Paisley Post Code

RickMcD

Absolutely right, faraway. Exactly as Slash said. Try reading the posts before you reply! Just over 2 miles by road.

Try reading the original post before Slash edited which was 1 mile and NO mention of a radius or fcuking crows. lol.giflol.giflol.gif (Post #36)

Listen, I'm not one way or the other in this "miles" debate, only trying to be accurate, as I informed Slash.

At least you lucky buddie baisturts have had a Paisley postcode at one time or another.

I've been under G for Weegieland aw my life apart from the times i went tae Millport for my holidays. Even then it was during the Glesga Fair.

f**kin Boo !

Millport has a KA post code. Is that KIlmarnock or Ayr or both? I would have thought 'G' was better than that but obviously still not as good as 'PA'.

KA , beginning with a K must be the Dundee postcode, as the crow flies.

It’s utterly laughable and a tad bigoted the view some have of Paisley.

I lived in Edinburgh for years, was originally from Paisley but moved there for work, and when moving back to the West for work/family we considered a lot of options, be close to the wife’s family in Bearsden, be close to mine in Paisley and lots of other options in between! My wife and I carefully summed up the pros/cons and were (and still are) delighted to have moved to Paisley! The housing stock itself is GREAT you can get a fantastic buy for your money (probably thanks to said bigots (cheers Mrs from the show ;-) ) ) . If you think about the areas in Paisley itself (not to mention its fine surrounding towns/villages) then you have a massive collection of housing to suit all tastes from the nice starter homes to the more sizeable family homes.

We love the facilities the town has off top of my head I came up with this non exhaustive list:

Town centre – some big shops / some wee shops / most big banks / travel agents etc
Restaurants – lots – tapas / Italian / chipies / pizza / Chinese / Indian / cafes / etc etc
Facilities – Sports centres / swimming pools / various classes at various times
Clubs for kids – soccer stars / bookbug / pace / panda club / etc etc
Library & Museum & Observatory (1 of 4 public in UK!!) & Town Hall
Town events – Fireworks / Fire engine ralley / xmas lights / singing kettle etc
Cinemas * 2
Brahead – 10 mins max
Silverburn – 15 mins
Glasgow – 15 mins
Train – 10 min walk
M8 – 2 mins
Largs / west coast / west highlands – 30 mins!
Housing stock – almost any dwelling and any price / leafy areas (cricket park/Ralston/Elderslie) / new builds / old builds and twice as much space for your money than other areas

The reputation the town had is changing but a few bigots will remain steeped in the tabloid headlines from the 90’s, to those people - enjoy the superiority complex, to the rest of us that live here – enjoy your town.

It’s utterly laughable and a tad bigoted the view some have of Paisley.

I lived in Edinburgh for years, was originally from Paisley but moved there for work, and when moving back to the West for work/family we considered a lot of options, be close to the wife’s family in Bearsden, be close to mine in Paisley and lots of other options in between! My wife and I carefully summed up the pros/cons and were (and still are) delighted to have moved to Paisley! The housing stock itself is GREAT you can get a fantastic buy for your money (probably thanks to said bigots (cheers Mrs from the show ;-) ) ) . If you think about the areas in Paisley itself (not to mention its fine surrounding towns/villages) then you have a massive collection of housing to suit all tastes from the nice starter homes to the more sizeable family homes.

We love the facilities the town has off top of my head I came up with this non exhaustive list:

Town centre – some big shops / some wee shops / most big banks / travel agents etc

Restaurants – lots – tapas / Italian / chipies / pizza / Chinese / Indian / cafes / etc etc

Facilities – Sports centres / swimming pools / various classes at various times

Clubs for kids – soccer stars / bookbug / pace / panda club / etc etc

Library & Museum & Observatory (1 of 4 public in UK!!) & Town Hall

Town events – Fireworks / Fire engine ralley / xmas lights / singing kettle etc

Cinemas * 2

Brahead – 10 mins max

Silverburn – 15 mins

Glasgow – 15 mins

Train – 10 min walk

M8 – 2 mins

Largs / west coast / west highlands – 30 mins!

Housing stock – almost any dwelling and any price / leafy areas (cricket park/Ralston/Elderslie) / new builds / old builds and twice as much space for your money than other areas

The reputation the town had is changing but a few bigots will remain steeped in the tabloid headlines from the 90’s, to those people - enjoy the superiority complex, to the rest of us that live here – enjoy your town.

Not quite sure what your referring to as it's only Stu who's been unfair on Paisley? blink.png

Even at that.................bigot?

At least you lucky buddie baisturts have had a Paisley postcode at one time or another.

I've been under G for Weegieland aw my life apart from the times i went tae Millport for my holidays. Even then it was during the Glesga Fair.

f**kin Boo !

