Smfc-On This Day.....

HSS

2010...League Cup Final.....Aye,that will be right

1981....Premier League....A....Tannadice....Dundee Utd 1 SMFC 2.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1980&GameID=1856

Saints Super Sub....Alan Logan......

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/Logan.jpg

This is becoming more like Airdrie-On This Day....

1982...Premier League...H...SMFC 3 Airdrieonians 0.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1981&GameID=1911

Saints Manager and former Physio......Ricky McFarlane.

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/RikkiMcFarlane.jpg

1919.....Victory Cup R3....H.....SMFC 1 Sellic 0.

Thomson

Att: 20,000

O'Hagan, Marshall, Fulton, Perry, McKenna, Anderson, Thomson, Page, Clark, Sutherland, Hodges.

We're away to Hibs in the Semi.So much for a neutral venue!!

Celtic Legend Patsy Gallagher missed a penalty in this match!

The attendance of 20,000 was a new record for love Street.

2002....Div 1.......H.....SMFC 1 Raith Rovers 0.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=2001&GameID=3052

Saints Keeper.......John Hillcoat....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1840000/images/_1842971_johnhillcoat150.jpg

Edited by HSS

I was at there too. What a great day but I was nearly greetin during the invasion. I thought the scummy shit would get it abandoned. Ex-Celt Willie Fernie was immense that day. He was one of the slowest players I ever saw but if you have classy football you can get away with it. Well, in those days you could. I agreed with the reporter in the newspaper clip who said that Clunie was immense for us. He almost always was. I can hardly remember him having a bad game for us. Legend is used too quickly sometimes but Jim Clunie is right up there with the greatest that ever turned out for us.

1926....Testimonial....A.....Vicente Calderon Stadium.....Athletico Madrid 1 SMFC 2.

Team: - Jock Bradford, Andrew Findlay, Willie Newbiggin, Tom Morrison, Willie Summers, William McDonald, Mattha Morgan, Allan Gebbie, Davie McCrae, Jimmy Howieson, Jamie Thomson.

This was a benefit game for Athleticos Russian Captain...Olaf Proil.He is thought to be the 1st footballer to be awarded a benefit game.

http://www.happyholidays2014.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/april-fools-day-clip-art.gif

1926....Testimonial....A.....Vicente Calderon Stadium.....Athletico Madrid 1 SMFC 2.

Team: - Jock Bradford, Andrew Findlay, Willie Newbiggin, Tom Morrison, Willie Summers, William McDonald, Mattha Morgan, Allan Gebbie, Davie McCrae, Jimmy Howieson, Jamie Thomson.

This was a benefit game for Athleticos Russian Captain...Olaf Proil.He is thought to be the 1st footballer to be awarded a benefit game.

http://www.happyholidays2014.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/april-fools-day-clip-art.gif

Fcuk! I was sure I was at that game.

Another massive game from our history , 1st April 1972 , the defeat v Arbroath that cost us promotion. I would have loved to have seen what we would have done with McQueen , McKean , McLeod , Blair and Munro in the top division. We went a 6 match winning run after this but Arbroath pipped us for promotion!

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1971&GameID=1352

Edited by billyg

Apart from a great game and lovely goals, the thing that stays in my mind was the crowd getting into Davie Holt. He was the dirty bastard that broke Tommy Bryceland's leg in two places a year or two earlier with one of the worst tackles I've ever seen in my life. Nowadays you'd go to jail for a tackle like that. It could have finished TB's career if he hadn't been such a spirited wee bugger. Holt was intimidated that day and was lucky he didn't get strung up.

I see Iain Nicholson all the time.

He coaches Renfrew Vics

Trigger coaches Glenvale

Ricky Gillies coaches St Peters