Smfc-On This Day.....

HSS

2002...Div 1...H.....SMFC 4 Falkirk 4.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=2002&GameID=3037

I was night shift and slept in for the game. Wakened at 3:05pm and by the time I had a quick wash we were a goal down.Jumped a taxi to the game and we went 2 down,only continued because I had a season ticket.Got down in time for us to go 3 down.I'd just sat down and there were Saints Fans leaving!!Then the comeback began......

Edited by HSS

2002...Div 1...H.....SMFC 4 Falkirk 4.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=2002&GameID=3037

I was night shift and slept in for the game. Wakened at 3:05pm and by the time I had a quick wash we were a goal down.Jumped a taxi to the game and we went 2 down,only continued because I had a season ticket.Got down in time for us to go 3 down.I'd just sat down and there were Saints Fans leaving!!Then the comeback began......

I remember it well. We passed the wee barrel after the game. One of my deserter mates asked what the final score was and they didnt believe me.

Edited to add.

I didn't believe me either and I witnessed it all unfold.

I also have the programme from the day.

going by the Saint team, Aber must have not just been wearing the number 3 shirt but also actually playing left back. I don't recall if that was a regular happening or not.

Fantastic team though and what a cuffing to give Rangers.

1987...Premier League....A....Tannadice...Dundee Utd 2 SMFC 3.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1987&GameID=2238

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/KennyMcDowall.jpg

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/CampbellMoney.jpg

Campbell Money got carried off injured in this game and as there were no sub goalies Kenny McDowell took over in goals.He had an outstanding game as keeper.

Edited by HSS

2012...League Cup QF...A...Pittodrie....Aberdeen 2 SMFC 2.(AET)Pens 2-4.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=2012&GameID=3556

Here's the pens...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxQFEsfXCW0

We've drawn Sellic in the Semi!!!!

that's us oot then!

going by the Saint team, Aber must have not just been wearing the number 3 shirt but also actually playing left back. I don't recall if that was a regular happening or not.

Fantastic team though and what a cuffing to give Rangers.

Aber often played left back before Stevie Clarke .

Bearing in mind from during the early eighties , we had Stark Fitzpatrick , Richardson and Weir / Scanlon as a fourman midfield,it was quite difficult for Aber to be included in the midfield , With McDougall ,Mc Avennie ,Bone and Somner fighting it out for the two striking positions , Jimmy Bone often dropped into an attacking midfield role just behind the main strikers , making it even harder for Aber to get a game.

During the early eighties Aber was one of those players that wasn,t a first team choice ,but always managed 25 games a season either coming off the bench or filling in for injuries and suspensions.

Also worth bearing in mind was that Saints had McCormack Copeland and Fulton fighting for the two central defence positions , and quite often Cowboy would be pushed into the midfield.

Saints weakness during this time was the full back positions where we had Young and Beckett , who were not bad ,but if they got injured there was no coer , so we would often see Cowboy and Aber in these positions if it meant getting the best eleven players on the park.

Aber often played left back before Stevie Clarke .

Bearing in mind from during the early eighties , we had Stark Fitzpatrick , Richardson and Weir / Scanlon as a fourman midfield,it was quite difficult for Aber to be included in the midfield , With McDougall ,Mc Avennie ,Bone and Somner fighting it out for the two striking positions , Jimmy Bone often dropped into an attacking midfield role just behind the main strikers , making it even harder for Aber to get a game.

During the early eighties Aber was one of those players that wasn,t a first team choice ,but always managed 25 games a season either coming off the bench or filling in for injuries and suspensions.

Also worth bearing in mind was that Saints had McCormack Copeland and Fulton fighting for the two central defence positions , and quite often Cowboy would be pushed into the midfield.

Saints weakness during this time was the full back positions where we had Young and Beckett , who were not bad ,but if they got injured there was no coer , so we would often see Cowboy and Aber in these positions if it meant getting the best eleven players on the park.

Once Stevie Clarke came in,he stayed in.

He only played left back for 1 season as Tommy Wilson was the right back.

Once Wilson got done in by Dawson at Ibrox on the opening day that Clarke moved over to his natural position on the right.

Then he played sweeper the following season and before he left getting regular run outs in midfield where he was running the show.

A game against Celtic at Parkdead stands out.

Left back was a problem since Munro left as various players played there Aber,McAveety,Hamilton,Winnie,D Walker and Beckett.

Only until Tam Black was signed we had a regular left back

1987...Premier League....A....Tannadice...Dundee Utd 2 SMFC 3.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1987&GameID=2238

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/KennyMcDowall.jpg

http://www.stmirren.info/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/People/CampbellMoney.jpg

Campbell Money got carried off injured in this game and as there were no sub goalies Kenny McDowell took over in goals.He had an outstanding game as keeper.

3 cracking goals as well.

The monk was indeed excellent in this game

1987.....Cup Winners Cup R2 L2...H...SMFC 0 Mechelen 2.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1987&GameID=2239

Mechelen look to be a very good team and it would be no surprise to me if they go on and win this competition.

1987.....Cup Winners Cup R2 L2...H...SMFC 0 Mechelen 2.

http://stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1987&GameID=2239

Mechelen look to be a very good team and it would be no surprise to me if they go on and win this competition.

Nae chance!