How The Natsi's Work - From The Inside

Stuart Dickson

Do you not want to answer? Is that cause you buy yours 3 for £10 from Primark?

Gonnie tell me one thing before we let this go though. Where exactly are these ghost like communities in the former industrial belt in Scotland? I've lived in Lanarkshire all the way through the period before and after the closure of Ravenscraig and I can't identify with your description of any area around Motherwell. Indeed even on the land that the old steel plant sat on is rows upon rows of new build houses - every single one of them selling long before they are built despite prices ranging from a minimum of £100k up to £350k.

Are you seriously suggesting that it's a good thing to have house prices STARTING at 4 times the average wage in Scotland and going up to 15 times the average wage in one of the crappiest areas of the country? Edited by oaksoft

Are you seriously suggesting that it's a good thing to have house prices STARTING at 4 times the average wage in Scotland and going up to 15 times the average wage in one of the crappiest areas of the country?

Nope. But what I am clearly suggesting is that it's not a ghost like industrial wasteland which is what Sally claimed it was. Ravenscraig went as did the mines, but Lanarkshire has survived and thrived regardless.

You seriously have no clue what your talking about do you so just to put you straight as obviously the divets that run this site allow you to spout this pish.

Your comments on Roots, Ravenscraig and no doubt the miners is all blaming what? The workers, the industry and the market, total typical Tory rubbish.

\Shipbuilding, our taxes sky rocketed and made trade almost impossible, that saw a huge rise with Holland and Japan, who with a less skilled workforce won contract after contract.

As for the car industry, don't make me laugh. Governments have never supported home made industry, which is why all british cars are no owned by other countries, that was the death.

I haven't worked out if you are anti Scottish, anti british or just hate humans. Think its the latter and shame on the so called mods that obviously don't read the pish you spout, mind you who can blame them, now away back to your dark wee hole

Your first 8 words accurately describe the remainder of your laughable post! :lol:

Hmm, fwiw it is utterly despicable that politicians are all chiselling into each other in order to claim the moral high ground, all after a stark image of a deceased young boy on a beach.

Makes me want to vomit , but then why should it , that's politics after all.........................

For me, this issue has highlighted how Sturgeon and the SNP will sink to any depths to get what they want.

They really are the Scottish equivalent of UKIP.

You seriously have no clue what your talking about do you so just to put you straight as obviously the divets that run this site allow you to spout this pish.

Your comments on Roots, Ravenscraig and no doubt the miners is all blaming what? The workers, the industry and the market, total typical Tory rubbish.

\Shipbuilding, our taxes sky rocketed and made trade almost impossible, that saw a huge rise with Holland and Japan, who with a less skilled workforce won contract after contract.

As for the car industry, don't make me laugh. Governments have never supported home made industry, which is why all british cars are no owned by other countries, that was the death.

I haven't worked out if you are anti Scottish, anti british or just hate humans. Think its the latter and shame on the so called mods that obviously don't read the pish you spout, mind you who can blame them, now away back to your dark wee hole

Oh dear. The history revisionist is at it again.

Check out the closure dates of the shipbuilders on the Clyde. Shipbuilding on the Clyde was in terminal decline way before 1979 and Thatcher becoming PM. It had indeed been in decline since the Wright Brothers invented heavier than air human flight in 1903. Thatcher wasn't to blame - she couldn't be because quite frankly the events that put the Clyde into decline pre dated her birth in 1925! It's not a story about taxes, it's a story about technological advancement.

At Roots the company went into financial trouble in 1973. Chrysler took over and continued production with the Imp until 1978 then they sold the plant to Peugeot. The management at Chrysler and Peugeot both criticised the trade unions and the workers at the plant for the regular strike actions - indeed in 1964 there were no fewer than 31 stoppages on the production line at Roots. In 1979 Peuguet moved production of the Hunter to Iran and the plant limped on till 1981 when it finally closed. How Thatcher can be blamed for a private company closing a car plant it beyond me - or how she can be blamed for the poor industrial relations on that site that was so heavily criticised by both the American and French owners of the plant. But left wing history revisionists love to do that too.

And then Ravenscraig. The same left wing revisionists love to forget about the fight Thatcher put up to ensure production continued at Ravenscraig all through the miners strike. The miners picketed Ravenscraig. There were battles on the streets in Motherwell as miners clashed with police to try to stop coal getting through for steel production. Ravenscraig workers did themselves proud hitting record production targets as they fought to keep their steel works open, but it was clear that one of the UK steel works were going to have to close because the demand simply wasn't there and anyone living in or around Lanarkshire at that time would have been well aware that the fact that Ravenscraig was geographically further away from British Steels main UK based customers left it woefully exposed and in 1992 it closed. Thatcher wasn't involved in the decision to close Ravenscraig. The company was privately owned, but even if British Steel had remained in public ownership the same decisions would most likely have had to have been made. It just made sense to have the steel works close to their customer base, and not stuck up in central Scotland where there was no car industry and no shipbuilding.

I don't know why you want to blame Thatcher for all of that - it just shows your complete ignorance on the subject and the fact that you've gulliblely swallowed a shit load of Socialist propaganda.

BTW, I do know quite a number of guys who started their careers as apprentices at Ravenscraig who are still in work, earning shedloads of money and doing well in their new careers. I only know of one man who never worked again - a deaf man who was already in his 60's in 1992 and who suffered serious breathing difficulties due - he said - to the fumes he would breathe in every day at the Steel Works.

