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1993&GameID=2569

What a day.Absolutely pumped them in the 1st but we couldnae get the ball in the net.

Its also a world record for the amount of rain to fall during a football match.We had the Main Stand and the uncovered end behind the goals and we were soaked to the skin.

I ran a double decker bus from Cafe Borgia and it ended up standing room only,must have been about 100 people on it.(£££££)We partied like winners when we got back,Big Julie eventually bribed us to leave at closing time with 2 cases of beer.smile.png

We drank in the Wee Howff, and Danny broke with tradition and opened on a Sunday for the pre- and post-match custom. The place was mobbed as we waited for the supporters bus to roll up, and it was double rounds a-go-go.

We got back and everyone was in great form but Danny eventually took the huff at the (inoffensive) singing and closed up. I was raging after this as he had opened the pub specifically to make a few quid from the Saints support, and we had the till bursting at the seems. It was a bit much to then be told that our very good natured singing and carry on was upsetting the other customers!

I boycotted the Howff for about 3 weeks after that, with the Bull getting my custom and that of a few mates, but people eventually trickled back. I was one of the last, but the problem for me was that many of my mates didn't bother about the football so didn't share my indignation. On reflection, I was probably being as petty as Danny, but hey ho!

Absolutely shocking weather, though. I'm not sure if I've entirely dried out even yet.

I ran a double decker bus from Cafe Borgia and it ended up standing room only,must have been about 100 people on it.(£££££)We partied like winners when we got back,Big Julie eventually bribed us to leave at closing time with 2 cases of beer.:)

Whatever happened to that guy who scored their third goal...? :unsure:

I hope you've all dried out from yesterday......

1975...Div 1....A....Bayview.....East Fife 0 SMFC 2.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1975&GameID=1524

Bayview was another ground I used to love going to.........

http://www.footballgroundguide.com/old-grounds-and-stands/bayview-park-east-fife.htm

God save........

Billy McDerment was an instantly recognisable player in that he had a half shut/lazy eye. Saw a Morton team pic from 1970 recently and he was the first player I picked out !

Today is a nightmare day for Saints historically..

P 17....W 1...D 4....L 12.

1945...Southern League A Division...A....Douglas Park...Hamilton Academical 0 SMFC 3.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1945&GameID=20

2 goal hero.....Alex Linwood......

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/AlexLinwood.jpg

Edited by HSS