Smfc-On This Day.....

HSS

Oi Rick,what made you throw in Charlie Tully?

Pretty random!!!

Fair do's, I probably shouldn't have. It's probably an age thing. I saw him play in the 50's a few times and he was massive then, which was amazing for a guy who was barely 5' 4". Most of us agree that legend is used too often to describe players but he deserved it. Even a lot of Rangers fans admired him. I was a young schoolboy when I met him and it was a thrill to meet him. (I'll no mention it again!)

1959....Scottish Cup R2....H....SMFC 10(TEN) Peebles Rovers 0.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1958&GameID=656

Saints goal scoring hero.....Jim Rodger

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/Rodger.jpg

I think we might to have to book one of these......

http://www.anbrico.org/Anbrico_Open%20Top%20Car%20OT40.jpg

PS.This was the 1st competitive game played under floodlights at Love St!!!

Edited by HSS

Fair do's, I probably shouldn't have. It's probably an age thing. I saw him play in the 50's a few times and he was massive then, which was amazing for a guy who was barely 5' 4". Most of us agree that legend is used too often to describe players but he deserved it. Even a lot of Rangers fans admired him. I was a young schoolboy when I met him and it was a thrill to meet him. (I'll no mention it again!)

No probs with you mentioning him Rick,all memories are welcome here.Was just wondering where it came from as nobody had mentioned Tully.

1959....Scottish Cup R2....H....SMFC 10(TEN) Peebles Rovers 0.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1958&GameID=656

Saints goal scoring hero.....Jim Rodger

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/Rodger.jpg

I think we might to have to book one of these......

http://www.anbrico.org/Anbrico_Open%20Top%20Car%20OT40.jpg

I was at that 10-0. Pleasing...

(We had a few of those: Glesca uni, gala fairydean. India of Inchinnan.)

The tram took me back. Aye, and forward...

I'm going to a wedding in June. We'll be cairted from the Kirk in Bow, by an old red Routemaster with open platform at the back, to the reception at Leyton Orient's ground.

If I bump into Scott Cuthbert, I'll ask him if he fancies a berth in central defence.

Charlie Tully intrusion came about cos I'd mentioned a BB camp, which took Rick to memories of his that year in a further flung location.

I somehow understand how auld gits like him wander way off topic.

And hope I don't ever get like him. :)

I'm going to a wedding in June. We'll be cairted from the Kirk in Bow, by an old red Routemaster with open platform at the back, to the reception at Leyton Orient's ground.

If I bump into Scott Cuthbert, I'll ask him if he fancies a berth in central defence.

Charlie Tully intrusion came about cos I'd mentioned a BB camp, which took Rick to memories of his that year in a further flung location.

And hope I don't ever get like him. smile.png

Hey you , it was IBM and Babcocks that Saints reached double figures against in the 60s , India of Inchinnan were my "other" team and their game against Saints was a wee bit closer with my pals dad Peter Holding scoring one of the "Tyres" goals !happy.png

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1963&GameID=940

Edited by billyg

Hey you , it was IBM and Babcocks that Saints reached double figures against in the 60s , India of Inchinnan were my "other" team and their game against Saints was a wee bit closer with my pals dad Peter Holding scoring one of the "Tyres" goals !happy.png

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1963&GameID=940

I think bluto was talking about the 50's billy.....

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1958&GameID=669

Edited by HSS

That WAS the point of me mentioning those games. I did.

There was also a Peebles Rovers big gubbing around then, that I forgot to include.

Fuxake , I was giving you the benefit of the doubt as being a 60s junior supporter , not and old fuddy duddy shutup.gif

If I bump into Scott Cuthbert, I'll ask him if he fancies a berth in central defence

And hope I don't ever get like him. smile.png

Haud oan aboot another ten minutes and you'll be the age I was when I posted.

1984....Scottish Cup R3 2nd Replay....A....Meadowbank Stadium....Meadowbank Thistle 1 SMFC 2.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1983&GameID=2025

The Meadowbank No5 was so good we signed him!!

http://www.smfcpix.co.uk/image/5957996_170_160_0_0_fit_6_96bb379957147267af98fb05edb52073.jpg

Edited by HSS

1984....Scottish Cup R3 2nd Replay....A....Meadowbank Stadium....Meadowbank Thistle 1 SMFC 2.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1983&GameID=2025

http://www.smfcpix.co.uk/image/5957996_170_160_0_0_fit_6_96bb379957147267af98fb05edb52073.jpg

And their number 4 tae whistling.gif

Their number 7 became a St Mirren Legend clap.gif

Their number 8 didnae, he is just a fanny.

That was the one and only time I ever went to Meadowbank. Until now I hadn't realised that I had ever seen Tom Hendrie play, not that I actually remember how he played.

1957....Scottish Cup R6....H.....SMFC 1 Dunfermline Athletic 0.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1956&GameID=565

We're away to Sellic in the QF.

Willie Telfer in action.......

http://m.flickr.com/photos/holygate/8189074234/lightbox/

Willie Telfer at centre forward? I don't remember him ever playing up front. Maybe Bluto or one of the other older guys might recall it.

I dunno - never saw that happen, IIRC.

You would be best to ask one of the older guys, right enough.

And the link tae Flickr pic shows an action shot of a Hertz player trying to get round a Shellic player. Clicking to and fro also never offered an image of WT.

Working ok for me bluto.

1968....Div 2...A....Hampden Park....Queens Park 1 SMFC 4.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1967&GameID=1144

Saints Manager.........Alex Wright.

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/AlexWright.jpg