Feckin boooo right enough. When I got my first car, a modified Escort Mk1 (Ford, no' wan o' they granny things on channel 4) I paid 90 quid (in Foxbar) for my insurance, it had a 1100 cc block and a 1350 cc head, went like stink. My mate in Barrhead had a bog standard Triumph Herald, and got stung for £200 for his, and we could only see that it was that he had a G (72) postcode.

G78 for Barrhead.

Not quite sure what your referring to as it's only Stu who's been unfair on Paisley? blink.png

Was referring to the person on the TV show and any other people that play the town down when they don't know all the facts, haven't stepped a foot in the town etc.

I remember organising the anual trip to the Paisley beer festival in work (in a Glasgow based company) and the new start replies all with the same old tired lines of "I hope the glasses are plastic, do you get free smack" etc - it's this kind of talk I was referring to bud.

Was referring to the person on the TV show and any other people that play the town down when they don't know all the facts, haven't stepped a foot in the town etc.

I remember organising the anual trip to the Paisley beer festival in work (in a Glasgow based company) and the new start replies all with the same old tired lines of "I hope the glasses are plastic, do you get free smack" etc - it's this kind of talk I was referring to bud.

That's, as you referred in your original thread, more than likely a throwback to the 90's when, while things did take a turn for the worse, the media did live off that for quite a while.

I get similar comments up here about Paisley but every town/city will have stereotypical nonsense used at every opportunity.

You only have to look around this forum when other towns/cities are referred to in less than flattering terms.whistling.gif

PS Well explained. Sometimes the written post can be misunderstood. No need for anyone to storm off in a huff. wink.png

Paisley went through in the 1990s what Kilmarnock is going though now really. Johnnie Walker, a major town employer shuts, a less than flattering TV programme, a high street in decline, and a big out of town shopping mall opening that is easy to drive to.

What Paisley needs is consistent investment in the centre with improvements to the fabric of the buildings and streetscapes.

Paisley has too many shops for today- we're never going to fill all the shops- especially when people can keep them shut and not pay little taxes on them. What we need is a clear plan and vision to improve the town centre, increase people living in the town centre and convert some of the buildings to flats- but not just selling them to the buy to let crowd!

Unfair? Really? What bit?

It's a few years since I spent any discernible time in the town but my best mate used to own a flat up next to the Observatory. It was a nice place, some kind of old nursing home and he had the top floor flat - a one bedroom starter flat which offered a turret where he put a round dining room table. The flat itself was really nice and the location looked good, especially if you drove there, but any time I did the walk from Gilmour Street to his house, or when I remembered my crampons and a bottle of oxygen and tackled those ridiculously steep stairs the same thing kept on blighting the area whether that was the array of discarded drunks cuddled up to their Buckfast bottles, often in a passed out state, or the collection of syringes that appeared to litter the route.

More recently my son obtained free tickets for the St Mirren v Hearts match at the end of the season. My girlfriend came to the game with us. Being the daughter of a former Bilston Glen miner she's hardly pretentious or posh, but in a bid to get out of the traffic when leaving the stadium I turned down into the West End to what looked like the remnants of Dresden after the allied bombing in 1945. She quickly pressed the central locking button on the console of the car just so she could feel that little bit safer. She's not usually that squeamish after all she'd already bravely walked from where we parked the car in McKean Street, up Murray Street to the stadium past piles of dog shit along crumbling pavements.

It's not a pretty town. There's nothing really to see there, and nothing to bring people in. Even in it's current derelict state the town planners haven't worked out a way to keep the traffic flowing or how to get people parked. And it's only going to get worse too. It's a shame cause clearly the town is handy for the commuters to Glasgow but the residents of the town just don't see to give a f**k about it.

On here in the past I've mentioned a superb restaurant in Wishaw with a large whisky collection which has people travelling to it from all over the central belt. The owner is a man called Derek Mathers, a Paisley man who used to work as a chef in one of the eateries through there. He's managed to get the Artisan restaurant listed and ranked highly in the Whisky Societies directory of places to visit and as a result it's gaining a bit of a name for itself from those who enjoy a dram from all over the world. You'd have thought that a business like that would have been perfect in a town next to an international airport but instead he's yet another Buddie that's slipped through the net. Never mind, your loss is certainly my gain. Having a place like that within walking distance is superb.

Wishaw , Motherwell , Hamilton , Airdrie , Coatbridge aye Stuart Scotland's top tourist attractions what a scream they are all big time shit holes.

Do you know these places well IOBS? Dearie me.

You're, without being as detailed as Stu, just as bad painting places you, more than likely, have never lived in, as "shitholes".

