faraway saint Posted August 1 Author Report Share Posted August 1 Enjoyable, funny and the usual far fetched fighting scenes, what's not to like. Just over 2 hours and it passed in an instant, a sign that I really enjoyed it. 9/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted August 11 Author Report Share Posted August 11 (edited) As Mrs Faraway was away in Edinburgh last night I had the TV all to myself so I watched two movies. The first, History of Violence, was reasonable but I doubt it would have won any Oscars. Easy watch, a decent 6.5/10 from me. The second offering, Bone Tomahawk, was a bit too gory for me at times, hands in front of eyes a few times. Kurt Russell was decent and, the gory scenes apart, it was reasonable. A 7.5/10 from me. Edited August 11 by faraway saint Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eastlandssaint Posted August 20 Report Share Posted August 20 Alien: Romulus (2024) - IMDb Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted August 23 Author Report Share Posted August 23 Watched this yesterday, a jaunty wee tale from World War 2, quite enjoyable with my biggest issue being too much shot in the dark. Could hardly see anything for spells, similar to an early Batman movie. That apart, quite good, the 2 hours flew past which is usually a good sign. 8.5/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StanleySaint Posted August 23 Report Share Posted August 23 1 hour ago, faraway saint said: Watched this yesterday, a jaunty wee tale from World War 2, quite enjoyable with my biggest issue being too much shot in the dark. Could hardly see anything for spells, similar to an early Batman movie. That apart, quite good, the 2 hours flew past which is usually a good sign. 8.5/10 Is on my list of things to watch so thanks for the review and the tip about the dark, big bug bear of MrsS Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted August 23 Author Report Share Posted August 23 4 hours ago, StanleySaint said: Is on my list of things to watch so thanks for the review and the tip about the dark, big bug bear of MrsS Thanks mate, hope you enjoy. Just watched a brilliant movie starring Morgan Freeman (does he ever star in s shit movie) Can't fault it, another 2 hour movie that just flew by in no time. An easy 9.5/10 for me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted August 24 Author Report Share Posted August 24 I said I didn't think that Morgan Freeman starred in a shit movie, I might have found it. The Ritual Killer, although Freeman wasn't the lead man, had a reasonable storyline but was badly acted, especially the lead detective who as totally unconvincing throughout. Never worked for me I'm afraid, a disappointing 5./10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted August 31 Author Report Share Posted August 31 A really "laugh out loud" film, especially for any fathers of girls, all the worst possible scenarios you could imagine. An easy 9.5/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted October 11 Author Report Share Posted October 11 Meant to say, last weekend watched Rebel Ridge. Never got to where I thought it would, fizzled out and had one of those absolutely pointless endings. A disappointing 5/10 for me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chalky1 Posted October 11 Report Share Posted October 11 2 hours ago, faraway saint said: Meant to say, last weekend watched Rebel Ridge. Never got to where I thought it would, fizzled out and had one of those absolutely pointless endings. A disappointing 5/10 for me. Watched this a few weeks ago and I was like wtf? I've justed wasted a few hours of my life Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted October 11 Author Report Share Posted October 11 1 hour ago, chalky1 said: Watched this a few weeks ago and I was like wtf? I've justed wasted a few hours of my life Just over 2 hours mate, pretty much what I said at the end. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted October 19 Author Report Share Posted October 19 I'm having a nightmare right now, that's two weeks in a row I've picked a real shit movie. Last night's offering was pretty poor from the start. The dialogue was poor, and the acting was wooden from the guy who played Aquaman. Then, to make matters worse, about 10 minutes from the end, there was an unlikely twist that, when you look back at the previous hour and a bit, wasn't really possible. Overall, a poor 4/10. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted October 22 Report Share Posted October 22 On 10/19/2024 at 9:26 AM, faraway saint said: I'm having a nightmare right now, that's two weeks in a row I've picked a real shit movie. Last night's offering was pretty poor from the start. The dialogue was poor, and the acting was wooden from the guy who played Aquaman. Then, to make matters worse, about 10 minutes from the end, there was an unlikely twist that, when you look back at the previous hour and a bit, wasn't really possible. Overall, a poor 4/10. Have you watched Channel 4 drama Secret State starring Gabriel Byrne 4 episodes... I sat up all night watching all 4 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hunterian Posted October 23 Report Share Posted October 23 On 8/11/2024 at 8:25 AM, faraway saint said: As Mrs Faraway was away in Edinburgh last night I had the TV all to myself so I watched two movies. The first, History of Violence, was reasonable but I doubt it would have won any Oscars. Easy watch, a decent 6.5/10 from me. The second offering, Bone Tomahawk, was a bit too gory for me at times, hands in front of eyes a few times. Kurt Russell was decent and, the gory scenes apart, it was reasonable. A 7.5/10 from me. Very unpleasant, difficult to see the point it was making Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted October 25 Report Share Posted October 25 (edited) Venom trailer with a rework of "Wild World" Edited October 25 by beyond our ken Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted November 13 Author Report Share Posted November 13 Watched "Priscilla" last night. No real need to explain the story. Certainly painted Elvis is a very poor light. The movie was a watchable 6.5/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted November 14 Report Share Posted November 14 On 11/13/2024 at 10:13 AM, faraway saint said: Watched "Priscilla" last night. No real need to explain the story. Certainly painted Elvis is a very poor light. The movie was a watchable 6.5/10 It can't be said in my house, alongside being a gifted performer he as a selfish, spoiled, self-obsessed man who really didn't work hard on his gifts or his art. His behaviour around female-near adults was questionable at best and he seemed to enjoy an immunity around it that wasn't extended to other "child-bride" husbands like Jerry Lee-Lewis (quite rightly) . Both their marriages to kids would not be legal in most jurisdictions and probably not be legal in the states today. Outside of the music, there wasn't a lot to like. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted November 14 Author Report Share Posted November 14 10 minutes ago, beyond our ken said: It can't be said in my house, alongside being a gifted performer he as a selfish, spoiled, self-obsessed man who really didn't work hard on his gifts or his art. His behaviour around female-near adults was questionable at best and he seemed to enjoy an immunity around it that wasn't extended to other "child-bride" husbands like Jerry Lee-Lewis (quite rightly) . Both their marriages to kids would not be legal in most jurisdictions and probably not be legal in the states today. Outside of the music, there wasn't a lot to like. Wasn't she 21 when she married Elvis? That apart, aye, grooming her from a young age, about 14 as I recall, was an uncomfortable watch. Constantly being surrounded by "yes men" and a manger who was only interested in the buck contributed to him being the arsehole he was, certainly around women. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eastlandssaint Posted November 15 Report Share Posted November 15 Juror #2 (2024) - IMDb Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted November 26 Author Report Share Posted November 26 Took granddaughter to see Paddington in Peru on Sunday night. I'm afraid it's lost whatever it had since the first Paddington movie. It was ok, had a few amusing moments but was a bit predictable at times. Just scrapes a 6/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eastlandssaint Posted November 29 Report Share Posted November 29 Gladiator II (2024) - IMDb Excellent sequel Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...