Oh dear. The history revisionist is at it again.

Check out the closure dates of the shipbuilders on the Clyde. Shipbuilding on the Clyde was in terminal decline way before 1979 and Thatcher becoming PM. It had indeed been in decline since the Wright Brothers invented heavier than air human flight in 1903. Thatcher wasn't to blame - she couldn't be because quite frankly the events that put the Clyde into decline pre dated her birth in 1925! It's not a story about taxes, it's a story about technological advancement.

At Roots the company went into financial trouble in 1973. Chrysler took over and continued production with the Imp until 1978 then they sold the plant to Peugeot. The management at Chrysler and Peugeot both criticised the trade unions and the workers at the plant for the regular strike actions - indeed in 1964 there were no fewer than 31 stoppages on the production line at Roots. In 1979 Peuguet moved production of the Hunter to Iran and the plant limped on till 1981 when it finally closed. How Thatcher can be blamed for a private company closing a car plant it beyond me - or how she can be blamed for the poor industrial relations on that site that was so heavily criticised by both the American and French owners of the plant. But left wing history revisionists love to do that too.

And then Ravenscraig. The same left wing revisionists love to forget about the fight Thatcher put up to ensure production continued at Ravenscraig all through the miners strike. The miners picketed Ravenscraig. There were battles on the streets in Motherwell as miners clashed with police to try to stop coal getting through for steel production. Ravenscraig workers did themselves proud hitting record production targets as they fought to keep their steel works open, but it was clear that one of the UK steel works were going to have to close because the demand simply wasn't there and anyone living in or around Lanarkshire at that time would have been well aware that the fact that Ravenscraig was geographically further away from British Steels main UK based customers left it woefully exposed and in 1992 it closed. Thatcher wasn't involved in the decision to close Ravenscraig. The company was privately owned, but even if British Steel had remained in public ownership the same decisions would most likely have had to have been made. It just made sense to have the steel works close to their customer base, and not stuck up in central Scotland where there was no car industry and no shipbuilding.

I don't know why you want to blame Thatcher for all of that - it just shows your complete ignorance on the subject and the fact that you've gulliblely swallowed a shit load of Socialist propaganda.

BTW, I do know quite a number of guys who started their careers as apprentices at Ravenscraig who are still in work, earning shedloads of money and doing well in their new careers. I only know of one man who never worked again - a deaf man who was already in his 60's in 1992 and who suffered serious breathing difficulties due - he said - to the fumes he would breathe in every day at the Steel Works.

That's so disappointing, StuD, no "SNP Bad" section. You're losing your touch, best be careful before it joins your sanity.

For me, this issue has highlighted how Sturgeon and the SNP will sink to any depths to get what they want.

They really are the Scottish equivalent of UKIP.

Agreed.

What I find sickening is that these pathetic left wing idiots who will try to score points out of this tragedy were more than happy to vote against Cameron when he went to parliament looking for a mandate to join the US in intervening in Syria to stop Assad from massacring his own people. How many more 3 year olds have been killed by the fact that these socialists voted down military action? Instead these sick Socialists wait till millions of Syrians have been forced to flee the country, they wait whilst they live in refugee camps, and then they finally get to rub their hands in glee at their opportunity to have a kick at the government when finally these desperate people jump in a rubber dingy and head for Europe.

Anyway, at the time of its closure, the Linwood plant had turned itself around re productivity and ir. It was my opinion at the time, and nothing since then has changed it, that Peugeot gave Thatcher the choice between job cuts across the board or closure of a plant. Knowing that she had no support whatsoever from the workforce at Linwood (no matter what revisionist nonsense StuD comes out with regarding numbers thereby reinforcing the deep held belief by most if us that he just doesn't understand them) the decision was made to close Linwood with the accompanying desolation. Ghost Town by the Specials was a really apt No 1 for the times.

Agreed.

What I find sickening is that these pathetic left wing idiots who will try to score points out of this tragedy were more than happy to vote against Cameron when he went to parliament looking for a mandate to join the US in intervening in Syria to stop Assad from massacring his own people. How many more 3 year olds have been killed by the fact that these socialists voted down military action? Instead these sick Socialists wait till millions of Syrians have been forced to flee the country, they wait whilst they live in refugee camps, and then they finally get to rub their hands in glee at their opportunity to have a kick at the government when finally these desperate people jump in a rubber dingy and head for Europe.

so your understanding of the lack on intervention in syria was down to liberal lefties?

No. I know it was voted against by every Labour and SNP MP. You know - the very ones trying desperately to make political capital out of the death of a 3 year old. 9 Lib Dem and 30 Conservative MPs also voted against intervention in a free vote. The difference being neither of those parties are gloating about the death of a child Edited by Stuart Dickson

You're very brave now that the mod's weighed in on your side - why weren't you asking this question every other time it was used, by Slarti and others?

I actually find it quite funny. .

It has been a wee while since I saw the Mod's weighing in , hoping to see it again in November , been looking forward to all year. .

I actually find it quite funny. .

It has been a wee while since I saw the Mod's weighing in , hoping to see it again in November , been looking forward to all year. .

Aye, looking forward to it, going with my son. If I last long enough (and Weller does, too), I hope my grandson joins us in 8 or 9 years time.