Stu, my earlier point, and a similar one that caused Poz to meltdown, was that pointing put only the extreme is ludicrous, more so from people that don't live in the town.

While I can't refute your colourful post above I could easily paint decent aspects of the town, and I don't even live there anymore. whistling.gif

If that's all you "see" and haven't the balls to admit there are plenty of decent places to live etc in the town you are extremely disturbed and, if it wasn't obvious at times, you seem to enjoy saying the opposite to others for some sort of "laugh".

Do you know these places well IOBS? Dearie me.

You're, without being as detailed as Stu, just as bad painting places you, more than likely, have never lived in, as "shitholes".

Stu, my earlier point, and a similar one that caused Poz to meltdown, was that pointing put only the extreme is ludicrous, more so from people that don't live in the town.

While I can't refute your colourful post above I could easily paint decent aspects of the town, and I don't even live there anymore. whistling.gif

If that's all you "see" and haven't the balls to admit there are plenty of decent places to live etc in the town you are extremely disturbed and, if it wasn't obvious at times, you seem to enjoy saying the opposite to others for some sort of "laugh".

Faraway, I grew up in Hillington. Paisley was on my doorstep. My Mum still lives in Crookston. I'm not going to claim I've wandered through every part but I certainly used to walk on a regular basis along the Paisley Road / Glasgow Road, past Barshaw Park, and on into the town centre. I also used the other route through Paisley, up through the back road into Gallowhill or Arkleston where I used to work as an apprentice. I know those area's well and still do. I spent nights out as a teenager in both Paisley and Glasgow - Paisley certainly carried more "menace" and the population of Paisley appeared to revel in it's reputation.

I did my qualifications for my apprenticeship at Reid Kerr College, and studied NDT at the Paisley College of Technology back in the 90's and my ex wife and their family were from Barrhead so I obviously know the likes of Crow Road, and the routes up through the Glennifer Braes. And on our wedding day we had the reception in Paisley Town Hall and used the grounds at the Abbey for the backdrop to many of our photos. We even spent our honeymoon night in what then was an absolute shite hole of a honeymoon suite at the Watermill Hotel.

I'm obviously a good bit older now. I've been back to Barshaw Park in recent years, and drive along Glasgow Road. I've been in the town centre - if you can call it that any more - a couple of times and obviously I've done the Seedhill, and Hawkhead routes plenty of times going from my Mums to Paisley over the years. And, having been to Greenhill Road a few times, I've used different routes back to the motorway whether it's been going through Ferguslie Park to come out at Linwood, or going back to Shortroods and on at the airport. It's not getting any prettier. And while I admit that there are probably parts of Paisley that I haven't seen I don't really feel any great urge to go an explore - and I would suggest that many of the foreign visitors into the area who have stepped off a place will feel much the same way too.

Obviously I don't count Ralston as being in Paisley - we've done that debate before - but the boundary marker is quite clear on Glasgow Road. Paisley starts just East of Hawkhead Road. Ralston, for the record, is OK although I would say that even there is looking a good bit more tired than it used to and we've certainly got similar houses in size and style in Wishaw that sell for a far more reasonable price.

Wishaw , Motherwell , Hamilton , Airdrie , Coatbridge aye Stuart Scotland's top tourist attractions what a scream they are all big time shit holes.

It's subjective of course but many of the houses in Wishaw enjoy spectacular views over the Clyde Valley and there's a lot of money come into the town over the last 15 years. The improvements started around the time Wishaw General Hospital opened. Currently Wishaw town centre has been going through a redevelopment that is costing a pile of money. It's affected trade in the town really badly actually but the parts that have reopened look much better for it. We'll wait and see what the final outcome is when it's all completed but regardless of how the town actually looks the Clyde Valley is only a very short walk away.

You can slate Motherwell and Hamilton if you want but Strathclyde Park draws many more visitors to it every month than Barshaw Park does in a year. Motherwell too is undergoing expensive redevelopment works. Some of the large concrete blocks that blighted the town have gone. The main shopping area needs a great deal of work but then with plans in the offing for a new shopping centre in Ravenscraig it could be that the old shopping centre will simply be replaced with a new more modern one a few miles from the current location.

I'm no fan of Coatbridge either but again in terms of visitor numbers people travel to Coatbridge for the Time Capsule, Summerlee Museum and to Drumpellier Park.

I would say the description of shiteholes is probably accurate if you shop in Lanarkshire, but most people don't live in shopping centres through here. :rolleyes:

The image of Paisley is still very much of a rough, run down town.

I was at an Elaine C Smith show the other night and she was less than complimentary, in a "poking fun" sort of way.

Not sure if this will ever change TBH.

An ugly duckling can change they say. And I don't think it's all that bad. How many former industrial towns in the UK don't have some real tatty bits?