Smfc-On This Day.....

HSS

I know it was only Glasgow Uni, but it was a great,great day. I've mentioned Gerry's ten before. What a legend. I'd forgotten Jackie McGugan scored. His goals were rarer than hens' teeth. There were eight of the 59 cup winners playing including the full forward line. A crowd of 7,500 too! To see a uni team? We'd love crowds like that now.

If I'm right, that was students rag week that year and a student ran on with a can and got the coin off the ref that he used for the toss-up. A nice touch.

I remember my Dad telling me it was rag week.He told me the students went round the track holding sheets by the corners and the fans all threw money in.

1987...Scottish Cup R3....H...SMFC 3 Inverness Caledonian 0.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1986&GameID=2202

We are away to the soap dodgers in R4.

Fergie..........

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/IanFerguson.jpg

Edited by HSS

1971....Scottish Cup R3...2nd Replay....H....SMFC 3 East Fife 1

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1970&GameID=1295

We are at home to R#ng#rs(Deceased) in R4.

Saints hat trick hero.........Archie Knox.

http://www.glenrothesarabs.com/Player%20a-z/Graphics/Knox%20A1.jpg

There used to be a "camera gantry" in the wee enclosure,nothing more than scaffolding that was floored out.The enclosure was so busy that night and a few of us youngsters got put on the scaffold for a better view.A couple of days later our picture appeared in the PDE with a caption about Fans of the future.I was chuffed to bits!!!

Edited by HSS

1971....Scottish Cup R3...2nd Replay....H....SMFC 3 East Fife 1

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1970&GameID=1295

We are at home to R#ng#rs(Deceased) in R4.

Saints hat trick hero.........Archie Knox.

http://www.glenrothesarabs.com/Player%20a-z/Graphics/Knox%20A1.jpg

There used to be a "camera gantry" in the wee enclosure,nothing more than scaffolding that was floored out.The enclosure was so busy that night and a few of us youngsters got put on the scaffold for a better view.A couple of days later our picture appeared in the PDE with a caption about Fans of the future.I was chuffed to bits!!!

pretty sure this was my first game at Love St under floodlights

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1986&GameID=2201

A few well kent yins in the away team.

Martin, Manley ( by name, girly by nature ) and McCormack.

Also Kidd, Eadie and Bubbles brother.

Pish attendance.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1986&GameID=2202

Fergie..........

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/IanFerguson.jpg

I remember the Caley number 9 being a shite Blue Vermin F.C. ( DECEASED ) player lol.gif

Most of that Caley team were firemen.

My auld boy played against them in the firemen league.

Renfrewshire team played the Highland lot in a few finals.

Ruined the trophy though instead of champagne it was EL D they filled the cup with thanks to the soapdodgers who played.

Burned the inside of cup it did

1996...Div 1....H....SMFC 5 Dumbarton 0.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1995&GameID=2721

15 year old Chris Iwelumo made a scoring debut for Saints just hours after finishing his paper round.

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2008/10/11/chris4.jpg

1996...Div 1....H....SMFC 5 Dumbarton 0.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1995&GameID=2721

15 year old Chris Iwelumo made a scoring debut for Saints just hours after finishing his paper round.

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2008/10/11/chris4.jpg

I take it Lee Sharp was on loan to Dumbarton from United just before he went to Leeds?

1956....Scottish Cup R5.....H......SMFC.6(six) Third Lanark 0.

We are away to Airdrie in next round.

Hat trick hero.....Bobby Holmes.

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/BobbyHolmes3.jpg

1956....Scottish Cup R5.....H......SMFC.6(six) Third Lanark 0.

We are away to Airdrie in next round.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1955&GameID=509

Hat trick hero.....Bobby Holmes.

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/BobbyHolmes3.jpg

You really must have enjoyed that game HSS!lol.gif