HSS Posted November 25, 2007 Report Share Posted November 25, 2007 Anybuddie recommend a new computer for the Big Chap? I don't want to spend a fortune. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrs SFS Posted November 25, 2007 Report Share Posted November 25, 2007 Anybuddie recommend a new computer for the Big Chap?I don't want to spend a fortune. The wee computer shop across from Langs Bar in Moss Street does good deals. I got my new one from there, built to my own spec, for £440. They've got standard units a lot cheaper. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted November 25, 2007 Author Report Share Posted November 25, 2007 Are you better going to a wee shop rather than PC World/Comet etc? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reidy1987 Posted November 25, 2007 Report Share Posted November 25, 2007 Are you better going to a wee shop rather than PC World/Comet etc? Would you rather buy your next car from Arnold or a small local dealer who knows what he's doing and is actually interested in his customers? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
proud2beabuddy Posted November 25, 2007 Report Share Posted November 25, 2007 Are you better going to a wee shop rather than PC World/Comet etc? Never buy a pc from PC World. Their computers are mostly rubbish, customer service is non existant and if you take your computer to them to be fixed they just f**k it up even more. They are absolutely rubbish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted November 25, 2007 Report Share Posted November 25, 2007 Anybuddie recommend a new computer for the Big Chap?I don't want to spend a fortune. The penny is dropping.......... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted November 26, 2007 Author Report Share Posted November 26, 2007 The penny is dropping.......... and I caught it before it hit the floor Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dmc Posted November 26, 2007 Report Share Posted November 26, 2007 Anybuddie recommend a new computer for the Big Chap?I don't want to spend a fortune. Seriously.... build your own!! It ain't hard and you can get so much higher a spec for yur dough!! So many "idiots" guides on the net, there's no excuse not to!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
North Sea Saint Posted November 26, 2007 Report Share Posted November 26, 2007 and I caught it before it hit the floor Wi the back o' ye'r heid Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted November 26, 2007 Report Share Posted November 26, 2007 Seriously.... build your own!!It ain't hard and you can get so much higher a spec for yur dough!! So many "idiots" guides on the net, there's no excuse not to!!!! How can ye read them if you've no built it yet ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chingford Posted November 26, 2007 Report Share Posted November 26, 2007 The penny is dropping.......... and I caught it before it hit the floor Wi the back o' ye'r heid How can ye read them if you've no built it yet ? If HSS can do that with a falling coin - he can do anything. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crispian Crunchie Posted November 28, 2007 Report Share Posted November 28, 2007 Never buy a pc from PC World. Their computers are mostly rubbish, customer service is non existant and if you take your computer to them to be fixed they just f**k it up even more. They are absolutely rubbish. Yeah, Garry Glitter said something like that too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joe Posted November 28, 2007 Report Share Posted November 28, 2007 Never buy a pc from PC World. Their computers are mostly rubbish, customer service is non existant and if you take your computer to them to be fixed they just f**k it up even more. They are absolutely rubbish. Also if you try and upgrade you are fecked. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ST SID Posted November 30, 2007 Report Share Posted November 30, 2007 Fujitsu Seimens are top notch and excellent value. I've got an FS desktop and laptop. Prices are excellent too. Laptop was under £300 from Makro....good spec desktop wasn't much more from one of the high street leccy retailers...might even have been dixons. Don't buy an extended warranty as they're bog roll, plus knowing your download habits you'll be too feart to send it back for repair. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Love Street Central Posted November 30, 2007 Report Share Posted November 30, 2007 i am getting a 37" flat screen telly - what do I do ? Plasma or LCD - seems the Panasonic Plasma Viera ( new ) is best in class - any recommendations , good and bad experiences ?? Baffult !!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ST SID Posted November 30, 2007 Report Share Posted November 30, 2007 i am getting a 37" flat screen telly - what do I do ? Plasma or LCD - seems the Panasonic Plasma Viera ( new ) is best in class - any recommendations , good and bad experiences ??Baffult !!! Too big fur the hoose unless you live in a good sized pub. Anything bigger than 26" in the hoose is penis compensation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Love Street Central Posted November 30, 2007 Report Share Posted November 30, 2007 Too big fur the hoose unless you live in a good sized pub. Anything bigger than 26" in the hoose is penis compensation. Helpful insofar as I never considered my house as a good sized pub , but now that Stayin In is the New Going Out I will indeed be maxing out my viewing rights as landlord........................ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Svensen Posted December 3, 2007 Report Share Posted December 3, 2007 (edited) Are you better going to a wee shop rather than PC World/Comet etc? Generally Aye, But as others have said you can buy good PC's from Lenovo, HP, Sony etc.. This place is OK for parts/machines, if you dont fancy building it yourself these guys will do it... (look at the systems bit on the left hand side for deals) Edited December 3, 2007 by Svensen Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted December 8, 2007 Author Report Share Posted December 8, 2007 Got a new one and I'm well happy with it. What a difference to the old one which I fear is destined for the great computer scrap yard in the sky. It's 7 years old now,dead slow and was forever freezing up on me.Anybuddie know if it's fixable? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Svensen Posted December 18, 2007 Report Share Posted December 18, 2007 Got a new one and I'm well happy with it.What a difference to the old one which I fear is destined for the great computer scrap yard in the sky. It's 7 years old now,dead slow and was forever freezing up on me.Anybuddie know if it's fixable? If you really want to keep it you could reinstall Windows or whatever onto the machine, depends what you need to use it for. If it's just for web browsing etc you might fancy installing a free Linux distribution instead of Windaes, it needs a lower spec of machine to work, is less succeptible to virus' and is generally more stable... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoWSaint Posted January 13, 2008 Report Share Posted January 13, 2008 Priceless Computing opposite PC world in Finneston is great for diy computing... and LSC, go with LCD over plasma. I love my 42 incher ;) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FS Posted January 13, 2008 Report Share Posted January 13, 2008 i am getting a 37" flat screen telly - what do I do ? Plasma or LCD - seems the Panasonic Plasma Viera ( new ) is best in class - any recommendations , good and bad experiences ??Baffult !!! Get an LCD, they can handle the colour changes better than plasma and cheaper to repair if they fail. Also aim for as close to 1920X1080 resolution as you can afford, as this is the only 'true' high definition resolution. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...