St Mirren v St Johnstone SPFL PREMIERSHIP 28/10/23

I had an interesting day on Saturday at the SMISA stadium!

Arrived at the queue to enter via the turnstyle only to see a large collection of the boys and girls in blue (and bright yellow see in the dark over-jackets!). Wondering what on earth such a conglomeration of our finest crime fighters was doing at a battle of the two Saints, I happened to mention the fact to the two people in front of me in the slow-moving line. It turned out that neither had any idea, since this was their first visit to Paisley and in particular they had come to see the game...... all the way from Holland. One was an Ajax supporter and the other was a PSV fan. We exchanged pleasantries and hoped they would see a good game with a few goals!

Once inside the ground I got to my seat and as usual there were a few announcements and at one point the guy next to me stood up and said; "that was me he was announcing"! So we had a few exchanges and I established he and his wife had travelled up the day before and they were having the weekend here and the highlight was tickets to see the game. Another couple of people who had never seen the Saints before!

As it turned out they had chosen St. Mirren as the team in Scotland to support 10 years ago, but whilst watching their results every week, they had never managed to see them live......... so his wife had surprised him by buying tickets for his birthday and not until they had crossed the border and were heading for Glasgow did he have any clue where they were going.

As for our finest bobbies........ they were there to protect anyone from the so-called casuals or if you want to be more precise the disaffected youths of the town, who gathered after the game was over and they then escorted them into the depths of the surrounding housing and left them to get on with their shenanigans wherever they re-collected themselves........ who knows if they enjoyed themselves, but certainly our first visitors and hopefully new-found supporters did, it was good to watch in the 2nd half. :clapping

On 11/1/2023 at 9:59 AM, The Original 59er said:

I had an interesting day on Saturday at the SMISA stadium!

Arrived at the queue to enter via the turnstyle only to see a large collection of the boys and girls in blue (and bright yellow see in the dark over-jackets!). Wondering what on earth such a conglomeration of our finest crime fighters was doing at a battle of the two Saints, I happened to mention the fact to the two people in front of me in the slow-moving line. It turned out that neither had any idea, since this was their first visit to Paisley and in particular they had come to see the game...... all the way from Holland. One was an Ajax supporter and the other was a PSV fan. We exchanged pleasantries and hoped they would see a good game with a few goals!

Once inside the ground I got to my seat and as usual there were a few announcements and at one point the guy next to me stood up and said; "that was me he was announcing"! So we had a few exchanges and I established he and his wife had travelled up the day before and they were having the weekend here and the highlight was tickets to see the game. Another couple of people who had never seen the Saints before!

As it turned out they had chosen St. Mirren as the team in Scotland to support 10 years ago, but whilst watching their results every week, they had never managed to see them live......... so his wife had surprised him by buying tickets for his birthday and not until they had crossed the border and were heading for Glasgow did he have any clue where they were going.

As for our finest bobbies........ they were there to protect anyone from the so-called casuals or if you want to be more precise the disaffected youths of the town, who gathered after the game was over and they then escorted them into the depths of the surrounding housing and left them to get on with their shenanigans wherever they re-collected themselves........ who knows if they enjoyed themselves, but certainly our first visitors and hopefully new-found supporters did, it was good to watch in the 2nd half. :clapping

Ha Ha. I have a similar story.

Me an my Bro in law were sat in the Wee Howff pre match and got talking to a lad from Cumbria. He heard me mention Jersey and said that he worked out here for years. We asked him what he was doing in Paisley and he said that every so often he picks a Scottish ground to go to and this was his first visit to St. Mirren Park. He joined us at our table and we were blethering away when another guy with an antipodean accent came up to us to ask us how long the walk was to the stadium. This was only about 2.15 so we told him not to panic and take a pew with us. Turns out he was a Kiwi guy (lives in Suffolk) who goes to watch teams with NZ internationals and this was his first trip to see St. Mirren/Greive.

By this time, Portmahomack Saint has joined us in the pub, but he was driving so was on the alcohol free stuff. Being the gentleman that he is, he gave us all a lift to the stadium, but not only that, he gave the boy from Cumbria (who hadn’t bought a match ticket yet) a spare he had on the day. The Kiwi guy already had a ticket. 
Post match he gave them both a lift back to the wee Howff. My bro in law and I met them back in there and had a few scoops. The Cumbria lad had to shoot off about 6.30 to catch his train home, but the Kiwi guy was going up Ashton Lane to meet his son to watch the Rugby World Cup Final. I had to head back up to the west end anyway, so I went with him and watched the first half with him and his boy. 
Two perfect gentlemen to meet on a random wee day at the fitba. I hope they enjoyed their day out and left with good memories of Paisley/St. Mirren. 

6 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Me an my Bro in law were sat in the Wee Howff pre match and got talking to a lad from Cumbria. He heard me mention Jersey and said that he worked out here for years. We asked him what he was doing in Paisley and he said that every so often he picks a Scottish ground to go to and this was his first visit to St. Mirren Park. He joined us at our table and we were blethering away when another guy with an antipodean accent came up to us to ask us how long the walk was to the stadium. This was only about 2.15 so we told him not to panic and take a pew with us. Turns out he was a Kiwi guy (lives in Suffolk) who goes to watch teams with NZ internationals and this was his first trip to see St. Mirren/Greive.

By this time, Portmahomack Saint has joined us in the pub, but he was driving so was on the alcohol free stuff. Being the gentleman that he is, he gave us all a lift to the stadium, but not only that, he gave the boy from Cumbria (who hadn’t bought a match ticket yet) a spare he had on the day. The Kiwi guy already had a ticket. 
Post match he gave them both a lift back to the wee Howff. My bro in law and I met them back in there and had a few scoops. The Cumbria lad had to shoot off about 6.30 to catch his train home, but the Kiwi guy was going up Ashton Lane to meet his son to watch the Rugby World Cup Final. I had to head back up to the west end anyway, so I went with him and watched the first half with him and his boy. 
Two perfect gentlemen to meet on a random wee day at the fitba. I hope they enjoyed their day out and left with good memories of Paisley/St. Mirren. 

Nae karaoke? Slipping up there mate. 😂 

On 11/3/2023 at 11:44 AM, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

I can vouch for this story  :rolleyes:  it was definitely alcohol free I was drinking,  it won't happen again i promise  :guinness