EL NOMBRE Posted January 18, 2008 Report Share Posted January 18, 2008 1/ "....retains the ball well..." :- Has little creative talent and moves in a sidewards motion,playing short passes to a team-mate no more than 3 feet away.(For this see Paul McStay,Barry Ferguson et al) 2/ "....always puts in a shift..." :-Again little actual talent,but runs around a lot giving the impression of actually doing something.(For this see Stuart Kean,Alex Bone et al) 3/ "....a good footballing brain...":-Past their peak,and the legs have gone.Tends to play short passes to other team-mates no more than 3 feet away.(See Russell Latapy).N.B. A player who may have been categorised as Number 2(see above),but in latter years has changed to resemble the description for 1(see above) 4/ "...commanding in the air..." :-Mainly refers to very tall players who by their stature should obviously win every high ball played up to them (See Richard Gough,Gordon McQueen).NB Also used when very little other skill apparent,other than the ability to leap like a salmon from a standing start. 5/ "....been a good servant to the club...":-Closely follows after number 3(see above),and refers to a player who is now plainly not up to the task,and whose future will shortly lie elsewhere.(See Press for details) 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howard Hughes in BlueSuedeShoes Posted January 18, 2008 Report Share Posted January 18, 2008 2/ "....always puts in a shift..." :-Again little actual talent,but runs around a lot giving the impression of actually doing something.(For this see Stuart Kean,Alex Bone et al) Isn't this going againstthe grain of not slagging any of the current Saints squad? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EL NOMBRE Posted January 18, 2008 Author Report Share Posted January 18, 2008 Isn't this going againstthe grain of not slagging any of the current Saints squad? Seems my work here is done. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howard Hughes in BlueSuedeShoes Posted January 18, 2008 Report Share Posted January 18, 2008 Seems my work here is done. As before, I only asked a question... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
simon templar Posted January 19, 2008 Report Share Posted January 19, 2008 "Good, honest, pro..." = Shite "Covers every blade of grass..." = Runs about like a c**t. Does f**k all worthwhile. Shite. "Never shirks a tackle..." = Dirty bastard. Does f**k all except try to break cunts' legs. Shite. "Tricky winger..." = Wee, skinny c**t with twigs for legs. Lightweight as f**k. Shits himself from the slightest of tackles. Shite. "Good shot-stopper..." = Makes the odd save look better than he had to. f**king crap at cross balls. Never commands his area. Blames every other c**t for losing goals. Shite. "Veteran ..." = Old as f**k. Well past his best and would never get a game for any other c**t unless he was stepping down about 2 leagues. Shite. "Still to fulfill the promise he showed at the start of his career..." = This c**t has turned out to be shite. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Sandman Posted January 19, 2008 Report Share Posted January 19, 2008 'Ugliest guy in my cup final video......................... ' Dave Bowman............................... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
simon templar Posted January 19, 2008 Report Share Posted January 19, 2008 'Ugliest guy in my cup final video......................... 'Dave Bowman............................... That's only because you can't actually see Terry Butcher... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howard Hughes in BlueSuedeShoes Posted January 19, 2008 Report Share Posted January 19, 2008 That's only because you can't actually see Terry Butcher... Or Colin McNab. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
saintnextlifetime Posted January 19, 2008 Report Share Posted January 19, 2008 " No better than what we have" - I'm not totally convinced by this player but despite the fact he would give us more depth , I've been asked to get aces on the cheep and I don't think he is one of them , It could come back to haunt me later , I might have to loan him to a 1st Div side to see his worth , has a goal scoring record but someone told us he likes to go clubbing etc 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimdickloyal Posted January 19, 2008 Report Share Posted January 19, 2008 "The players interests and ours did not match" - Fell out with the gaffer or likes to steal other players property nb see big German thieving bastard "Is a great prospect" - is really a wee boy "younger players will benefit from his experience" - is very old "a leader on the park" shouts a lot, moaning faced b'stard "takes a good free kick" - his free kicks are rather good 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aber 87 Posted January 19, 2008 Report Share Posted January 19, 2008 " Again i can`t fault the lads for effort ".......... Even though its the transfer window im stuck with this talentless dross, and the first sign of a new managerial post and im off 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aber 87 Posted January 19, 2008 Report Share Posted January 19, 2008 Did you hear me say that on Wednesday Anchor/Victoria/Anchor/Victoria/?????????????? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
saintargyll Posted January 26, 2008 Report Share Posted January 26, 2008 chairman.."the managers job is safe".......the manager is fcuked and will be sacked within the week 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saints Slick Posted February 16, 2008 Report Share Posted February 16, 2008 (edited) How about "I dadnae see the incident"..? Meaning either , "Look - you f**king saw whit happened, and i f**king saw whit happened. If ah say even as much as the ref goat it wrang, I'll get fined and barred fae the dugoot. So take ye mike and shove it, ya wee shite stirrin' dick". Or "Aye - oor boay done him. Fair and square. Ah saw it, but amnae gona say that. So take yer mike and shove it, ya wee shite stirring dick". Edited February 16, 2008 by Saints Slick 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
saintnextlifetime Posted February 18, 2008 Report Share Posted February 18, 2008 "They put us under pressure in the first Half "- They showed up our weak points and we had to bring on our super-sub to get control of the game/just as well the ref remembered to red card their key man 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
simon templar Posted February 18, 2008 Report Share Posted February 18, 2008 "The state of the pitch could end up being the cause of us losing points at some stage in the season" - f**k knows how we're fifth in the league! How f**king long can this go on before we get found out!? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EL NOMBRE Posted February 18, 2008 Author Report Share Posted February 18, 2008 In Lieu of the tattie howkers game.... "You just have to look at their bench to see the quality we're up against..." Squeaky pants time again for Gus. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
crudenbud Posted February 18, 2008 Report Share Posted February 18, 2008 1. 'the cultured winger' - he's left footed, occasionally puts in a decent cross 2. 'fox in the box' - only scores tap ins, crap outside the box or in one-on-ones 3. 'continental keeper' - wears short sleeves/couldnt catch a beach ball 4. 'great pro' - never been a standout, but solid player who plays 35 games a season at the age of 35+ 5. 'utlity man' - squad player, usually has more sub appearances than starts, never plays the same position 2 weeks running 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saint Garf Posted March 11, 2008 Report Share Posted March 11, 2008 "old fashioned Centre forward" - A big heed-the-baw. "reads the game well" - Slow as a week in the jail but get away with it somehow. I cant think of another 3...the list here is pretty comprehensive. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saints Slick Posted March 18, 2008 Report Share Posted March 18, 2008 "The state of the pitch could end up being the cause of us losing points at some stage in the season" - f**k knows how we're fifth in the league! How f**king long can this go on before we get found out!? Turning out to be prophetic words Mr T... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Svensen Posted March 18, 2008 Report Share Posted March 18, 2008 "cracking first touch" - f**k all else in his game, prob no bad at keepy ups though... "likes the game in front of him" - slow, probably too fat and/or old. "luxury player" - lazy b*st'rd "one of Europes top midfielders - a stand out in the SPL" - I pure luv wee Barry, he's a right good Proddie anaw "Goalkeepers are born, not made" - This boy could get a game for Hibs... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
North Sea Saint Posted April 1, 2008 Report Share Posted April 1, 2008 Keep ye'r high ba's low 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted April 1, 2008 Report Share Posted April 1, 2008 Baws !! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...